We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Using Logis de France when touring”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Touloubre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Touloubre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Barben
Chelle Debat, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Using Logis de France when touring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Traveling with my wife to a destination in Menton, we decided, having had good experiences at many other Logis, to try this mid-range quiet hotel in the countryside not far off the Autoroute. Initial impressions were good with shady courtyard and outside tables and a smiling welcome. The room was clean and looked tidy but cheaply furnished. The meal we had in the evening was well cooked and presented, with sufficient quantity. The experience that caused serious concern was the following morning we tried to shower and found the water was stone cold, we tried to contact reception by phone without any answer, so descended to the desk at 7.00 am for help, there was no one around so investigated the kitchens and restaurant calling out loudly, eventually to be answered by the breakfast waitress. We made ourselves understood and the person promised to contact the owners and correct the hot water situation. We were not able to shower before breakfast and at checkout we were refused any refund or allowance on the room and denied a reduction of the 10 Euros we were charged for 2 glasses of mediocre wine By no stretch of the imagination can we recommend this "hotel"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    14
    8
See reviews for
8
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is a member of the French Logis system and as such has to maintain certain standards with regard to accommodation and food. The rooms have been given a 2 rating, they are basic, but with ensuite. Clean if a little dated. That said the bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning worked. A hair dryer and extra pillows were also provided. The breakfast was a fairly basic continental, pastries, bread, a little cereal and fruit juice.
The restaurant has been awarded a 3 rating, plus a tourist award. Weather permitting service is on the spacious terrace and the food is excellent, as proved by the number of locals eating there each night.We had a set menu, Le Terrior" as we were on half board, but there was no problem in being given an alternative dish.
The owner was charming and not above serving in the restaurant. The meals were not rushed and the waiters were immaculate in "whites".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel needs a major refurbishment. The bedroom was very tired - no hairdryer. When dining the staffing was over the top. It would have been nice to have finished what was in my mouth before the plate was taken away! No atmosphere whatsoever. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Barben hotels

Wigan
Level Contributor
395 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We returned to La Touloubre after our booked hotel in Mimet was closed, answermachine only and no parking as a Sunday market was being set up!

The room was average for a Logis but our reception was superb. The restaurant lived up to our previous expectations, good service and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a restaurant & hotel. The restaurant features in our MIchelin Guide (2011) and as we were in the area looking for a stopover en route to Italy, we gave it a try. According to the unreliable Michelin, the bedrooms had recently been done over and were "a success". Ours wasn't. Generally a feeling of shoddy workmanship, cheap products and the ugliest bathroom tiles I've ever seen. (Remember that avocado green of the sixties?) The bathroom sink was chipped, the bidet wasn't hooked up. Room lighting was poor--all uplighters--nothing to read by.

The initial greeting by the young man smoking a cigarette out front was not especially gracious. The car park is some distance from the entry and guests must schlep their bags over and up a set of stairs--with no offer of assistance from the hotel employee and no wheeled cart. Nor did the employee--who did not appear overtaxed with guests--offer to show us to the room (up a miserable back stairs with buttons to push to illuminate the narrow hallway). The room was ice cold. It looked dreary. We went back down to see about the heating but the staff member had disappeared and did not reappear to the sound of the desk bell. We gave up and resolved to find another hotel.

He spotted us leaving and rushed out, changing his tone and assuring us he would see to the heating. As it was dark, late and inclement, we stayed--but would not recommend it to others.

The restaurant, par contra, has a pleasant atmosphere and even on a November evening had many customers and a cheery fire in the big fireplace. The meal was a curate's egg: Some elements were fine (the salmon) while the ratatouille seemed to have come out of a tin.

When the terrace is operating in the summer under the graceful plane trees, it must be a lovely place to dine, even if the food isn't especially noteworthy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscerningSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This little hotel in set in a quiet village at a fork in the road. We anticipated that road noise might be an issue but it was peaceful except for.....well I'll come to that shortly.

Parking was on site. The gravelled hard-standing was not ideal for wheeling our cases over, but it was not a long trip from car to reception. The welcome was cordial and madame spoke perfect English, so I stopped murdering the French language. Apologies were made for the decorating work that was being carried out, but other than the fact that it made the stairwell area visually a bit unappealing, there were no unpleasant odours from the materials being used and no noise.

The room was a large double and the bed was comfortable. We had a window over the garden, a large well appointed shower room en-suite and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in furniture very much in keeping with the age and style of the property. Wifi was simple and worked well.

We enjoyed a nice cold glass of wine on the patio. The dinner was nice food including a Coq au Vin and the waiter was very amiable, if a bit scatty.

A good night sleep was had ...until the revenge of the cock. Four-o-clock he started his cacophony and boy did he have a great pair of lungs on him. I apologised for eating his relative but to no avail. He didn't even wait for sunrise. What a cad! Anyway such are the vagaries of country accommodation and not much the hotel can do about it.

Breakfast was a standard buffet affair with some local honey as the most obvious interesting bit.

As a place it didn't get the pulse racing but it was a place I would be happy to try again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barben
2.7 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#7 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mas de Fauchon
Mas de Fauchon
#1 of 1 in Saint-Cannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Select
Hotel Select
#4 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Touloubre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Touloubre

Property: La Touloubre
Address: 29 Chemin du Salatier, 13330 La Barben, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > La Barben
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Barben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Touloubre 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of the Provence Area at 10 minutes from A7 and A51,5km away from Salon de Provence and at 30 minutes drive from Aix-en-Provence, Avignon, Arles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Touloubre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing