We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Manchester
1 review
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed overnight, booked through work, Receptionist on arrival think her name was Katie was a bit abrupt and I felt she could benefit from some customer service skills, however explained everything I needed to know about my stay so acceptable.
Room ok though could do with upgrading, slept ok even though off motorway, though could hear explicit noises from another room! which was somewhat off putting.
Restaurant next door typical motorway services food and overly priced. All in all ok for a cheap budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I appreciate your feedback, I am sorry to read the issues you have encountered here at Days Inn. I am glad that you slept well and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    76
    25
    15
See reviews for
80
80
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel previously and also after reading the reviews on trip advisor, I booked this hotel for an overnight business trip. I normally stay away on business four or five times a month and normally try to use Holiday Inn Express or Premier Travel Inn, however as I knew I would be arriving late, I booked this hotel as it is at the motorway services. I was checked in by a pleasant, friendly lady, who gave me my room key (room 6). As I walked to my room,I noticed that the carpet in the corridor was littered with debris and was dirty, particuarly round the entrance to the bedroom doors. When I entered the room, it smelled musty and I noticed that there was extensive mould growing on the ceiling of the bathroom and the grouting of the tiles were thick with black mould. The counter top of the bathroom had an abundance of white staining on it (as if it hadn't been cleaned). The carpet in the bedroom was filthy and stained and again appeared not to have been hoovered properly and the flimsy, old duvet cover was coming apart at the seams. When I pulled back the duvet, the bottom sheet was dirty, it looked like somebody had stepped on it with dirty boots, it had a brownish "tread-like" appearence on it. I went down to reception and told the lady that I would not be staying in that room. She came up to the room to witness it for herself and apologised profusely and took a series of photos of the bed stains, mould and counter tops and she gave me the keys to another room. I took my luggage to this room and this was in a similar condition, carpet stained with dubious white patches, staining on the counter tops of the bathroom and the duvet cover covered in "greasy" looking brown patches. Again I went down to reception and refused to stay there. This time the receptionist came up with me to show me a single room, this one had dark, hard shiney blobs on the carpet, with similar issues as the other rooms. She then entered a fourth room, looked at it and quickly closed it before I had a chance to view it. She said that all the rooms were of a similar condition and that the hotel was due a re-furbishment. I was at the end of my tether, it was midnight and I was due up again at 6am the following morning. I asked her whether she could find me another hotel and she rang Premier Travel Inn at South Normanton. She gave me the postcode and told me to go through a barrier that would take me onto the motorway and that the Premier travel Inn was 5 minutes down the motorway, but in the dark I got lost and the sat nav took me 14 miles out of my way. I eventually got to bed at 1am at the Premier Travel Inn (which incidentally was clean and comfortable). The receptionist at Days Inn told me that I would be contacted on Friday and given a full refund and compensation but to date I have received no phone call, email or text and have checked my bank account - no refund, so to date I have paid £40 for a room that was not fit to sleep in that I didn't use and £68 for a room at Premier Travel Inn. I will be taking up the matter with the hotel Manager and Hotels.com today. I do appreciate that this is a heavily used motorway services hotel, but mould is a health hazard and clean bedding is a minimum expectation.

Room Tip: If cleanliness is a priority, I would't advise using this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgersfan113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Here at Chesterfield Days inn we strive to provide the best service and standard. Sadly on this occasion these standards were not met.
Please contact the hotel and speak with myself so that we can fully investigate and resolve these issues.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tibshelf hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Was suprised how quiet this hotel is with, being on a motorway service station had a very good nights sleep,everything you need in the room coffee tea etc,my only gripe is when checkin in i was asked if i wanted to join somekind of scheme i stated i didnt then found out when i got up that i had been signed up to it, as a card was put under my door which i wasnt very happy about. If i remember, the ladys name was kate,i did think she was a bit pushy when asking if i wanted to join and abit sharp if i say so myself,so abit of customer service training wouldnt go a miss on this occasion.Other than that had a lovely quiet night and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris12420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, im glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Days inn. Regarding the rewards card, i will contact Wyndhams and get you removed from the loyalty program, im sorry for any inconvenience this has caused to yourself and hope this doesnt deter you from booking with us in the future.
Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently stayed for a quick overnighter and was very impressed at the service we received. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and I was surprised at how little noise there was being on a motorway. We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the great reveiw! I will pass these comments on to the staff who will be thrilled with the kind feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The first thing that struck me was conflicting information on prices. Outside was a large sign stating that rooms were from £25, inside the notice stated that all rooms were £40. This was also confirmed through an internet search, I couldn't find any time that the lower price was available. At £25 it would have been good value, at £40 it was not.

The room was clean and the receptionist was helpful but it lacked any character. The catering was at the adjacent Services offering the usual motorway fayre at motorway prices. For £7.50 you can buy a voucher entitling you to £10 worth of food - sounds good except, as a single traveller I would use it for breakfast which was about £7.50.

For the standard of hotel I would have expected some sort of breakfast to be included at £40.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sorry for the confusion with the room rate, the £25 room offer is only available when booked in advance and there is only a limited number of these rooms and they get booked up very quickly.
We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

have now stayed several times.great service at reception.even though on motorway not that noisy.clean room with condiments.towels provided. free parking.i was able to change my room to acomodate my little grandson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Im really delighted that you and your grandson enjoyed your stay here at Days inn. Im pleased that you have commented on how quiet the rooms are, as we are situated quite away from the main road noise is not a problem.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed overnight and found it to be a good experience. Very friendly staff and clean rooms well situated and set back from motorway with good parking. food in service area very basic but adeqaute.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to avoid elephants above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RailbirdCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tibshelf
0.0 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boundary Hotel
The Boundary Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Property: Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Address: Tibshelf Motorway Service Area | M1 Jnt 28/29, Tibshelf DE55 5TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Tibshelf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf Hotel Tibshelf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing