We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Standard motorway hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Standard motorway hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The first thing that struck me was conflicting information on prices. Outside was a large sign stating that rooms were from £25, inside the notice stated that all rooms were £40. This was also confirmed through an internet search, I couldn't find any time that the lower price was available. At £25 it would have been good value, at £40 it was not.

The room was clean and the receptionist was helpful but it lacked any character. The catering was at the adjacent Services offering the usual motorway fayre at motorway prices. For £7.50 you can buy a voucher entitling you to £10 worth of food - sounds good except, as a single traveller I would use it for breakfast which was about £7.50.

For the standard of hotel I would have expected some sort of breakfast to be included at £40.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sorry for the confusion with the room rate, the £25 room offer is only available when booked in advance and there is only a limited number of these rooms and they get booked up very quickly.
We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
80
81
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

have now stayed several times.great service at reception.even though on motorway not that noisy.clean room with condiments.towels provided. free parking.i was able to change my room to acomodate my little grandson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Im really delighted that you and your grandson enjoyed your stay here at Days inn. Im pleased that you have commented on how quiet the rooms are, as we are situated quite away from the main road noise is not a problem.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed overnight and found it to be a good experience. Very friendly staff and clean rooms well situated and set back from motorway with good parking. food in service area very basic but adeqaute.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to avoid elephants above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailbirdCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

It is a standard hotel, just off the motorway, which I suppose not much should be expected. However, others in its 'class' are much better. The welcome and helpfullness at reception was fantastic, sorting out both a mixed up booking date and advising us of where to get food. Booking through laterooms entitled us to food vouchers, which we used in the morning. The room was spacious, clean, bathroom was v gd. All the usual bits were there- tv, tea and coffee, access to WiFi etc. Then the main problem. The beds (of which there were 2 3/4 doubles) were solid. There was no give in the mattress at all. Each bed had 2 very flimsy pillows on it and although there were 2 spare ones in a bag provided little support for your head and neck. We ended up with the spare duvet underneath us to try and get a little padding.
With the vouchers for breakfast (that didnt go too far) the value for money wasnt bad (had there been 4 people in the room it would have been £25 per couple). However, as we didnt sleep well we will not be going back.
Shame really as the service was first class

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tibshelf hotels

York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very friendly welcome from the staff member checking us in. Directed us to our room, which was on the back so no noise from the motorway. The room was bigger than I expected with a big double bed and also a single. Very comfortable, clean room. Pleasant nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back to avoid any noise there may be from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

When staying at this hotel do not use the postcode DE55 5TZ. We did and it directed us into a housing estate on one attempt & down an unmade track to a field on the second attempt.
Good value priced hotel but there is continual road noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

For a budget end stay, this ticked the boxes. Spacious, clean rooms with kettle and TV, en suite, regular clean towels and someone always on hand for any queries. Not 4* by any stretch but great value. Only minor quibble was no dining room - breakfast is only bought next door at the motorway service (but there were discount vouchers and it was only a few steps away). Access to the town was via their own security gate so direct access was there both ways.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Property: Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Address: Tibshelf Motorway Service Area | M1 Jnt 28/29, Tibshelf DE55 5TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Tibshelf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf Hotel Tibshelf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing