We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A PLEASENT SURPRISE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WHAT A PLEASENT SURPRISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was selected from a 'short list' of hotels with available space over the weekend of the England / Italy game....i was one of a group of 4 mates intending to visit the Duxford imperial war museum and wanted accommodation nearby that offered a reasonable priced deal. This place stood out from the crowd...the room prices looked very very reasonable and the 'sample' menu for the restaurant appeared very comprehensive and enticing.

a quick Google search and area search showed it was situated in a small village with 20 minutes of Duxford and at £60 for a twin room was brilliant value.

we arrived in the village which seemed to be 'one street' very busy despite being late Saturday afternoon. there was another hotel opposite and another pub with 75 yards so no shortage of places to visit. the hotel/pub itself is very old world...huge Tudor beams with a nice welcoming feel inside. a lot of the downstairs is handed over to tables for dinners and there is a lunch and evening menu available.

can i say two things here....i have stayed at many hotels and this presented extremely good value for money....ok you might not want this as a honeymoon location but believe me compared to some it was brilliant. the room was large and comfortable. two single beds a large bathroom with shower situated in a separate building within the small car-park.

there is a small amount of off road parking and 7 or so bays outside on the road.

a nice selection of hand pulled ales led us to sample a couple before an evening meal.

THIS was the main surprise. the sample menu on the internet was nothing compared to the actual menu. it was excellent. the service brilliant and attentive and the care delivered by the staff a credit to them. we were stunned by the quality and presentation for what was not an expensive meal......four of us ate brilliant meals all were superb and a i wish i lived nearer to visit more often....i shall however be re booking us in again for next year....if you live nearby then 'use it' and if you fancy a visit to Cambridgeshire and possibly the Duxford museum then this is a brilliant venue to use as a base....

i can't recommend this place highly enough

Room Tip: we were in rooms 25 and 23 i think in the separate annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    26
    16
    12
See reviews for
43
102
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

To all the team at the Lion Hotel
Many thanks for hosting our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We have had so many thank you cards from our guests saying how great the food and how good the hospitality showed by you all.
All that actually stayed the night said how much they enjoyed staying in an old coaching inn with friendly staff and great food.
Well done a faultless performance.
Thank you and our heartfelt thanks.
Nick & Debbie Wastling

Room Tip: speak to the friendly people at the hotel and express your wishes for one of the four poster bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to visit our family for a big birthday and glad we did.we decided to have a meal before we went out and it was lovely. Maybe a little over priced but the food was very nice and the staff were very helpful. Same again in the morning really nice breakfast which was included in the price of the room. The room was a little dated but saying that it was very spacious and clean and all the usual was offered and the bed was very comfortable. The lady that booked us in was very helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmccue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have never felt the need to write a review before but feel I must,the staff very pleasant ,the food is awful my steak and stout pie was a fatty ,chewy mess the small amount of meat was almost impossible to cut.Another member of our party had a burger and the bun was like a brick,microwaved to death maybe? ,all of the above we're reported and nobody cared,no apology ,where's the quality control?i live locally and am embarrassed that they are happy to serve this mess .i appreciate people have off days but this place has had a steady decline and slumped to this......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

We were sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with your meal at The Lion Hotel. We take all concerns very seriously. We are sorry that you were not happy with your pie. Please rest assured that we have had some discussions with our kitchen team regarding your issues. We will shortly be introducing a new menu at The Lion hotel, and we hope that you see improvements in this. We are sorry that you felt that no one was concerned by your complaint. I have spoken to all members of the team at the Lion to try to establish why this was, and I am afraid that on the night in question it appears that I was not present. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies that your complaint was not dealt with appropriately. Should you wish to speak to me regarding the matter further then please do contact me at the hotel either in person, by phone or by email and I will be more than happy to assist however I can.

Kind Regards

The Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was short - 1 night - but we received a very warm and friendly welcome. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities that we wanted. A nice hearty breakfast was served in the dining room and we were not rushed out of the door. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProperJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lion Hotel. We are very glad to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and we have passed on your comments to the team. We hope to see you again here at The Lion in the future.

Kind Regards

The Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night and ate dinner in the restaurant with friends. Nice old building with welcoming and friendly staff.

We stayed in one of the 4-poster rooms, clean, nicely furnished, and with a huge bathroom. We both found the room comfortable and would happily stay there again.

We went down for drinks before dinner. The bar is small but with plenty of seating with the nook directly in front of the bar packed with locals, and I admit it might have been my imagination, but they all stopped and looked at me every time I went to the bar to get a drink.

The restaurant had a great menu and the food was superb. The pasta specials were very large portions and very tasty, the lemon chicken roulade was well made and delicious, and the crispy duck and noodles looked even better. I'm not usually a puddings person but the white chocolate and raspberry pannacotta was amazing.

Breakfast was the usual continental or cooked, but again the cooked breakfasts were plentiful, well cooked and tasty.

Would heartily recommend the Lion and would happily stay or eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very welcoming with lovely wood fire burning. Very old coaching inn, dates from 1492 and consequently very cozy. Had an evening meal in the bar area; choices on the menu were very good and covered most tastes. Food arrived piping hot and obviously freshly cooked. Good value for money and pleasant ambiance. Close to the A1 for an early start for those traveling north or south. Have been here several times as it is a very convenient place to meet up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
3.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lion at Buckden, Cambridgeshire, one of the oldest coaching inns in England. Dating back to 1492, we continue to retain much of our wonderful charm, character and atmosphere. Whether you are looking for a quiet drink with friends, a Sunday lunch with the family or a place to rest weary legs we would be delighted to see you. You can rest assured your time at The Lion, however long, will be very enjoyable. Located in the heart of Cambridgeshire, Buckden is a small village just off the A1 giving you excellent access to London and The North not to mention all the local places of interest including the historic Buckden Towers. If you are dining or staying with us, we recommend a reservation however this is not a requirement so please feel free to drop in at any time for a bite to eat, a place to stay or just a refreshing drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing