We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was not easy to find, even with sat nav. The staff were friendly although the rooms were not made up when we arrived and it seemed to take a lot of organising to get them ready even though we had prebooked. We booked two rooms, both had very dated decor (great if you like bright orange!) they were clean but smelt of cigarette smoke. The road outside is very noisy! Bathrooms leave a lot to be desired....

The restaurant was pleasant and the food ok but not cheep. Overall a Dissapointing experience, worst standard of hotel we have stayed in during our trip though France.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    187
    95
    64
    23
See reviews for
70
333
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We took advantage of a special offer for dinner, bed and breakfast for one night. After reading some of the reviews we were not expecting too much however we were pleasantly surprised by the overall standard of the hotel - bearing in mind its 2* rating.

The staff were friendly and welcoming (free cocktail on arrival), the room was clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was good, if a little pricey. Breakfast was a standard serve yourself continental buffet which was enjoyable and totally adequate.

A pleasant stay, albeit only one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley50150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The backyard chatelets mentioned in other reviews are really like small trailers. Our room was cramped, barely enough room to move around the 2 twin beds which were joined together in the middle of the room. It had a strong musty odor which we had to tolerate since the window only opened slightly, there is no fan or air conditioning. Bathroom was also cramped and the fixtures are rusting. There is plenty of noise from the nearby train tracks and busy road. Dinner is not a good value. Very average, overpriced food and wine. Breakfast is a free for all with a long wait in line for a coffee/tea. Had our reservation not been prepaid, we would have left immediately. There are many other hotels in the area. Website photos are very misleading. Look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linguistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Val-Saint-Pere hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
england
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel so we could travel around the area. We paid very little money for our five night stay which was very enjoyable. The rooms are a little small for our taste but lets face it all you really want is a place to sleep in resonable comfort. Spartlessly clean and adequate washing facilities. The food is what makes this hotel special. it is very good indeed. The staff in the main are very helpful and friendly although I have to admit with my limited French I struggled sometimes as the staff have little english. Not a critism, after all it is their country. For people who like a bit night life or a walk before or after dinner, be warned this hotel is a country hotel with very little around and no transport except your own.
There is some road noise and also train noise but this is very small.
If I had to make a bad comment on this hotel, it would be that it has no air conditioning anywhere so it can be rather hot.
That said we had a wonderful stay. Check out the market at St Hilaire just down the road a bit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Reading other reviews I think we were lucky to get two connecting rooms in the main hotel. The outside chalets did not look so good. We used the hotel as a stopover on the way to Brittany so the location was Ok for us, but for many people it would be seen as remote. There is literally nothing around it! We found the service good and especially liked the way they allowed our dog into the restaurant (imagine that in the UK!). Enjoyed the food, though it was a bit expensive. The kids liked the pool, though I found it freezing.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobjob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Trainline is directly behind premises which was noticeable as we were in one of the many wooden chalets in the grounds (think old Butlins type) instead of the hotel proper - and were very disappointed to open the door to a musty mouldy damp smell in the room and no shower - unlike the photos on the webpage. There was only a handheld tap attached spray to rinse your hair with. We were thankfully only staying one night and were too tired after the ferry and long drive to cancel and move on to a clean and properly equipped hotel that gives you what you see on the webpage. The twin beds (should have been a double) were made up with sheets and blankets like the olden days. The breakfast was ok. The pool was out of use (being cleaned) when we were there.
Have given up on hoteliers being honest and hospitable - have bought a motor home for our next visit to France.

  • Liked — Breakfast coffee and croissant
  • Disliked — The amenities did not match the website photos at all - room was smelly and shabby
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Motorhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed at this hotel after camping in france for a couple of weeks but wanted to take in Mont St Michel on way home. You need a car to stay here as its a little out of the way and not near the other strips of hotels which seem to cater for the crowds visiting the Mont. It does have a free car park.

The hotel staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, it helps to speak a little french. We were the only British staying the night, the rest were Belgian or Dutch. For the cost, it was about £50 sterling for a double for the night, it was ok. Only a few rooms are actually in the hotel building itself the majority are in the back garden in mini lodges, similar to the ones seen on the Butlins of yester year. The room was comfortable, clean with an ensuite bathroom. No air conditioning, so a little stuffy at night if you stay during the hot summer.

The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool, big enough to have a cool down dip but dont be planning on doing any big lengths. 5 strokes and you reach the end.

We ate in the restaurant and were disappointed. It wasn't cheap, all starters costing over £7 with the main course selection most were £14 or over. We really just wanted a snack tea but were surrounded by something out of faulty towers, with the waitresses running around getting the orders all mixed up. This of course might have been a one off, but i'm wouldnt bet on it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alymccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Val-Saint-Pere
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Manoir de la Roche Torin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 13 Assiettes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 13 Assiettes Hotel

Property: Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
Address: Route de la Quintine | Route de la Quintine - Sur A84 sortie Cromel - Direction Pontaubault, 50300 Le Val-Saint-Pere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Le Val-Saint-Pere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Val-Saint-Pere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 13 Assiettes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel*** Restaurant ideally located between Normandy and Britanny at 15 minutes from the Mont Saint Michel! 43 rooms comfortable, warmed and indoor swimming pool, garden, terrace, free private parking. 2 rooms adapted for disabled people. Hotel Restaurant with Tourism and handicap norms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les 13 Assiettes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les 13 Assiettes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing