We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding tour and delightful hosts .”

Review of D Day Tours B&B

The Manoir de Founcroup
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011 The gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011
The gardens
View from the Tower
The farmhouse kitchen
Sitting room
The Kingcome room - named after Brian Kingome a superb WWII Spitfire pilot
The Victorian room
The style of the bathrooms
Part of the greeting team - Saffron
Jaye and Saffron
Ben
Ben and his Spitfire
Ben not having a good afternoon - crashing the Spitfire!
The Cannon...
Firing the cannon - just your regular Sunday afternoon...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Picauville, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane R
1 review
“Outstanding tour and delightful hosts .”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our time in Normandy with Ben and Jaye was the highlight of our European vacation. Ben is a historian but the tour is definitely not like a history class! In fact, it's not a tour-it's an experience. All of the information is presented through the eyes and lives of those who served and the residents of the French villages. It's like being teleported back in time.
Ben and Jaye's home is lovely. Wonderful food and conversation to end the day made the trip extra-enjoyable.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peta223
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Living history with a highly informative and enthusiastic guide in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved our stay in this lovely manor house with it's beautiful garden. Ben was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic, he took us to such interesting places and answered questions with endless patience. Jay was so friendly and welcoming and provided us with delicious home cooked meals. I can highly recommend this experience to anyone who has even a vague interest in the D-day landings. My husband rated it as a real high-light of all our travels.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
“Once In A Lifetime Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ben is not a "tour guide" but a true historian with a vast knowledge of Normandy and the D-Day invasion. He and his lovely wife personalized our visit with a warmth that made my wife and I feel like we were old friends. We spent 3 nights and 2 full days and came away "surprised and delighted" with our stay. Excellent food,excellent conversation, and we left with a profound understanding of exactly what our veterans experienced on that monumentally historic day. I consider his visit as an experience of a lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnaande...
Healdsburg, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are visiting Normandy, do yourself a favor and book a tour/stay with D Day Tours Chambre de Hote. Ben Trimble is a walking encyclopedia on D Day history and an absolute joy to spend time with. Your tour will include details that you could not discover on your own or with a larger tour group. The evenings spent with his wife adding to the overall positive experience. I can not recommend Ben enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki S
1 review
“A personal experience with D-Day”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I am the wife of the previous reviewer and I agree with every word he said. And I would just like to add that I love to take photos but I found I could not tear myself away from any of Ben's stories - for even a moment to snap a photo - because I wanted to hear every word of what he had to say. Not only is he an avid historian but a spellbinding storyteller as well. I loved hearing about the brave crew members that he tracked down years later from an early morning D- Day plane crash that occured across the street from his manor. It was delightful to meet and listen to Ben and his neighbor, Lucien, chat about Lucien's experiences as a boy of 10 years old living in their town on that fateful morning, We had a great time driving around the extended "neighborhood" and having Ben identify well known (and not so well known) D-Day sites and regale us with stories of the action and heroes of that fateful day and weeks following, and I thoroughly enjoyed lunch in Ste Mer Eglise, several of the D-Day beaches (Utah, Omaha, Pont du Hoc) and the American Cemetery at Colleville. And Ben and Jaye and the dog and the chicken, Mary, were comfortable, wonderful hosts in their beautifully restored 16th century (!) manor. Don't miss this amazing experience!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thanks so much Vicki for the kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnn55
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent an incredible three nights, two days staying at the Manor and seeing Normandy. This was a complete DDay immersion not a typical quick five hour tour visit. Ben, our personable and excellent guide, is also an extraordinary historian. Though his commentary and knowledge the days prior, during and after the Allied invasion came alive. While the Normandy landing was successful for the Allies we quickly realized this result could have been much less successful and even a complete disaster. At the Manor Ben's and Jaye's hospitality was over the top. Wonderful accommodations, delicious breakfasts and dinners, and exceptional conversation over drinks enhanced our total experience. For anyone even remotely interested in DDay this experience is a MUST! We travel extensively world wide and our Normandy visit with Ben and Jaye would be at the top.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
1 review
“Great tour and equally great hospitality”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are two couples who stayed with Ben and Jaye for a two-day tour and it was the highlight of our 3-week Europe trip. Ben is not a tour guide. Instead, he is historian who happens also to be a tour guide. He showed and taught us so much about Normandy and the D-Day invasion. He had some wonderful stories and a nice collection of photographs to go along with the stories. It was fun staying in their refurbished French manor. His wife, Jaye, provided us with a full breakfast to start off the day and provided us with wonderful dinners at the end of a busy day of touring. If you are seeking the complete D-Day experience, I highly recommend that you do this with Ben and Jaye.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Many thanks for this review - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing