We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bamboo Bungalow with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach
Ranked #20 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bamboo Bungalow with great staff”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was my 1st time travel solo to Koh Lipe.

Stayed: 6D5N with Forra Bamboo @ Pattaya Beach

The Bungalow:
- Is nice for me, as it remind me when i was young staying in a village.
- There is only 2 unit Bungalow facing the beach, so book early to avoid appointment
- The staff especially "Adreana" is a friendly women that will recommend you where to get good food & etc.
- Price is worth because i do get a good deal because i'm diving with them

Forra Dive:
- I did my Advanced with them, the instructor did a good job by explaining to me in details of though out the course.
- All the staff are friendly & do have the kindness to help out if you need any assistant
- Equipment is in good condition & i do feel safe diving with them.
- Their service is very professional

Looking forward to stay with them again.

Regards,
Joe Lim

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLim113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
28
37
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Forra on Pattaya for 5d4n. Our experience there is not too terrible but a lot of things stood out.

The positives.
1. Pretty chill area on the beach.
2. Adrianna and DM Cat are warm and friendly. Our dives with her were great.
3. Big boats that can take a big group and the lunch provided were good.
4. Instructors and DMs can speak a variety of languages.

I pretty much agree with most of the negative feedback here.
1. Bungalow is basic and big but it's dimly lit, has rats, no toilet roll, gecko droppings on the mosquito net. The beds are hard but the pillows are nice.
2. Other staff are not friendly.
3. The dive equipment are not maintained properly. I had to use two different BCDs and they both had some issues.
4. On our last day of diving we had a different DM, Stefan who is grumpy all the time and didn't seem to show much interest during the dives. The briefings before and after dives are short and seemed like an inconvenience to him. The were 2 other less experienced divers with us and he doesn't really monitor them.
5. Prices are expensive. The prices were given in Baht for deposit but paypal charges was in Euro, which were higher due to currency exchange.

I wouldn't recommend them as I'm sure there are better places with better prices and service.

Room Tip: The bungalows go further and further back. If possible, ask for the ones nearer to the beach or just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaumos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Forra Bamboo Resort on Pattaya Beach in January only for one night. We had to do some work durign our stay in Koh Lipe and there wasn't a suitable place so we moved to a different resort.

The bungalows are good price but very basic. Absolutely nothing in the room for your clothes, not a chair or small table, only cold water in the bathroom, no rails for towels, nice porch but no steps (as pointed out by another reviewer you've got to yank yourself up), no common area or outised space attached to this resort. We visited the other Forra resort on Sunrise and althoguh we liked less the beach the resort seems to be better with a very nice outside common restaurant/bar area with large comfortable seating.
The staff at Pattaya was great. Andreana, the resort manager, is lovely, professional and extremely helpful. Although we moved to a different resort I stayed with them for the diving and it was great. Lots of experienced, professional, passionate and safe guides, always small groups, large comfortable boats, lots of fun. Instructors and dive masters come from everywhere, so virtually all languages spoken. Many thanks to Cat, my great dive master and buddy for her competence and cheerfulness and for making enjoyable also my four otherwise disappointing dives (mediocre reef quality, poor visibility and strong current).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wonderful week. Owners are welcoming you just like if you were old friends. Easy,, just so easy. Simple, so far away from the regular hotel welcoming !
Leave the comfort away and enjoy the simplicity. It is really relaxing when everything is so simple.
Take a dive and you will even relax more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Forra Bamboo resort both have bungalows on Sunrise beach and Pattaya beach. These two beaches offer quite different experiences. We stayed one night at Sunrise beach and 4 nights at Pattaya. Both places have the same simple bungalows, which are very good and clean and have everything you need. For the price this is a very good resort

These are the pros and cons of the two places.
Sunrise beach
Pros:
- More quiet beach
- Nice restaurant/bar attached to the resort
- Castaway resort next door which serve excellent food and drinks and has good wifi
- Very nice views of the small rocky islands off coast
Cons:
- Beach can get very windy and during hightide the beach is very small
- The bungalows are situated a bit back and none of them have seaview

Pattaya beach
Pros:
- Situated in the far end of Pattaya in a quiet spot (though still more lively than Sunrise)
- Some of the bungalows have seaview
- It is possible to connect to the wifi of next door Mali resort
- Beach is excellent
- Daya resort next door serve up excellent seafood barbeque and a nice local restaurant/bar right next to the resort serves excellent mojitos
Cons:
- The seaview is not as nice as on Sunrise
- More longtails boats on this beach
- A bit more noisy (but nothing than can prevent a good night sleep)
- No common area/restaurant/bar

All in all we had an excellent stay here and also did diving with Forra which was another great experience. By staying at Forra you furthermore get an easy and unique possibility of easily switching between Sunrise and Pattaya beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My kids (18 and 13) didn't want to leave, but my wife and I were not as happy returning to the relative discomfort of a non-AC palm and nipa bungalow. For once, we were more spoiled than our youngsters who loved roughing it.

There's nothing wrong with these huts and the scene--particularly on the Sunrise Beach side--is something out of a movie (think DiCaprio). But they're very basic.

On the plus side, they are inexpensive and even more so when you are diving.

Lipe is everything you would want Phi Phi to be and isn't. It's bustling with people, no vehicles except the odd motorbike-with-side cart taxi and bicycle. Lots of groovy music. A few places dish out urban Thai food, but they're hard to find. Note: NO ATM MACHINES ON ISLAND. Two resorts will let you pull cash on your credit card for 5%.

Back to Forra--the staff is diligent. The bungalows are decently sized. Great porch but no steps (you've got to yank yourself up) and trees were in many cases left to grow through the structure. Cold water shower, but who cares? 24-hour electric powers your lights and fans all night. Still, it's (for my wife and me) insufferably hot.

And dive, dive., dive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh_Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Did not stay at the resort but without fail every day we would walk from our hotel to forra to eat their pad thai. i can safely say it is one of the best i have had in thailand. the french couple running the place also had some lovely chilled white wine, which we shared from the only wine glass they had - the best thing to happen on a hot sunny afternoon. (sorry to break the glass! and i know you have more now!) The lounge area in front of the bar is comfortable, relaxing with rustic wooden furniture. backgammon boards are painted on almost all the tables and it was fun to win a few games while chilling in this lovely place with lots of character overlooking sunrise beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehr h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
#23 of 57 in Ko Lipe
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Family Song Bungalow
Family Song Bungalow
#2 of 57 in Ko Lipe
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Zanom Sunrise Resort
#22 of 57 in Ko Lipe
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach

Property: Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach
Address: Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe, Thailand (Formerly Forra Bamboo Resort)
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forra Bamboo Resort on Sunrise Beach was opened in 2006 and is comprised of 13 well-designed, spacious bungalows, built mainly from bamboo and natural materials by craftsmen from northern Thailand.Since january 2011, a new diver's resort has opened on Pattaya beach.This resort will be comprised of 15 new well-designed and special bamboo bungalows following the same concept as Forra bamboo resort on Sunrise Beach.The 2 resorts have been designed to take consideration of the natural environment and to leave as much space between bungalows as possible, to give maximum privacy.Forra Diving is renting big bamboo bungalows at a reasonable price for its divers so that they can enjoy their stay on Lipe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Forra Dive Resort Sunrise Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forra Bamboo Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing