We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the BBQ tiger prawns”
Review of Rak-Lay Restaurant

Rak-Lay Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 94 Restaurants in Ko Lipe
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Pick 'em out yourself and they grill them up and serve them straight off the BBQ to your table with delicious, spicy dipping sauces. Basic set up (plastic patio chairs etc.) but we loved it and ate here twice

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BaddyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Recommended by locals, I have been here 3 times and never got disappointed. Fresh, tasty and great spicy food.
Worth the money for a big seafood and thai food meal

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank supitshayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019 via mobile

First of all, I get sad when I see that the top five rated restaurants in Koh Lipe are Italian, Indian etc. Thailand has one of the most distinct and delicious cuisines in the world, but apparently primarily mass tourists come here to enjoy the beach and to flash their tattoos and implants, ignoring the simple culinary wonders right in front of them while endulging in mediocre pizzas (at best) and alco-pops.

But that’s their loss...

This place does not look special from the street, but the high fraction of locals and fresh seafood displayed by the walking street gives you a good indication of quality.

We had excellent grilled tiger prawns at a very reasonable price and a great panaeng curry with chicken, perfectly balanced in terms of spiciness.

The restaurant is not very cozy, and they ran out of beer. Nonetheless, we are coming back before we go back home where we can have better pizza and more mediocre Thai food.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ThomKa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018

This is a VERY popular seafood restaurant on Walking Street. It's always busy, most likely because the food is quite good. The restaurant is halal, but for seafood, that doesn't limit the menu too much.

The service is rushed, because the place is so busy. People end up arriving and sitting at a table that hasn't been cleared yet, because they just can't get to them fast enough.

Everything we ate was fantastic. I don't think there's a bad thing on the menu. Just understand that it's plastic chairs, and hundreds of people.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

With the recommendation from traveller, we decided to try on Rak Lay seefood.

We spend more than 45 minute to wait for our food and end up they missed out one of our dish.

Seafood consider fresh and price is acceptable.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Herman_Jarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rak-Lay Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 

Been to Rak-Lay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing