We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh seafood, authentic Thai cuisine, friendly owner n staff”

Bung Roon Halal Food
Ranked #41 of 94 Restaurants in Ko Lipe
Cuisines: Southwestern, Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 10, 2019

bang roon was on site and very friendly.. the food was very2 good! seafood tom yum sedap nak matey... mahal pun x pe..

grill squid n the sauce was delicious! so much selection in the menu

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2019

The seafood here is very good and extremely fresh. You can select your own fish or enormous prawns from the display outside. It is perfectly cooked too. 'Though the restaurant is halal, beer is on the menu; there are simply no pork dishes. it is not a snack joint - rather one to sit down, relax and enjoy.
The prices, while not cheap, are fair

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wingfield73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

Awesome seafood dip and great selection of seafood. Staff was prompt and friendly. However, we were on our way to dinner and I only wanted to try the giant cockle. The cockle was cooked very well-done, resulting in it being a little tough to chew. I was a little disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank whyrailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

It’s a halal restaurant. I could still remember 2 years ago this restaurant was still undergoing construction. But now, it looks cool.

Anyway taking a table inside the restaurant could be so hot albeit they have multiple fans switched on.

Wi-fi was a bit slow and kept on disconnected. But to me, that’s good. It means you need to keep away your phone and start talking to your friends. Enough with technology.

Taste wise, okay, but not that great. My friends and I had dinner with grilled prawns, sweet and sour fish, vegetable with salted fish, spicy mango salad and chicken slices cooked in curry sauce with basil.

I’m sorry but I didn’t like the chicken slices because the basil leaves overpowered everything. Perhaps if the chef could reduce the quantity of that basil, it would have tastes better.

For breakfast, they offer western food and also local food. Opens at 8 in the morning.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank chekudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

went there cause of the 'hyped' here..but was abit dissapointed. tomyum taste 4/10 .. if youre from KL and have eaten at Bangkok house you'll know what quality tom yum is. we also ordered fish and other dishes..overall ..5/10..
the price was pricey and not worth it. might not eat here again.

just meh for me.

went to Sri Lipe opposite bung roon and ordered pad khra pow ..so so delicious!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bung Roon Halal Food also viewed

Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 

Been to Bung Roon Halal Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing