We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet on Lipe”
Review of Gipsy Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gipsy Resort
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best bet on Lipe”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We made an reservation a week upfront since resorts in Lipe tend to be fully booked during high season. Friendly welcome by the manager upon arrival, one off the staff showed us the way. Location is perfect, next to sunrise beach (which is Lipe's cleanest and most beautiful beach, not too busy) and 5 minutes to the walking (main) street.

We had an A/C bungalow, which i would recommend for a good night rest (price is definitely higher but for me worth it). Room was neat, one queen sized bed with an mosquito net (didn't saw any insects in our room during our stay). Bathroom has an standard toilet and cold shower, worked out fine.

Every bungalow has his own 'terrace' where you can shower your feet before entering your bungalow. Also an nice hammock and a chair and table to chill after a warm night.

Breakfast and lunch is optional, they serve tasty sandwiches and asian cuisine for reasonable price. Very friendly staff who work hard and fast. Little con is that there is only a restaurant (where you must be around for wifi access) and not a real common area to hang around, but perhaps an tip for the future.

We're definitely fell in love with Lipe and this our 'home' for the next time!

Room Tip: Opt for an A/C bungalow for a good sleep since it can be very hot in Lipe. I would recommend an bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloobtrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
70
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

When thinking about that you are only paying between 650 Baht and 950 Baht (between $25-$30 Australian $ for 2 people this is excellent accommodation. You get your own bungalow within 0-3 min. walk to the most beautiful beach with crystal clear water. A restaurant which is open 8am til after dinner time. And after that it is very quiet here, as you are away from all the hustle and buzzle, which is mostly going on at Pattaya Beach. All Bungalows got their own flush toilet, only a couple of them you have to pour water into to flush them. It is not a problem. There is an outdoor veranda with a table, 2 chairs and a hammock . The double bed, however is very hard to sleep on, but it does have a mosquito net. A very simple room, but with an excellent location on a beautiful beach and a min. of 5 min. walk to the beginning of the walking street of a sandy track. Once you find the track you can walk to beautiful Sunset beach in 15-20 min or catch a taxi bike for 100 bath. The staff here at Gypsy Resort are absolutely beautiful and helpful. The owner speaks English and Spanish and the staff speak a little English. We just love this place and will be back ASAP - Thank you to the Gipsy Resort family :)

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the resort, as the noise of the ocean and the sea breeze could annoy some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelleViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights, bamboo bungalow, room is clean. Strong good shower (no hot water, but not a problem). Fav thing is their location, super close to the sunrise beach, walking street, bars. Very relaxing & affordable. Bring the torch when you're out at night. Safe area. Strongly recommend :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oh_Vorapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay here was fantastic. My mother and I shared a two store bungalow which was great, it was located further from the beach which was great, away from the night and morning winds.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and nice.
The beach is right next to the restaurant, which provides lovely fresh fruit in the morning.
It was close to the shopping street with its restaurants but away from the busyness of it all which was great.
We will come and stay again.
Thank you.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GladerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Our's was right on the beach but would recommend those further back if you are a light sleeper, longtail boats went out fishing (I think) really early and woke us each time but it wasn't really a problem. Restaurant on site which was handy and you can get your clothes washed for a small fee

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked gipsy resort for our new year's getaway, considering the cheaper rates compared to other nice resorts which were full or double the price. We got the 2-floor wooden bungalow (for 5pax) at the front of the resort, which was just perfect for the price we paid (3750baht), the room was spacious, toilets are clean although very basic. Beds are comfy too with mosquito nets. The hammocks on the upper balcony was to die for with the seaview and breeze. The 2floor bungalow has no a/c but the breeze is already more than enough. Sunrise beach is the nicest beach to stay and swim. The waters are so clear and blue, especially on a high tide it's great to swim, on a clear sunny day, the breeze is wonderful. Pattaya is very busy and Sunset is quite small and quiet. Wifi is only available at the lobby, restaurant is just average but the fruit shakes are so good. Koh Li Pe is a gorgeous island and it has by far the best beach i've ever been to. I would come to gipsy again if it's the high season because of the cheap rates.

Room Tip: the 2floor wooden bungalow in the front is great! the standard huts look ok too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Sunrise beach which this resort is located is the best beach in Ko Lipe. Forever windy, finest sand and clearest water. In the morning on the beach, the run to Mountain Resort at the other corner before 8.15pm is really great with the cool breeze.

I stayed in a non air conditioned concrete bungalow at C9.
Mosquitos were abundant so bring along mosquito coil.
The room can get really warm at night so if u're one who can't stand the heat, u might want to get the AC room.
The wifi is only available at the "lobby".

If u want even more no frills, u might want to consider the resort to the right of Gypsy Resort. It actually looks better.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HongXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.1 mi away
Wapi Resort
Wapi Resort
#1 of 30 in Ko Lipe
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Resort

Property: Gipsy Resort
Address: 336 Moo 7 Tambon Koh Saray | Amper Muang Satun, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gipsy Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gipsy Resort & Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gipsy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing