We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gipsy Resort
Nearby Hotels
Idyllic Concept Resort(Ko Lipe)
$123
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$211
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sawan Resort(Ko Lipe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
60
61
21
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
61
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netsunrise beachwithout acwalking streetfruit shakeswooden bungalowsbasic roomclean roomsnice beachstayed for nightsyour feethigh tidebeach barlaid backfew stepssea viewper night
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 153 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Our's was right on the beach but would recommend those further back if you are a light sleeper, longtail boats went out fishing (I think) really early and woke us each time but it wasn't really a problem. Restaurant on site which was handy and you can get your clothes washed for a small fee

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked gipsy resort for our new year's getaway, considering the cheaper rates compared to other nice resorts which were full or double the price. We got the 2-floor wooden bungalow (for 5pax) at the front of the resort, which was just perfect for the price we paid (3750baht), the room was spacious, toilets are clean although very basic. Beds are comfy too with mosquito nets. The hammocks on the upper balcony was to die for with the seaview and breeze. The 2floor bungalow has no a/c but the breeze is already more than enough. Sunrise beach is the nicest beach to stay and swim. The waters are so clear and blue, especially on a high tide it's great to swim, on a clear sunny day, the breeze is wonderful. Pattaya is very busy and Sunset is quite small and quiet. Wifi is only available at the lobby, restaurant is just average but the fruit shakes are so good. Koh Li Pe is a gorgeous island and it has by far the best beach i've ever been to. I would come to gipsy again if it's the high season because of the cheap rates.

Room Tip: the 2floor wooden bungalow in the front is great! the standard huts look ok too.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Sunrise beach which this resort is located is the best beach in Ko Lipe. Forever windy, finest sand and clearest water. In the morning on the beach, the run to Mountain Resort at the other corner before 8.15pm is really great with the cool breeze.

I stayed in a non air conditioned concrete bungalow at C9.
Mosquitos were abundant so bring along mosquito coil.
The room can get really warm at night so if u're one who can't stand the heat, u might want to get the AC room.
The wifi is only available at the "lobby".

If u want even more no frills, u might want to consider the resort to the right of Gypsy Resort. It actually looks better.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HongXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked a bungalow with sea-view one day in advance on the internet as we were worried that we wouldn't find anywhere just turning up. Luckily it turned out to be the on Sunrise beach, the best beach on the island and not Pattaya beach which was beautiful but crowded with longboats. Our little hut was basic, clean but comfortable - and the outdoor bathroom was cool too. It was a bit hard to see stuff at night as the light was dim in the room but it wasn't a problem. Unfortunately, the first night was really windy so the noise of the waves crashing down all the time was quite unbearable even with ear-plugs. But the second night was a lot calmer and we had a perfect night sleep.

For the rest of our time we moved to a cheaper concrete bungalow a bit further away from the beach which was okay for the price but not as cool as the previous one.

The service was attentive in particular the helpful Spanish guy who owned the place. As we were running out of cash (there are no ATMs on the island) he gave us cashback through Paypal so we could enjoy our last night there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked a garden view bungalow 3 person. the room was quite neat & clean. but without refrigerator & hair dryer,so bring own. Bed was clean & with mosquito neat. Washroom was clean & nice.Environment there was so peaceful & quiet. So if want to have fun inside room, just keep low sound. :D
10 minutes walk to walking street.1 minutes walk to the beach side & restaurant. The food of Gipsy resort was a bit too salty. Staff was very friendly & willing to help u. Wifi provided but low signal inside room.

Overall, I am satisfied stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applengzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews