We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island in the south of Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The property is simply breathtaking, the water is clear blue and warm. We stayed in the Balanese Beach front villa, very large bed with a window seat beside a large window. They have an outdoor shower and bathroom, we had a similar set up in Fiji and it was very tastefully done. The staff complete the package, they are there to assist you in having a safe, wonderful trip. One of the male staff helped me when I put my thumb on a sea urchin. He soaked it in lime and vinegar , them took a small round mallet and gently pushed the quills into my thumb. He was a lifesaver. The food was excellent, you could double order your breakfast, we also had a stir fry and an excellent pizza there. Amazing trip , you owe to yourself to the Mali Resort.

Room Tip: The villas are nearer the ocean and are larger, but all the rooms are beautifully appointed and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 746 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent 10 nights in the beachfront Bungalow. Amazing views, totally affordable, clean, breakfast everyday. They offer lunch, dinner, and of course a full bar. The staff is like a family and they totally take care of you. The owner is often on the property as well mingling with the guests, and working on making Mail beautiful. When we return to Koh Lipe someday, we will only stay at Mali. THANK you everyone at MALI! Dave and I wish you all the best!

Room Tip: When you book, the new bungalows are like a horseshoe layout. so any of them would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Mali Resort. Very plesent stay overall. Comfortable new rooms with all mod cons. The island is unspoilt and simply stunning. Friendly staff and good selection of food for the family. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RA54665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Mali for 10 nights and would have stayed 3 more but they were sold out.
We had the advantage of living both in beachfront, garden view and balinese.
The beachfront was our favorite all though balinese was cool but outside shower is not for us.
The beach is calm with great water and chairs overlooking the sea.
The food is great, try the tea leaf salad, it is the greatest ever! Breakfast very filling.

What makes Mali different from other resorts is the friendly, service minded staff.
The New Orleans ladies at night; Aileen & Shannon are the best, they take you in, make you feel special and really care about the well being of everyone visiting the bar and restaurant.
Ruth, the manager, always working but always smiling and ready to help.
Yoga with Kiara is highly recommended!

What you have to remember is that the resort is in the middle of the jungle so if you see ants on the beach, by or in the bungalow or on the bar, just smile, have another great mojito and let Mali resort take care of you!

WE will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtraagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had the absolute best experience at Mali resort. From the minute you get off the boat staff are there to greet you, take your bags and walk you up the beach. The resort is located on the most beautiful part of the beach and sheltered from any wind the island gets. This is important as some parts of Koh Lipe are exposed to the wind. The staff were so friendly and genuine, they would happily chat away to you over a beer in the evening or leave you in peace if that is what you desired. I even spent time talking with the manger who is an incredibly nice guy and very knowledgeable about the island. However, the most impressive part of the resort is it's unique look, it does not feel like a resort with a row of apartment style rooms all looking exactly the same. The individual villas set in and amongst the garden were superb. Wifi works well, food was excellent. I cannot fault this place, it's well worth the money and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomptaksphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having spent three nights at the Mali as part of our honeymoon trip around Thailand, we were more than sad to have to leave after such a short time, and can only reflect that another week, would not even have been enough :) we liked Koh Lipe, we loved our stay at the Mali.
Nicely tucked away at the quieter end of the beach, the resort is peaceful, tidy, and offers an excellent base to explore the island and islands around it.
Contrary to recent reviews we found the staff helpful, curteous and generally pleased to have us around. They helped provide us with 3 amazing days, organsiing trips with local longtail captains and providing a decent packed lunch and drinks in a cool box "hassle free".
Im not really too sure what people expect from a "resort" but this is not a "major" branded hotel, it doesnt try to be, so there will be no bellhops here, or deluxe a'la carte menus - this is a "Thai - beach resort" and in this way it delivers - so sit back and embrace :) if you want 5 star luxury - Koh Lipe itself is not the place for you - hit Samui / Lanta / Phuket... but if you want to "experience" Thailand - personally I think you cannot fail at the Mali.
One negative - The safes are not Safe - as can be picked up and walked off with.. a little disconcerting

Room Tip: no need to fight for a beach front here - the benefit of being a little further back and less money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weebo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at the resort for 6 days. We had a lovely stay but found the service of staff to be very poor. The villa' were very confortable and set in a beautiful garden. However, for the money you pay you would expect a much better standard of service. We also found the breakfast to be very standard and mediocre. Some of the staff were trying to be helpfull, but because they are not properly trainend and managed they are unable to reach a certain standard of service you would expect. We regretably found the Americans working there to be superficial and not genuinely interested in their guests. The massages were excelent!
To sumerise: the villas and ground are just beautiful, but the service needs to improve a lot to get a better value of money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mali Sunrise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe

Address: 306 Moo 7 | Pattaya beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $89 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mali Resort is comprised of two complimenting styles of villas. From traditional, architecture & popular modern designs to luxurious comforts and tropical charms Mali Resort brings a unique blend of style inspired by the enchanting culture, warm hospitality, and natural beauty of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing