We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better, but why bother?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days in August and were really excited about it having read so many brilliant reviews on here. Sadly we felt that the resort did not live up to expectations. On arrival ( after a very rough crossing, travel sickness pills would be recommended, especially when it's raining) we were met by the female American manageress who told us that it wasn't very rough and some people are more prone to sea sickness than others (out of about 45-50 people on the boat only 7 were not sick)this made us both feel very small. We were then shown to our room, which was situated on the most beautiful beach. The room itself was fine and had an outside bathroom. Sadly this bathroom did have rodents, this can be expected in an outside bathroom however, when we found rodent mess on and around the basin we asked for our bathroom to be cleaned again to get rid of this. It only got resolved on the third time of cleaning, when the manageress over saw the cleaning, this had the added bonus of our basins being cleaned for the first time during our stay (don't leave the soap out the rodents will eat it). The attitude of the staff was variable, some were friendly and happy to help however some seemed completely disinterested. We went during the rainy season so we were expecting some rain, however the hotel has no undercover communal area for people when it was raining so you are stuck in your room where the wifi does not reach to. The hotel does however provide a selection of DVDs which is useful. Overall the location of the hotel was good, but the attitude of staff and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank SkippyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaliResort, Owner at Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Please keep in mind most of our reviews are excellent ranging between 4-5 stars. We have consistently been rated 1st or 2nd on Koh lipe for almost 2 years. Both two star reviews we received recently were from the same room, staying at the same time period. We appreciate quality feedback. We are reviewing your concerns and thank you for taking the time to post.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

3 day 2 nights staying here was a great pleasure to enjoy together with friends. Spacious and comfortable (balinese luxury ocean view) rooms, nice view and relaxing environment, great food (breakfast, pizza, thai and western cuisine all taste good!)+ friendly staff makes here a certain choice if we gonna come again :) excellent job from mali resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul901234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I'm giving this a 4 is the fact I traveled solo and this is NOT a good place for a solo traveler.

The hotel itself is amazing. Awesome location on the water about a 5 minute walk to walking street. The staff are super friendly.
You can charge everything to your room and pay with credit card when you check out for a 3.5% fee. (there are NO ATMs on island so this is very convenient) I even bought my return ferry ticket through my room.
The rooms are all in bungalows. Very clean. They make the beds and give new towels everyday. AC and hot water.

A lot of families with kids. The rooms have a tv and DVD player. The bar has a box of DVDs so good for the kids.

Hotel restaurant is very tasty and reasonabily priced. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ABstir6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What can I say about Mali resort? It's all rounded except the food which I believe the management are trying their very best to make it better. I stayed at Mali from 22 - 25 July 2013, that's 4D/3N. Didn't do any booking and basically walked-in. Did read some reviews at TripAdvisor and decided either it can be Bundhaya or Mali Resort. Mrs wanted Bundhaya. Friends recommended another resort but since I walked-in and bumps into Mali's staff at Sunrise beach, I decided to just go to Mali. Definitely a good decision. Well mannered staffs, good host by Jason and Ruth. Since I walked-in, only managed to get 2 nights at first since the 3rd night is fully booked. I walked to other resorts and did asked around and a couple of them regardless how nice they looks like just put me off. Receptionist can answer you wish a question such as "What do you want?"

Damn, I was in the hospitality for a very short sting and I can tell you that it was definitely rude... Kudos to the management of Mali on their good training. With lady luck on my side, managed to get the 3rd night at Mali. Love this place! Next trip to Lipe, you can be sure that I will be staying at Mali Resort. I just hope that they don't revise their pricing upwards for low season... :)

Ryan

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in June 2013. Amazing place with lovely views. Had a bungalow with sea views. Might seem a little pricey compared to other places on the island but when you take the views, service and cleanliness into account it's definitely worth it! Would love to come back here and do at least another week! Koh Lipe is beautiful and if you don't mind spending a bit Mali is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Mali is a gem. Everything was perfect in my opinion. The beds are comfy, the location is great, the decor is wonderful. The service is fantastic. Even the coffee is incredible (Ruthie was a barista in New Orleans for years.) After a month long trip in Southeast Asia, this was my favorite place. The prices are great too. I'm not sure if much has been written about their restaurant, but the masaman and green curries were THE BEST WE HAD IN THAILAND. The breakfast is also five star and included. There is no reason to come all the way to Koh Lipe and not stay here. Simply a great place. We stayed in the Balinese beachfront for a few nights and the Balinese Garden view for 2 more nights. Both were excellent and not too much difference.

Room Tip: The balinese beachfront does allow you to see more beach than the garden view, but the garden view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Mali is a wonderful resort set at a quiet end of the Pattaya beach. We booked another Ko Lipe resort for the first days, and then walked around the island, determined to find the best resort for further stay. The winner was Mali.

This being low season, parts of Pattaya beach further to the east were quite unsightly as businesses were closed and nobody had cleaned the junk that waves had piled on the beach. However those areas were safely out of sight from Mali, and the beach near the resort was almost spotless. I must say that we greatly enjoyed the low season rates and the lesser number of tourists on this island, they made low season feel so much better than high season!

During the trip to the resort from Sunrise Beach, our motorbike "limousine" did not have enough strength to go up a hill with heavy sidecart load, and so we ended up pushing it for a few meters. Great laughs unless you are not in a relaxed holiday mood, and after arriving to Ko Lipe that would be almost impossible! The area surrounding the Mali resort is still mostly undeveloped and on the way one might wonder what kind of shacks will be waiting at the end, but no worries, the paradise resort will be there.

We stayed at a "Balinese Luxury Ocean View" bungalow. It has a lovely thatched roof, big windows and glass doors, a view to the green garden and partial seaview. With the big and green shared garden as well as the small restaurant area being in the middle of the resort, the bungalows do not offer complete privacy, unless curtains are closed, but it was rarely that we saw other guests walking there and so did not feel bothered at all.

The beach was quiet and weather very good, so a beachfront bungalow might have been an even better choice this time. However in stormy weather or possibly with more tourists and more longtail boats buzzing around it may be more peaceful to stay a bit further back. In any case, the sea is just a few steps away!

The room was well equipped with both air conditioning and a fan, a tiny safe (unsuitable for laptops), a modern TV with a decent choice of channels but somewhat grainy reception, and a DVD player. Movies can be borrowed at the bar for free. The small fridge was empty besides two daily water bottles (no outrageous mini bar charges here, bring your own drinks or ask from the bar, I suppose). The spacious open-air bathroom is lovely and indeed much like what one might expect to see in Bali. There are two washbasins and two rainfall showers, one of them with hot water. As always in this kind of natural setting, some mosquitoes will try to invade at night, so it is best to keep the doors closed.

The Mali resort does not have a swimming pool, which some might consider a slight minus. However as it is situated right on the wonderful beach, a pool is not really necessary. The beach has relatively white, fine sand, followed by coral reefs still at shallow depth. There were some longtail boats around as everywhere on this island, but mostly parked and very rarely moving. They are very noisy and can be extremely irritating!

Snorkeling gear, including fins, can be borrowed without cost. Coral and fish may be observed even very near to shore, and this is a pastime definitely to be recommended.

One can also embark on a longer snorkeling trip around nearby islands, organized by a friendly captain on his terribly noisy longtail boat, and affordable at 1500 baht for a four-hour private boat trip, or for slightly cheaper in a group. Resort staff is happy to pack some drinks and sandwiches for you to go.

Lipe is sometimes said to be the "Maldives of Thailand", and the natural beauty and experience of reef snorkeling in this area can indeed be compared with the Maldives, even though marine life here is certainly less varied and colorful. Near the first island we went to water was almost crystal clear.

Wifi at Mali resort is free. While not remarkably fast (probably going through a satellite), it was mostly usable within the room as well, with only minor hiccups, and had better connectivity in public areas. Not all Thai GSM networks can be used on this island: True did not have any signal, while DTAC 3G was excellent.

The relaxed beach restaurant at Mali offers drinks, including some slightly overpriced but delicious cocktails. Something to enjoy while lounging in one of the bamboo hammocks! The food menu has pasta, pizza and Thai dishes, but is quite restricted, and might get boring after a while. There are other restaurants nearby to choose from, although selection is not as good as near Walking Street. Breakfast was relatively basic, with eggs, bacon, bread, juice and coffee or tea. However we had it served on the porch of the bungalow, which made it all more enjoyable. We saved some bread for later to give it to the friendly and well-behaved dogs roaming around. (I understand some people might not like dogs but this being Thailand there will be dogs everywhere, and dog vacuums will be filled by strays, so it's best they have these ones here.)

Service at Mali is incredibly friendly, with Ruth and other owners/staff going out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. After staying for a couple of nights we changed our speedboat tickets to stay here longer.

The only real drawback of this resort, then, is of course the difficulty of getting here. However, paradise islands by definition need to be difficult to reach, lest they are overrun by tourists. If you do decide to venture all the way down here, you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe

Address: 306 Moo 7 | Pattaya beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $79 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mali Resort is comprised of two complimenting styles of villas. From traditional, architecture & popular modern designs to luxurious comforts and tropical charms Mali Resort brings a unique blend of style inspired by the enchanting culture, warm hospitality, and natural beauty of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing