We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Up to its Lovely Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lived Up to its Lovely Name”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We would strongly recommend staying at the beautiful Mali Resort on Koh Lipe. We stayed between 12th - 15th December in room B1 which was literally on the beach! We could hear the waves gently rolling on to the beach as we lay in bed at night!
Pattaya beach is wonderful and Mali Resort is one of the best positioned on that beach as it's a little away from the busiest part but within easy walking distance!
One of the best things about the place is Ruthie the American manager. Nothing was too much trouble and she gave us some great advice about our next destination, Koh Lanta. Through Ruthie, we found the Oasis Restaurant on Khlong Nin (which is amazing) but we also stayed at the Baan Rim Laay resort right next door on the beach and what a great place that was!
Would highly recommend staying at Mali resort to anybody and will definitely make my way back there sometime very soon! A special mention also to Ohm who again was only to willing to help with advice and always had a smile on her face. Not without mentioning Mali the beautiful Golden Labrador who lives at the resort, who I believe gave the resort its name.

Room Tip: Pick room B1 if you can, right on the beach and almost half the cost of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mali_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    188
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
158
355
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently travelled to Ko Lipe on a diving holiday and chose to stay at Mali resort.

The bungalows are finished to a very high standard and the bathrooms are an inspired idea.

The view and the beach were great and good to relax on.

What really made it was the tips from staff about island restaurants and things to do.

The food itself was great at the bar or on my balcony.

Great resort. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Remember Koh Lipe has no ATM
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJL-Diving-KohTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Charming villas - book the luxury villa as you will get an unobstructive view of the emerald sea and pristine beach plus u can enjoy watching sunset from your own patio or even while lounging in bed!
The fresh brewed coffee make up to the okay breakfast. Yes the rooms do need more furnitures n not an essential not to be forgotten in SEA , mosquito coils (big ones and they come while you r enjoying your sunset).
Highly recommended resort ..a must go in perfect Lipe.

Room Tip: Restaurant tips: My Elephant for great coffee fix, Lekka Lipe for awesome gelatos and a Thai restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have just spent an amazing 9 days staying at Mail Resort on Koh Lipe. I would most definitely recommend that you stay here if you want a great stay on Lipe.

Location - Situated on Pattaya Beach (the main and best beach on Lipe) in a perfect location, far enough away from the Beach Bars to avoid any noise (not that they produce much anyway) but also close enough (approx 200 meters) that it is easy to walk to the main village (Walking Street). The beach is very quiet, the sea is a perfect shade of blue and there is perfect snorkelling about 30 meters off the beach, right in front of the resort. Location is perfect!!

Accommodation - We stayed in both the Sea View and Ocean View bungalows during our stay. All of the 8 rooms that are currently finished (they are building 18 in total I think, and all are almost complete) are literally no more than 20 meters from the beach, with the Ocean View bungalows sat right on the beach, so they all have great views, Each bungalow is very spacious, very new and the finish for each room is very good. Beds are extremely comfy. Air con was great, and the open air bathroom and showers were very cool and a very nice touch..also gives it a great exotic feel!! There is also widescreen TV/DVD player in the rooms (which we didn't use, as no point when you have the most amazing views right outside of the rooms). Should also mention that the rooms are very clean. We had no problems with Mosquitoes or any other creepy crawlies, so thats a massive positive in my mind too!!

Service - Mali is run by two very friendly and welcoming guys from the US (Derek and Sam) who were very attentive to all guests , who understand the Thai culture and who went out of their way to ensure each guest has a great memorable stay. They couldnt have done more to be honest!!

The staff who work at Mali are all locals and "Aon" who runs the beach bar/restaurant in the centre of the resort was super friendly and and always had a welcoming Thai smile on her face.

Breakfasts are great, I usually opted for the cooked breaky and coffee which is a great start to the day!

Other stuff... we borrowed Snorkels from the resort all free of charge, they were able to organise fishing trips via longtail boat to catch Barracuda/marlin etc, although we didnt catch anything!! but such a great day out. The Bar area around the centre of the resort is right on the beach and is a great place to meet other guests, chat about the island and generally chill with a nice cold beer after a long day of sunbathing!!

Not really much I can criticise about Mali resort to be honest, apart from I wish I had been able to stay longer!!. After 9 days on the Island which I should also add is the most beautiful Thai Island I have visited yet, it really is the perfect destination. It is like how Phi Phi was maybe 15 years ago before it became a Teenage tourist trap!!

Def recommend you go to Lipe and you would certainly have an amazing time by staying at Mali Resort!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Yes, the resort is still in the construction phase, but it didn't negatively impact our stay at all. We stayed in one of the villas a few steps from the beach which was more like a fine white powder. I've been living in Southeast Asia for five years, but this was my brother's first visit. After a few weeks of traveling in five different countries, Mali Resort and Koh Lipe were unquestionably his favorite stop. Our villa, Mali hospitality, perfect beach, the nightlife on Walking Street, and the gang from the local dive shop down the beach, Davy Jones' Locker who we dove with and shared a few beers with, were much more than we expected (and we expected a lot from Koh Lipe after choosing it for our last stop). After talking to Derek and Sam, their resort will only get better, but even before it's completed, you wouldn't at all regret staying there. In fact, during our stay, at least half of the other guests there were extending their stays even if it meant switching rooms. It was also a regular occurrence for people staying at other places on the island to stop in to see if there was a room available at Mali Resort. It's a good thing they're adding several new villas. Thanks for everything and looking forward to bringing the family back from Singapore. Go Ducks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Exotic Orient
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Selling points :
(1) Newly-opened resort – so everything looks good and new
(2) Beautiful room design – attractive solid wood furniture, good quality bed-sheets and towels. Room is spacious – items provided in room : large LCD TV, mini-bar, bottled water, hair-dryer, air-con + fan. Large open-air shower with standard toiletries provided
(3) Clean
(4) Reasonably-priced for the room quality
(5) English-speaking owners (Americans?) so there’s no communications issue here if you don’t speak Thai

The Not-So-Great points :
(1) Nowhere to hang your clothes in the room – there’s no wardrobe or hangers in the room. As the shower-room is open-air, the few hooks near the shower are exposed to the sun AND rain – can’t leave your towels there if it’s raining. There’re a few hooks near the toilet bowl but you wouldn’t want to leave your clothes or towels there as there are ants crawling on the wall
(2) No coffee or tea making facilities provided in the room. The daily bottled water was occasionally forgotten by staff until you remind them
(3) No mirrors, dressing table or chairs in the room; owners said more furniture is arriving soon – hope all the above-mentioned items are included in their list!!!
(4) No cable channels; only DVD discs (lots of them but in my opinion, mostly obscure titles and limited no of blockbuster movies).
(5) Paid for a sea-view villa but very unluckily, the room allocated to me was the furthest one away from the rest of the rooms (only 8 units were open at that time), my “sea-view” was from quite a distance away. Construction of new units was going on during my stay and was rather noisy as the work was done just beside my room. Sign : (

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We chose this location because it is only one hour boat ride from Langkawi, Malaysia. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owners and even their friendly dog, Mali.

The location is spectacular except you might need to take a 5 min water taxi ride if you have a lot of lugguage if you don't inform the hotel your arrival time earlier. If not, it's just 10 min lovely walk from immigration and the hotel provides a porter (trolley style service).

It is also walking distance to many shops, restaurants and open Thai massage places by the beach but not to near to hear noises. Great for a romantic getaway!

There is also a dive shop next door, Forra Divers if you want to arrange for diving. The pick up location is also walking distance. The view here is breathtaking and thr water is cryatal clear you can see the bottom.

We have Luxury Bali Ocean Beach Villa. The bed is super comfortable, aircondition and fan. Perfect for the weather here. The attached bathroom is open air with high privacy walls and rain heated shower heads. Very topical feel to it. And also two sinks installed perfect for couples. Yes, wifi is available.

The personalized service made our stay very pleasant. They make awesome coffee for breakfast and lovely ice blended mango welcome drinks.

A perfect weekend getaway for couples and family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe

Property: Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Address: 306 Moo 7 | Pattaya beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mali Resort is comprised of two complimenting styles of villas. From traditional, architecture & popular modern designs to luxurious comforts and tropical charms Mali Resort brings a unique blend of style inspired by the enchanting culture, warm hospitality, and natural beauty of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing