We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and nice staff”
Review of Lipe Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lipe Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spend two nights in lipe beach resort. it is a bit away from all the noyce of the main strip and is located at the -by far- best beach in koh lipe. water is crystal clear just off the resort.
the staff was nice and the food decent. very nice setting in the reception area with swinning balconies hanging in rope where you can have your meals served or enjoy a cool drink.
The bamboo hut that we stayed in was quite simple and a bit pricey for its value. but hey you gotta pay to stay in such a newly developped island as Koh Lipe. Generally the entire island is quite pricey comapared to rest of Thailand. the food and rooms cost about 3 times more than they do on the Malaysian island of Langkawi just 1 hour by ferry away. however it is completely different settings in Koh Lipe.
I would choose to stay in the same resort whenever I come back and I would also recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 413 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location of the resort is perfect - it is situated on the most beautiful beach on Ko Lipe. They pick up all the rubbish from the beach, so the sand is perfectly clean and you can see the difference when you go for a walk round the island. Our bamboo house was basic, but it had amazing view on the beach (we could see the sunrise from our bed). This place is simply simply beautiful, we had a great week in this little paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nataliampl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Perhaps I'm just being a big girl about this but wanted to give an objective description of what you'll get! I was expecting basic, it's a beach hut after all, but some simple improvements would've made my stay a lot more enjoyable.

The room had a matress with mozzy net, a fan and a small table in the corner. There wasn't anywhere really to put anything, no hook for a towel to go on, just one really puny little shelf under the mirror in the bathroom. There was 1 plug socket for the fan so you had to choose between having the fan on (essential) or charging something. The plug was also halfway up the wall so unless you wanted your ipad dangling off the wall you had to make a strategic shelf with your bags!

The cafe/reception is somewhat underwhelming, I went there at 8pm hoping for a sandwich to be told the kitchen was closed. There are some other restaurants around but because the resort is at the far end of the beach you'll need to take a bit of a walk up the beach or a 10 min walk to get onto Walking Street. If you're a lone female traveller you may find this walk a bit intimidating as there are alleyways and its not well lit.

You cant fault the location, we were right on the beach with some stunning views but this is what you are mainly paying your money for. The island has a lot of dogs, so if you're not a doggy person you might not be in your element, a few times I had dogs barking and running up to me on the way in and out of the hut. The beach also has some areas which are quite littered, just as a prewarning about the location rather than a comment on the resort.

As I said, perhaps my expectations were too high, and if you're just going to be out all day anyway the things I mentioned might not bother you. It was good for a laugh, in particular the evil biting ants that took a particular liking to my feet as I was sat on the toilet, the lizards and the huge cockroach, but I dont think I could've lasted more than the 3 days we were there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenfonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

well, if I say that I want to visit the Lipe beach resort again while my next visit to Thailand the I do not have to write anything else. We really enjoyed every single minute in this resort and on this Island. We booked the wooden beach bungalow, payed in advance and everything went smooth. The sea and the view is just something what is not possible to describe by words...the colors, the atmosphere, food, the people, just paradise ... :-)

Room Tip: Beach front definetely ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ok, this was the first time staying in a beach hut for me and my girlfriend so seasoned travellers may read this and say "duh" but there are a few things to note for other people like us (if anyone else in the world hasn't stayed in a beach hut before).

We stayed in a bamboo beachfront hut for three nights and the setting on Sunrise Beach is incredible. Really beautiful place. It's about a 10 minute walk through some dark alleys to Walking Street and there is a mini-mart close by.

The accommodation itself was very basic and, being made of bamboo, open to all sorts of critters including cockroaches, mosquitos, frogs and ants. There is a mosquito net surrounding the bed but that didn't stop the little ants getting into bed with us at night. There was also an ant party in the bathroom nightly with literally thousands of them living it up on the floor and walls, so upon leaving this place both my girlfriend and I were bitten more times than Dracula's wife. There was one plug socket for the fan, so it's a choice of charging stuff or having no fan, and the showers are cold (as is well publicised) and a little trickly.

None of the above is a criticism of the Lipe Beach Resort as I have nothing to compare this to, hence the 4 stars, but it's worth considering if you're not used to this kind of thing.

Wifi is only available in the bungalows close to the main reception and the restaurant and bar close relatively early. We were told that the restaurant closes at 9pm each night, but we tried to get food at 8pm one night and the kitchen was closed. When we did have breakfast there the food was good. Oh and there are dogs everywhere on Lipe and particularly outside this resort, which I think is cool, but others might find it intimidating (about four sprinted over to me barking when I went out to see the sunset!)

I'm sure all of the above is typical of beachfront accommodation, but being first timers to this sort of thing, it felt a little like we were harking back to our camping holidays in Cornwall! Still, the location makes this place, and that's what yer paying for I guess.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey_Forrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week in March with a friend and fell in love with the place. We actually booked for 2 nights in a beach front wooden bungalow. We knew exactly what to expect having checked Trip Advisor before travelling. We decided that we liked it so much to stay for a further 4 nights, rather than wasting time travelling to another island. We moved into a bamboo bungalow a few rows back. We were advised that is was a smaller bungalow so there weren't any surprises - but then what do you expect for almost half the price!

The bathrooms are perfectly adequate, with cold showers - which I actually loved given the stupidly high temperatures. We sometimes had a visit from a few inquisitive frogs - all completely harmless.

The bar, restaurant and beach area was also really nice. Fantastic views. I don't think I've stayed anywhere with a better view. I would also recommend the fruit museli with yoghurt for breakfast and smoothies!!!

All staff were very helpful and friendly all the time. There are a few dogs owned by Lipe Beach Resort. All are well kept, happy and loved dogs. Sometimes they get a bit territorial if another dog comes on their patch, but this can't be helped as is the nature of dogs.

Don't be concerned about longtail boats in front of the resort, they're all gone during the day and only come back late afteroon/early evening.

I only have one thing to add, that isn't a complaint by any means as my stay was about perfect. The day before we left I asked if we could check out a little later (about an hour later) and pay for the privilege, simply so that we could have a little longer on the beach before leaving. Although there probably wasn't anyone waiting for our bungalow the reception staff couldn't understand why I would request this and declined my request. It's not a problem, it's just that sometimes guests may wish to pay for late checkout.

I would definitely return to this place if ever I visit Thailand again. Wonderful. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a taxi longtail boat directly to Sunrise Beach, rather than walking from Pattaya B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights early March. It was a sight for sore eyes after traveling over 12 hours from Bangkok. Check-in was swift, and husband and I got a beachfront bamboo bungalow for 1250 THB/night. Weather was perfect. Breezy at night, hot and sunny during the day. Bamboo bungalow was perfect w/ just the fan and mosquito net. Slept with the windows wide open and awoke to a brilliant red sunrise each morning. Make sure to catch the sunrise every day! It's the best time on the beach.

Erawan provided friendly, consistent service, along with everyone at the restaurant. We had breakfast every day here as well as 2 lunches and dinners. Great food, good prices. Try the ginger lime smoothies! Also had a nice dinner at the Castaway restaurant further south on the beach.

This "resort" is really no frills. You'll have to ask for toilet paper and clean towels, but that was just fine by me, considering the price and the excellent location right on the beach. There's only one electrical outlet in the room, so you have to decide to charge your electronics or run the fan. Or use the outlets in the restaurant while you have breakfast.

Excellent swimming beach just in front of the resort with good snorkeling too. Sea lice / jelly fish were stinging, which isn't a problem, unless you're allergic (I am!!). Make sure to wear at least a skin or a rash guard if you plan to do a lot of snorkeling.

10-15 min walk to walking street and Pattaya Beach, but I much preferred the quiet of Sunrise Beach.

I'd love to come back and stay again at Lipe Beach Resort. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: pick a beach front room! Bamboo bungalows are breezy and cool w/ great ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World_Underwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.7 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.3 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipe Beach Resort

Address: 89 Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $39 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lipe Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, Peaceful and Relaxing. Lipe Beach Resort offers a splendid view of the Sunrise! With direct access to the coral reef, explore it by snorkelling or diving!Located on one of the most Idyllic spots on the island we offer clean and well maintained wooden and bamboo bungalows. Enjoy a truly breath-taking view featuring our gardens and of course our beautiful beach.Lipe Beach Resort is dedicated to ensure the well-being of every guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lipe Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing