We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipe - take good care of your Island....”
Review of Lipe Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lipe Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a wooden bungalow, (V2) okay for value, but cleaning was not acceptable upon arrival - looked like bird nest inside the room and also in bathroom - moddy thing, dont know what was kept there, but we survived - :-)


We looked SO much forward visiting Lipe - and it is really a wonderful Island... but must say
this is nearly becoming a "new Phi Phi" - please take good care your Island - don't let it become another tourist trap - The Island is still beautyful

snorkling directly from the Beach - thank you Lipe Beach Resort - you are one of few resorts at Lipe, really trying to keep the Beach clean - other beaches were dirty - no one took care.. really dissapointing.

We did not use the restaurant a lot, as the Wind was strong at the time, we stayed, so we choosed going into the walking street for dining we enjoyed breakfast a couple of times, and it was very okay - overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olesen_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 414 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

What else can we say other than we ended up at the police station?
We arrived to the hotel, with our booking already payed, but there was our first surprise: we didn't have the bungalow which we payed for (nor any other bungalow available!) After spending two hours waiting, they finally provided us one, admitting their mistake. When we left, they charged us more money, saying this was a superior bungalow, and keeping the money of the key deposit (the keys which we returned!)
Anyway, this happens everyhour everywhere in Thailand during "peak" season. In general (while generalizations are bad) if they have 20 rooms they sell 24...
We already learned, and said this to the police officer, we left Thailand because of this things, and we are not returning to that country unless they learn how to deal with tourists, and respect them.

Room Tip: Take a lot of attention to your bungalows, not if they are bamboo or wooden, but check the size: the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DagaDanbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this resort for 1 week in December 2012, first in wooden bungalow n. V8: it is at the end of the second row but still has a partial view of the beach and the sea. Pros: it was pretty large and comfortable, good mattress and pillows, a little but useful table and a stool, nice covered veranda with lounge bed; cons: useless mosquito net with holes on the bed, sometimes only a few water in bathroom.
Then we moved to bamboo bungalow n. B8 (because the first one was already booked) on second row with almost no view of the sea and close to the passage: incredibly hard mattress, no place to put things on, very dangerous log of wood as step from bedroom to bathroom, no veranda outside (other bamboo bungalows has) but one lounge bed.
Both were clean and provided with good linen and towels; they are basic accommodation but we knew it and it’s part of the charm of a holiday on an island like this, we really didn’t need air con and hot water in the bathroom!
As everybody has already written, the beach in front of the resort is the most beautiful and large of Lipe and there’s also some good snorkelling just in front. The shower on the beach was very useful. The garden is very nice and very well kept. It was very nice to relax on the hammocks on the beach. Internet is available and free of charge but, during our stay, it only worked from 7/7.30 am to 8.30/9 pm.

There are some things, though, that we didn’t like: in spite of what it is written on their website, the bed is not king-size but a normal queen-size and they don’t provide towels for beach use (ok for us, but we like to read correct info on websites!); moreover, the prices on their website for the bamboo bungalow were not correct. But what annoyed us the most was the totally unkind attitude of the two ladies with whom we had to deal once we were there: we arrived there at about 2 on a hot afternoon walking from Pattaya beach with our luggage (we didn’t find any moto-taxi), we were tired and completely sweaty and they didn’t even welcomed us (not to speak about offering a glass of water: we took our bottle out of one bag!) but only urged us to pay the 300 THB key deposit and what they thought we still had to pay (we paid the total amount in advance through paypal: luckily we printed everything, also all the emails we wrote to each other!); during our stay there, every time we asked for something their only answers were “no possible” or “no have” with an annoyed face; not even a “goodbye” when we left. Where are the usual thai smile and kindness?

Still, we think we did the right choice with this resort as the accommodations were good for us (the first one was really better) and we prefer a beach like Sunrise and not Pattaya, which is full of longtail boats during the day and crowded and not quiet during the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Prices in the restaurant were 30-50% higher than on the main walking street. Dogs keep you up at nights. The beach is ok, but there's usually not enough water for swimming without hitting the corals. I would recommend looking something on Pattaya beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sathamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erawan L, Manager at Lipe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Sathamoth,

Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments as it good for our future guests to know that we are NOT the cheapest place on the island. Actually we would like to encourage people only looking for cheap and nothing else not to stay at our place at all.

One side note Sathamoth, although we have been around for a couple of years we have never been able to find any decent food for half the price compared to our pricing. So you might be over exaggerating here a little bit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

When you arrive at the resort (its about 10-15 minutes walk from where the ferries drop off) you feel like you definetely picked the right place. The bar/restaurant area is lovely, nice and relaxed, the food is good too.
We stayed in a bamboo bungalow which is pretty small, only really room for a double matress with mosquito net and a bit of room arond two of the sides. The bathroom is ok, but its a sand floor so you end up bringing a lot of sand back into tbe bedroom. Its also only a cold water shower.
The island as a whole has a lot of stray dogs, but the resort also has some dogs that they've rescused that are very friendly. But the do make noise all night so bring ear plugs.
It sounds like I was being negative but it is definetly one of the better 'basic' to moderate options on the island, I just want to make sure everyone knows what they need to.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erawan L, Manager at Lipe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Lazy Bloke :)

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your extended response.

The dogs indeed can be a bit "troublesome" from time to time. As they are scattered all over the island it is a kind of hard for us to gain total control over this. Momentarily we are building a night kennel for our own dogs. We are hoping this will result in a more quiet environment at night for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Huts are right on the beach, with double bed, fan, mosquito net, Western style toilets and cold showers. Basic but functional. Huts are cleaned on request, so you need to leave your key at Reception and ask them to clean the hut. Breakfast is not included in room rate but is reasonably priced.

There is a lounge bed outside each room with Thai 'axe' cushions and many hammocks around the resort for guests to relax.

Staff at Reception are friendly and can arrange trips to nearby islands. They are willing to suggest restaurants even though they have a fairly good restaurant of their own.

Beach area is fantastic and one of the widest on Sunrise Beach. While walking along Sunrise Beach, we noticed this was one of the few places where staff continuously clean the beach. We had heard about Koh Lipe's annoying garbage problem caused by waste from nearby islands landing up on the beach front every morning, but did not notice it on the stretch of beach in front of Lipe Beach Resort.

Resort is a short walk to Sunset Beach (5 minutes) and Walking Street (10 minutes). A torch is recommended at night as there are very few street lights on Koh Lipe.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little bit more to stay in one of the sea facing bamboo or wooden huts, rather than h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erawan L, Manager at Lipe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Vik,

Thank you for your detailed and extended review. We have enjoyed you staying with us. Perhaps we meet again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you imagine paradise being turquiose blue and extremely clear water, white and clean sandy beach, palmtrees and hammocks, hanging beds with tables to dine or have divine fruitshakes in the shade, and especially no crowds but quietness - then lipe beach resort is the perfect place for you! Not to forget the ever-smiling, friendly stuff. The bungalows are basic, just fan, mosquitonet and cold shower, but you won't need more. If you're after party though, walk across the island to Pattaya Beach and your within literally thousends of people, all crammed on one beach...
We truly recommend this amazing place!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Schreeeeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erawan L, Manager at Lipe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Schreenz,

Thank you for your kind review and good to hear you had a great experience while staying with us. Your advice with regards to Pattaya Beach is absolutely correct. We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to welcome you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.7 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.3 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipe Beach Resort

Address: 89 Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $39 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lipe Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, Peaceful and Relaxing. Lipe Beach Resort offers a splendid view of the Sunrise! With direct access to the coral reef, explore it by snorkelling or diving!Located on one of the most Idyllic spots on the island we offer clean and well maintained wooden and bamboo bungalows. Enjoy a truly breath-taking view featuring our gardens and of course our beautiful beach.Lipe Beach Resort is dedicated to ensure the well-being of every guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lipe Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing