We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money: Lots of mosquitoes, far from beach, loud, very expensive”
Review of Gipsy 2 Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gipsy 2 Bungalows
Ranked #25 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money: Lots of mosquitoes, far from beach, loud, very expensive”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Lots of mosquitoes, very far from the beaches, loud animals and construction in the mornings, twice as expensive as any comparable accommodation on Koh Lipe. Useless wifi (worse than in most places on the island), bad service, no food and few drinks available for purchase.

Based on the many positive reviews I unfortunately I did the mistake of booking and paying for this accommodation in advance, otherwise I would not have spent a single night here. An attempt at negotiation basically yielded the answer "no understand, no can do, agoda got your money now".

Having posted an unfavorable review at agoda.com, the owners contacted me on Facebook with personal insults and threats - incredibly unprofessional! The truth about this place needs to get out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The bungalows are basic but all you need for your stay. It's close to Walking Street and as a solo traveller I felt safe the entire time I was there. The owners were quite quiet and kept to themselves. Showers are cold water, but I believe most places on the island are like this from talking to other travellers. The bungalows aren't serviced daily but this wasn't a problem for me. Very relaxing and would recommend it if you don't mind a few insects and geckos.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We really love staying at Gipsys.
It is located a quiet area of the walking street and it is only about 5 minutes walking to pattaya beach and sunrise beach and about 10 minutes to sunset beach.
The bungalows are basic with a nice hammock in front but very clean.
The owners are very nice, helped us with all questions and tried to make the best of our stay.

If you are not expecting a 5 star hotel, but a very nice back to the roots resort, you will just love it here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strelowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is near to the walking street but it is not advisable to stay if you are not keen in nature or receive any "suprises". The dog barking noise will wake u up in midnight. Further more, there will be special "visitor" during night time. The visitor is snake. My wife was bitten by green pit wiper snake which is poisonous at the hotel garden. The light there is insufficient to light up the walking path and no preventive taken to avoid snake. She was then admitted to Pak Bara hospital during midnight by our own expenses to rent a speed boat due to whole Koh Lipe island doesnt has any anti-venom medcine (without any help given by the owner except clinic doctor who helped to arrange for speed boat & check on my wife). My wife was given nothing during her stay in Thailand hospital and anti-venom medicine only received when back to our own country. Thanks god that her life was not threatened and only her leg was swollen, pain, bruises appeared and she was unable to walk for 10 days. Still that was terrible experience we encountered and it totally ruined our holiday over there. Please think not twice but thrice if you wish to stay over here.

Room Tip: Do not stay near to the entrance. Noisy & snake over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kewintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gipsy2Rivendell, Propietario at Gipsy 2 Bungalows, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest,
We are really sorry about the terrible experience of your wife with a poisonous snake in Koh Lipe, but I want to give my opinion about your comment.
The snake didn't bite your wife in the hotel garden, she was bitten on her way to the hotel, that path was bad illuminated, and full of material because of a nearby construction, it was a petty and really bad luck, but you have to understand that it's impossible for us to control the wild animals of a tropical island.
On the other hand, we help you us much as we can, we came with you to Lipe Hospital, but obviously we are not doctors, so who better than the doctor to check on your wife? I think its not fair to say we didn't help. I understand why you are so angry, no anti-venom medicine in Lipe, you need to wait until you arrive to the mainland, I understand you were afraid and worried for your wife, but the real question is, why there is no anti-venom medicine in a brand new hospital in Koh Lipe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked to stay 4 days initially, but Gipsy was so peaceful and relaxing, and Lipe so beautiful, we soon added an extra 5 nights. Amanda and Christian, the lovely owners, very kindly let us pay the extra days via paypal so that we would have enough cash for our extra few days on the island.

Our bamboo bungalow was amazingly clean and comfortable, the fan was all you needed for a good night's sleep, and mozzie net and free mozzie coils are provided for the duration of your stay, which I thought was a lovely touch.

Each bungalow has a hammock and easy chair on its own little terrace, which you could literally spend hours in lounging around listening to the birds singing and playing with the two very friendly Gipsy doggies.The location is about a minute to walking street, and 5 mins from both beaches but is so peaceful you forget how close everything is.

Also provided free of charge are towels / sarongs / snorkelling gear for the beach, which you can just help yourself to.

We loved every minute of our stay here, and will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of Gipsy2Rivendell is not difficult to find and Amanda will provide you a simple map once you done your room reservation.We've stayed 2 nights at the bamboo bungalow and 1 night in Wooden bungalow. Both are really awesome and really comfortable staying in there. Let's talk about the bamboo bungalow first, it is a 2 person size room with a queen size bed, spacy bathroom with transparent roof which we found to be very interesting. Every bamboo bungalow comes with a rope hammock and chair near the door step. A perfect place to read or just empty yourself there. The Wooden Bungalow, is big and better view (to the island) from there. The differences is the wooden one is much more spacy compared to bamboo one.

Overall, the environment surrounded by plants and trees which is something I like. Will definitely visit again. It's worth it.

Room Tip: Pick the wooden bungalow and you will never regret about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazuyaCheang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Pros
1. Gipsy2rivendell is located in the middle of walking street. Good location.
2. The room is nice. The owner spend time to decorate & take care the place well.
3. Clean bathroom. Thumbs up!
4. Great & friendly owner
5. Definitely worth the value. Especially on an island where the living cost was high.

P/S: Not windy area. Thus, not very comfortable to sit in the porch. Especially noon. But, who cares. We are here to spend time on the beach :)

So, its a pleasant stay in Gipsy2.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eevonn_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.3 mi away
Gipsy Resort
Gipsy Resort
#5 of 57 in Ko Lipe
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Sunset Resort
Bayview Sunset Resort
#28 of 57 in Ko Lipe
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Family Song Bungalow
Family Song Bungalow
#2 of 57 in Ko Lipe
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kafair Hut
Kafair Hut
#15 of 57 in Ko Lipe
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gecko Lipe Resort
Gecko Lipe Resort
#6 of 57 in Ko Lipe
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lipe Inn
Lipe Inn
#14 of 57 in Ko Lipe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy 2 Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy 2 Bungalows

Property: Gipsy 2 Bungalows
Address: Walking Street, Pattaya Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is located near the Walking Street, You have a great offer of restaurants, bars, shops, massages centers at only 10 meters, but as we are in a little hill surrounded by trees and vegetation, is a quiet and relaxing spot in Lipe. Shadows and wind that arrives from Sunrise Beach will provide you a fresh stay and pleasant nights. What we offer? We want to offer you a pleasant and familiar place to make you feel as home, and help you enjoy Lipe as much as possible, its environment and its charming people.Why bamboo and wood? We choose this materials to stay true chao-lea, we are bamboo, we are wood, we are surrounded by trees and plants... We are nature. Welcome to our house and our dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gipsy 2 Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing