We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backpacker hideaway next to walking street”
Review of Gipsy 2 Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gipsy 2 Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We really love staying at Gipsys.
It is located a quiet area of the walking street and it is only about 5 minutes walking to pattaya beach and sunrise beach and about 10 minutes to sunset beach.
The bungalows are basic with a nice hammock in front but very clean.
The owners are very nice, helped us with all questions and tried to make the best of our stay.

If you are not expecting a 5 star hotel, but a very nice back to the roots resort, you will just love it here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strelowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is near to the walking street but it is not advisable to stay if you are not keen in nature or receive any "suprises". The dog barking noise will wake u up in midnight. Further more, there will be special "visitor" during night time. The visitor is snake. My wife was bitten by green pit wiper snake which is poisonous at the hotel garden. The light there is insufficient to light up the walking path and no preventive taken to avoid snake. She was then admitted to Pak Bara hospital during midnight by our own expenses to rent a speed boat due to whole Koh Lipe island doesnt has any anti-venom medcine (without any help given by the owner except clinic doctor who helped to arrange for speed boat & check on my wife). My wife was given nothing during her stay in Thailand hospital and anti-venom medicine only received when back to our own country. Thanks god that her life was not threatened and only her leg was swollen, pain, bruises appeared and she was unable to walk for 10 days. Still that was terrible experience we encountered and it totally ruined our holiday over there. Please think not twice but thrice if you wish to stay over here.

Room Tip: Do not stay near to the entrance. Noisy & snake over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kewintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gipsy2Rivendell, Propietario at Gipsy 2 Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,
We are really sorry about the terrible experience of your wife with a poisonous snake in Koh Lipe, but I want to give my opinion about your comment.
The snake didn't bite your wife in the hotel garden, she was bitten on her way to the hotel, that path was bad illuminated, and full of material because of a nearby construction, it was a petty and really bad luck, but you have to understand that it's impossible for us to control the wild animals of a tropical island.
On the other hand, we help you us much as we can, we came with you to Lipe Hospital, but obviously we are not doctors, so who better than the doctor to check on your wife? I think its not fair to say we didn't help. I understand why you are so angry, no anti-venom medicine in Lipe, you need to wait until you arrive to the mainland, I understand you were afraid and worried for your wife, but the real question is, why there is no anti-venom medicine in a brand new hospital in Koh Lipe?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked to stay 4 days initially, but Gipsy was so peaceful and relaxing, and Lipe so beautiful, we soon added an extra 5 nights. Amanda and Christian, the lovely owners, very kindly let us pay the extra days via paypal so that we would have enough cash for our extra few days on the island.

Our bamboo bungalow was amazingly clean and comfortable, the fan was all you needed for a good night's sleep, and mozzie net and free mozzie coils are provided for the duration of your stay, which I thought was a lovely touch.

Each bungalow has a hammock and easy chair on its own little terrace, which you could literally spend hours in lounging around listening to the birds singing and playing with the two very friendly Gipsy doggies.The location is about a minute to walking street, and 5 mins from both beaches but is so peaceful you forget how close everything is.

Also provided free of charge are towels / sarongs / snorkelling gear for the beach, which you can just help yourself to.

We loved every minute of our stay here, and will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of Gipsy2Rivendell is not difficult to find and Amanda will provide you a simple map once you done your room reservation.We've stayed 2 nights at the bamboo bungalow and 1 night in Wooden bungalow. Both are really awesome and really comfortable staying in there. Let's talk about the bamboo bungalow first, it is a 2 person size room with a queen size bed, spacy bathroom with transparent roof which we found to be very interesting. Every bamboo bungalow comes with a rope hammock and chair near the door step. A perfect place to read or just empty yourself there. The Wooden Bungalow, is big and better view (to the island) from there. The differences is the wooden one is much more spacy compared to bamboo one.

Overall, the environment surrounded by plants and trees which is something I like. Will definitely visit again. It's worth it.

Room Tip: Pick the wooden bungalow and you will never regret about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazuyaCheang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Pros
1. Gipsy2rivendell is located in the middle of walking street. Good location.
2. The room is nice. The owner spend time to decorate & take care the place well.
3. Clean bathroom. Thumbs up!
4. Great & friendly owner
5. Definitely worth the value. Especially on an island where the living cost was high.

P/S: Not windy area. Thus, not very comfortable to sit in the porch. Especially noon. But, who cares. We are here to spend time on the beach :)

So, its a pleasant stay in Gipsy2.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevonn_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place has its unique charm. I ended up staying more than I planned, the place is just amazing and calm. For me Koh Lipe is without any doubt a dream Island I always wanted to stay on. Comfortable 7 bungalows are surrounded by plants and palms with fairy lights sparkling at the night time. Gipsy 2 is situated so well. Its Windy at night so there is not so many mosquitoes at the evenings. For a nice food , just at the Walking Street (2min walk) I really recommend the Thai Pancake shop. I will never forget my time in Gipsy 2 and next time im going to Koh Lipe this is the place where I want to to stay for sure.

Pros:
quiet central location (only 5 min to both beaches)
Cool breeze under the trees
Huge comfy kingsize beds
Your own bathroom
Lovely friendly owners from Barcelona
Free beach towels and mats
Your own Hammock in the porch
Clean and safe

Cons:
WiFi only in the bar area and until around 9pm

Room Tip: Enjoy yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

At first we felt disappointed because it's not located at the first line in front of the sea, but some friends recommended the place and we gave it a try.
We ended up staying one more week than planned, the place is charming.
You have everything at 5 min reach, but the lodgings are quiet and you're sorrounded by the gourgeous garden.
Great times reading and chating on the porch. The room is simple but cosy, and the fantastic shower-under-the-stars a great surprise!
The lovely couple that rules the place make you feel like home, and they gave us helpfull advices douring our stay in the island.
I most certainly recommend the Gipsy 2 Rivendell to anybody who's looking for a comfortable and unforgetable Koh Lipe experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Gecko Lipe Resort
Gecko Lipe Resort
#6 of 57 in Ko Lipe
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salisa Resort
Salisa Resort
#12 of 57 in Ko Lipe
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wapi Resort
Wapi Resort
#1 of 30 in Ko Lipe
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ko Lipe
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gipsy Resort
Gipsy Resort
#5 of 57 in Ko Lipe
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ricci House Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy 2 Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy 2 Bungalows

Address: Walking Street, Pattaya Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is located near the Walking Street, You have a great offer of restaurants, bars, shops, massages centers at only 10 meters, but as we are in a little hill surrounded by trees and vegetation, is a quiet and relaxing spot in Lipe. Shadows and wind that arrives from Sunrise Beach will provide you a fresh stay and pleasant nights. What we offer? We want to offer you a pleasant and familiar place to make you feel as home, and help you enjoy Lipe as much as possible, its environment and its charming people.Why bamboo and wood? We choose this materials to stay true chao-lea, we are bamboo, we are wood, we are surrounded by trees and plants... We are nature. Welcome to our house and our dream. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing