We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
stoko42
Taunggyi, Myanmar

Lives up to its name

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 30, 2012
Arrived on the Beach to a smiling staff member of Harmony called Kiki who took us to the hotel in the complimentary taxi. Fresh OJ was offered while we signed in. The room was clean and airy with a balcony overlooking the small fruit market, and just a glimse of the sea on the sunrise side. The balcony was very useful for drying kit after a days snorkeling. The room had s nice bathroom with toiletries and hot shower. Satellite TV was available for chillin to if you fancy staying up late(this is great in low season as nothing stays open late). The staff are very helpful and freindly Kiki even loaned me her personal laptop so I could book a flight. There is wifi in the hotel as in most places now, it is not fast but adequate for checking email etc. The bakery serves decent coffee and a range of fresh baked goods. It aslo serves a limited range of meals such as breakfast and sandwiches made with your choice of bread.The location in the middle of the island is ideal for access to all three main beaches (10-15 min walk). It also has a minimart oppossite and a good range of restaurants only minutes away. We liked it here so much we stayed an extra week. I highly recommend a stay here if you dont mind walking to the beach once or twice a day.
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$42
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $50
  • Vio.com
    $40
  • Hotels.com
    $50
0.2 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$109
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Agoda.com
    $99
  • Priceline
    $122
0.3 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$84
  • Expedia.com
    $324
  • Vio.com
    $78
  • Hotels.com
    $324
0.3 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Pool
$76
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Vio.com
    $72
  • Priceline
    $97
0.2 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Pool
$152
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Priceline
    $143
0.3 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Pool
$54
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    $52
  • Agoda.com
    $53
  • Vio.com
    $52
0.6 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Pool
Beachfront
$184
  • Expedia.com
    $226
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $226
0.8 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$51
$34
  • Hotels.com
    $51
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $51
0.4 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Beachfront
Restaurant
$146
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $146
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Agoda.com
    $84
0.7 miles from Harmony Bed and Bakery
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Lipe
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
24
44
41
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
24
44
41
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking street fresh towels air conditioning comfortable bed place to stay tv wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 130 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Welcomed with some cold drinks was the best... especially during the hot day arriving at the hotel.

I think it can be upgraded to hotel as it is better than inn... the room is new and clean, but a little bit small.

Koh Lipe basically separated into a few sections, Sunrise beach, Pattaya Beach, Sunset Beach (small and need a long walk, luckily we rent a motorbike with some random villager), and walking street. Harmony is located at the end of the walking street, and 5 minutes walk to Sunrise beach. Even though it is only a few minutes walk, but at night it was really dark as there is only minimal street light.

Few minutes walk to restaurants, we recommend "Sara Sea", nice food there....

Only flaw is the lousy "tesco" safety box... and there is no book on top of the safety box...

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

this review has been "quite" late...we stayed at New Year 2012 but at that time this hotel wasn't in TA's list yet...

anyway, this hotel is relatively new, so it is still clean and almost everything is fresh off...

the rooms are basic, toilets are spacious, and toilettries are provided for. though if you're staying for a few days, you have to ask them to clean up the room for you. only draw back was there was no where to hang wet clothes, so folks end up hanging everything on the balcony.

the hotel is far from the beach and way up the Walking Street.

staff are friendly and helpful. the coffee and cakes are a must try.

overall, it's a great place to stay in Koh Lipe

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallen_angel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

If your stay in Lipe must be on the beach then you have to pay ridiculously high prices for a decent place or decent prices for a ridiculously crappy place. Then you have Harmony Bed and Bakery, clean place (almost brand new when we stayed there), reasonably priced, very good coffee and bakery, just 300 m from the beach. We stayed on a family room, two king beds, very comfortable and spacious (the toilet could be a bit bigger though). The staff was very attentive, they even helped us to rebook our trip when Bundhaya cancelled our return boat without notice. If you don't mind walking to the beach once or twice a day, this small budget hotel is very good price for money. If you are one of those that really need to see the sea from your room, good luck in Lipe.

Room tip: Family room has two king beds, it can accommodate two extra beds and you still have spare room to be comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

stayed here over christmas 2011, when it was absolutely impossible to get anything decent on koh lipe.
it was 2000 baht a night, and that seemed cheap when compared to other places, some of the scruffy sheds available on the island and for the time of year when compared to prices of other places too. considering that I paid 1000 baht for a night in a bungalow at a 'resort' (which i wont name and shame publicly) that was very close to this place which left me very disappointed, this was a huge step up. it opened me eyes as to how some places can charge pathetic prices for what they offer at certain times, and get away with it due to it being 'peak' season.
the room was spacious enough, had hot showers, bed was very comfortable and a short walk away from everywhere on the island. TV and aircon are an added bonus too.
service was very good and the kind reception kept informing us on availability of the room on a daily basis as we were unable to book ahead due to turning up and hoping they had room and cancelations. they were also very kind to find us another place to stay at (bundhaya resort) on our final night when they had no cancelations and we unable to put us up.
Excellent place and I will be staying here again when I revisit koh lipe.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymrovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

nice comfort and CLEAN budget hotel in Kohlipe with complimentary transfer service!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conniekcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews