We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely overpriced & unacceptably filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lipe Power Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 31 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, on Sunrise beach. But unfortunately that's the only thing it has going for it...
We switched rooms twice, so what I write below is not a fluke or "bad luck":
Stench from the bathrooms, rusted shower heads, low water pressure, rooms that are not really cleaned; dust everywhere, fingerprints on the mirrors from previous guests, windows looks like they have not been cleared this year. Bed sheets are brown, making it easier to avoid changing them - which I strongly suspect is exactly what they do.
Unpleasant and unhelpful staff.
We opted not to eat the free breakfast there based on the lack of cleanliness in the hotel in general, and instead paid for breakfast somewhere else - for our own health.
We watched them drain the pool directly into the ocean while we were there!
WiFi that actually works is not free, they charge 100THB per 70 minutes.
Free non-working wifi is available in the restaurant area for limited times. So slow its unusable.
Air conditioning is not available from 10:00am to 4:00pm daily to save power.

The hotel is worth about 500-800 THB per night, but they were charging 3,000 THB last week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msoens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I personally liked my stay in this resort, although it was just for a night. Lipe is still quite rustic, so this fits my expectations of a 'bungalow', just have to 'rough' it out a little.
Upon arriving on the island (on Pattaya beach) and immigration clearance, we paid 50THB each to have the tailboat transfer us to Sunrise Beach. Walking is possible but it will take about 20 mins or more, cutting across the island through the Walking Street.

Pros:
- The location is ideal, on Sunrise beach which is much quieter and has far lesser tailboats.
- The bungalows we had was basic but sufficient and clean.
- It even came with a safe.
- Hot/Cold water.
- A pretty good spread of breakfast (continental & local). The curry was really good.
- Very helpful and kind staffs
- Quiet at night, away from the hustle and bustle of Walking Street. But in the morning, dogs and roosters are up early.

Cons:
- The resort controls the A/C usage, it can only be use from the evening onwards throughout the night. We're out during the day so it wasn't an issue for us.
- Intermittent WiFi at the restaurant, but if you ask kindly, they will offer you another APN and password for a slightly better connection.
- A good 10 mins walk to Walking Street
- The small pool does not look inviting at all, maybe it was just part of the whole decor. Anyways, who needs the pool when you have such a beautiful stretch of sand/sea at your disposal.
- No beach chairs/parasols (easily solved, just bring your own beach towels/sarongs).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyinmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

koh lipe is a beautiful island. This accommodation was not what we expected. Expensive rooms, restaurant with bad service. No music or ambiance, no wine selection or exotic drinks, no beach chairs, dirty pool, no massage service. Would not stay there again. Wifi is pathetic at Power Beach Resort. No signs from pier to hotel and backyard road to hotel terrible. Much better options. Aircon was nice.

Room Tip: Swimming area in front of hotel is very good. Choose only beachfront rooms on other side of restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineloversSomwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Lipe was the last stop of our 6 weeks Thailand trip and we decided to put a little extra money to get an idyllic beach bungalow. With the wonderful website's pictures in mind, we expected much of this resort. But don't get fooled :

- Our beach front bungalow was also fisherman's boat parking lot front, and 3 meters away from big trash boxes, resulting in a disgusting rotten and oil smell. The manager offered us a garden bungalow, but would not refund the difference for the no-beach-front. Agoda, with whom we booked the room couldn't do anything either.
- The bungalow itself is Ok, but a bit dark and creepy. There's no double bed ; it's twins pulled asides. Our safety box was locked so couldn't use it. And as mentionned by others the air-con is turned off from 10 to 16.
- Wi-fi is only provided from 10 to 20 and only in the restaurant area. All those time restrictions are a bit ridiculous. Besides you'll find free wi-fi in almost every other resort and restaurant on the island.
- Included breakfast makes you wanna eat somewhere else.

All of this would have been ok for a budget accomodation but really, it isn't worth the price.

Don't go there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriistine-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

i went 3 tlmes to this place and evrytime wa looking tike day and night.

First time ok: nice staff, booing ok , price , good breakfast looking at the rising sun with good buddies and cool jazz music.

second time less ok: same breakfast new staff. my booking wasn't recorded. had to srtuggle with the staff. 5 min later i had my room

third time: worst experience ever: my friend booked for us and one more time no room available and new staff looking like some kind of funky punk. we had to make a huge scene and almost go tthe police to get our room. No manager to handle the situation. thanks to the young lady who was really helpful:)

no need to book in most of the cases as thay always have free rooms

Room Tip: any room is ok as we usually wake up early and enjoy the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlbahanba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed one night.

On the + side:
Very good location if you want to snorkel!
Clean room

On the minus side:
Extremely hard beds!
Very noise neighbors

The islands best side is its snorkeling and scuba diving. The negative is the dirty beaches and surroundings

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here with my 60-year-old mother just after New Year's (1-4 January 2013) and we had a good time. It's on Sunrise Beach (away from the hustle and bustle of Pattaya Beach) so a bit far from walking street if you always want to be there (about 20 min walk maybe). Not far for me, but a bit for my mom (uphill also at times). Staff were friendly when we arrived and did help carry our luggage to our cabin. We had one where you could see to the ocean although it was 3 rows back. No air-con 1000-1600, but it rained most of the time we were there so it was okay without air (there's a fan). There is a fridge in the room and you get two bottles of free water daily. I was able to get some wifi at times in the room (only free at the restaurant 1000-2000). Not sure why they don't just do free 24-hour wifi as I don't think it would cost them more. Beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable...my back hurts and I am used to sleeping elsewhere on the ground! Shower had very low pressure and each day the shower head came off so we used it like a garden hose (they couldn't fix it). They did clean the room daily and we thought breakfast was okay (buffet, but eggs made to order, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, rice, noodles, etc). Staff were friendly and assisted with transportation to the ferry the day we left; one staff also brought a mat/pad one day when I was napping on the porch (so it was softer). Each cabin had their own porch with two chairs and a bench. Overall had a good stay, but for the price should have been nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EarthNatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Wapi Resort
Wapi Resort
#1 of 31 in Ko Lipe
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salisa Resort
Salisa Resort
#11 of 57 in Ko Lipe
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Satun Dive Resort
Satun Dive Resort
#16 of 31 in Ko Lipe
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.1 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Ko Lipe
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipe Power Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipe Power Beach Resort

Address: 281 Moo 7 | Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe 911110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $59 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lipe Power Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lipe Power Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing