We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Box - Lipe Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff are friendly and helpful. The layout of the hotel is awesome, it's a very cool design. The rooms are spacious and clean. The place has a great vibe and the owner is really helpful. It's a short walk to the beach and close to a tonne of bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    32
    25
    14
See reviews for
10
77
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

great place to enjoy the paradaise of koh lipe,
i hat a great stay, handy, walking distance everywhere,
confortable and tidy rooms, very good internet conexion,
georgous food, very friendly staff,
great value for money
Jabi i will try my best to come and visit you again in febrary,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaramoniprats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jabisanz, Owner at The Box - Lipe Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Dear
Ohh!! thanks a lot we hope see you again on Feb
Take care
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Box owner's nearly spoiled our entire holiday. Not once, but twice! First they cancelled our booking the day before we were due to arrive - even after communicating with us repeatedly via email. This was fixed once I got on the phone with Javier the owner and said it was unacceptable! He gave some excuse about people booking through websites - not paying!

We arrive & they tell us room won't be available until 5pm. So we go back a little earlier thinking surely they must be finished cleaning now. I decide to go into the back where the room was supposed to be to see what state it was in ....it turns out the room was not even built yet! No light fixtures, bed, nothing! It wasn't even painted - there were work men in there. It was literally a box! I could not believe they had been so dishonest!

They would have left us homeless till 5pm before we found out there was no room to be had! This is perhaps the worst for me. The total disregard for our short 7 day holiday. So from being ready at 5pm, they now tell us it the room won't be ready for 3 days! They put us in another resort and just left us there, they didn't come back- nothing!

We had a great time at Blue Tribe ( we'd met the owner on the boat over and after being shown dumps by the box, asked to be put there) It saddens me to say this, as I was really looking forward my stay at the Box, but it's a joke!

If they don't realise you can't book and sell rooms that are not even finished yet, then they should not be in this business, and should stop wasting peoples time and holidays. The owners may live on a perfect island 6 months of the year, but their customers don't! This time is precious to us. Customers don't care about your excuses, they just want want they paid for, or for at least it to actually exist!

Very disappointed that they didn't care enough to make sure we did not have to endure all that stress. Not once, but TWICE. Go somewhere else...like Blue Tribe. Not internet, but at least the place is actually built, on the beach, and the staff care!

On second thoughts, I think I no why they tried to cancel us now....terrible!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelstaceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lipe hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here a little over a month ago and my friends are back here again! (see review "hidden gem" below) We just couldn't stay away! Just simply amazing :-) Only 4 stars for location because it wasnt by the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I were on Lipe for a little diving and exploring for the first time and were so excited to find a little bit of Spain on the island.

The food what is what brought us in to the Box as they have a leg of Pata Negra (Iberico Bellota Ham) which is hard to find in South Eat Asia, plus a range of Spanish dishes including, Chorizo, Sausage, cured Cheese, Serano ham and Spanish Omelette to mention a few. It was all of a very high standard and absolutely delicious at a very reasonable price for the quality of produce you are getting.

The bar is well stocked and there are many cocktails to choose from, our only suggestion would be a selection of imported beers be available.

The staff were great, very friendly and good to chat with.

We dined at the Box 3 of our six nights in Lanta and look forward to visiting again.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rens_Stimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tucked in the middle of walking street, it's easy to miss the place. Rooms are simple but serves it's purpose - a good bed, fresh towels and hot water! Javi is a funny and fantastic guy making your stay all the more memorable. We went during low season, so the bar wasn't fully operational, but we were fortunate enough to get a taste of Javi and Ann's hospitality and excellent cocktails as it was his bday! All in all, if you dont mind not staying by the beach, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhj_june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is a bit of an insider, ok, its not right on the beach, but granted there is never a spot on this small island from where it takes you more then 5 minutes to get to a beach, that shouldn't really be an issue. The rooms are very stylish and the bar is definitely the coolest in town, if you are the person that likes to have a sundowner after dinner or even a few.....this is the place to go. Its where the locals (with that I mean those how moved there more then a couple of years ago) hang out, and that should really tell you something. It was my place of choice for that when I was there. And no worries, the bar does not stop you from sleeping, its not a party place....which is exactly why its just the right mix of everything! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sascha_R_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.5 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 56 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Zanom Sunrise Resort
#22 of 56 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box - Lipe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box - Lipe Resort

Property: The Box - Lipe Resort
Address: 144 Moo 7, Koh Sarai | Muangsatun, Ko Lipe 91100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely built from recycled shipping containers, the eco-friendly THE BOX - Lipe Resort started four years ago and is now a well established resort a great Restaurant and meeting point on Koh Lipe. It is located in the middle of Walking Street. Pattaya Beach and Sunrise Beach are just 5 minutes walk away. The design of THE BOX is modern, minimalist style, cozy, bioclimatic and eco friendly. Inside the rooms are clean and minimalistic, double bed king size, A/C, hot shower room, mini bar, kettle machine for water and western toilet. The Box also boasts Lipe's only Tapas bar, serving up famous Spanish delicacies such as Tortilla, Paella, Croquetas, Jamon Iberico Pata Negra & great selection of cheeses. With 2 rooftop, nice view and quite place while enjoying something cold to drink as Cocktails or import wine collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Box - Lipe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing