We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
30
11
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
11
0
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 43 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at Kafair for a few nights in February 2012. There are three identical huts, each one being virtually brand new.
The huts are on 'stilts' which means less chance of being paid a visit by critters during the night. They are very tastefully (but sparsely) furnished with hardwood / laminate flooring, a comfy king size bed, big mosquito net, large patio doors on three sides and a modern bathroom with flushing toilet and an 'open air' (cold) shower. (The bathroom has a ceiling over the toilet and sink area but not over the shower - a nice touch).
There is also a large patio area at the front with a table and two chairs - the view from the patio is a little uninspiring however! Not unpleasant, just a little dull!
The owner (presumably) is a very pleasant and helpful man called An. He really was a nice chap!
It' s a very short walk to Sunset beach and also a little beach next door to it (called the Smiley beach or something) which is very quiet. We had the beach to ourselves for a couple of hours which was heaven!
Overall I would really recommend Kafair Huts. If you don't mind the fact that you're not directly on the beach it's perfect!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackyTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of January 2012.

The huts are about a 5 minute walk up from sunset beach in Lipe . The owners mother greeted us on arrival,showed us to our Hut and left us with some ice cold bottled water which considering the heat and the walk up from the bay with our luggage was just what we needed. The Huts are up on stilts and have full length windows on 3 sides so you can get a good flow of air through your hut. The huts have no AC which i was dreading in the Thai heat BUT the combination of being up on stilts, large open windows and the fan they were the best nights sleep of our holiday. The bed was comfy and covered in the biggest mozzie net you've seen which did keep the biting buggers at bay. Bathroom was clean and practical with cold water shower which sounds a pain but was welcome in the heat.
Breakfast was a fresh baked toasted roll with scrambled eggs butter and jam and coffee/tea ,which doesn't sound much but was definitely quality over quantity and clean plates were left every morning.

I enjoyed our stay Kafair Huts and would stay here again.

They are a little short on reviews on here at trip advisor but don't let that put you off ( I dont think they have been open that long).

The owners were always so friendly and helpful, the huts kept clean and tidy and they do a nice cafe latte at their cafe on sunset beach which has some great snorkelling straight off the beach.

Jungle Jacks hotel next door do some very nice Thai food and its only 5 mins away, otherwise its about a 15 minute walk to the main walking street for other places to eat,mini marts, bars etc.

Tip: bring a torch for walking about at night.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernowkritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

So it turned out we were the first people in the place. They used to have a bakery in 'Walking Street' but this has been moved to their new location, between Jacks Jungle Hut and Sunset beach. The very nice owners (a couple supported by their mother), have just completed three bungalows and they are very nice actually, and of course brand new.

So if you after a romantic place in the jungle, away from the long boats with their engines, this is a good place. The branches of some of the trees are reachable from the big and all opening windows. The interior of the bungalows is tastefully decorated, but kept lowkey. The ensuite bathrooms, have no hot water, but are very clean and functional, and toilet tissue, towels, linen and soap/shampoo is all provided. Bathrooms are open air (only partial ceiling!), but we liked that.

Breakfast is included at the 1800THB we paid a night and consists of toast, jams, eggs with orange juice and coffee, one of the best coffee (Americano) I had for a long time - got free refills! ;) And you can have it whenever you wake up...

Its not all mod cons and its a work in progress (incl the neighbors, who constructing new bungalows a stone throw away), but they are trying hard and constructive feeback is welcomed it seems. There is no AC and no mosquito nets on the windows, but a good fan and quality, large and well hung mosquito net keeps you safe in the night on your big and not too soft double bed.

This place can go a long way. Maybe a little overpriced at 1800THB, but it appears that this seems to be the case for most of Koh Lipe's accomodation, specially in the high season.

Now if they could provide a few more coat hangers, some shelving space in the bathroom, a fan outside for the balcony area, some additonal power sockets, wifi, a bit of fruit for the breakfast and find a way to shut up the dogs that roam the island at night (something that occurs throught Asia), it be perfect!

Room tip: its more than the 150m from the beach as advertised. make it 250m. So you cannot see the beach, but its actually less than 5min walk. Also make sure you call them on arrival. They will come and pick you up, unless you like the longboat trip around the island. Take their No, as the place is new and many people don't know of it yet.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timesnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2020
Google Translation

Room tip: un besoin d'avoir des produits anti moustiques
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews