We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and shiny but without soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #2 of 30 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big and shiny but without soul”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 8 nights in Mountain Resort over Christmas 2013. Having been to Koh Lipe before and also had lunch in the Restaurant a couple of times during that trip (2011/2012) we decided that on of the three weeks in Lipe this time would be at Mountain Resort. We are not too impressed over all. The resort is clean and looks nice and the bungalows are spacious and well kept, but the place has no soul. It's way too big for an island like Lipe and the staff feel indifferent. The hotel has access to one of the best parts of the Lipe beaches and the Restaurant has an overwhelming view, but that together with the nice rooms does not make the overall expectations being met. Mountain Resort feels like hotel industy. Far from the personal, friendly thai style hotels and bungalows you'd expect on Koh Lipe. And to be perfectly honest, the breakfast is sad, and very boring. We are a family of four, quite travel experienced and we would probably not recommend Mountain Resort to friends. So why recommend it to TripAdvisor friends..? And no, it is not cheap either. Positives - Location and room size, cleanliness and shuttle service, Negatives - The rest, almost...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    152
    83
    36
    22
See reviews for
92
200
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Main point-they have a very nice view of the andaman sea. And u can enjoy it from the breakout area/restaurant.

Quiet beach and not so crowded with people or even the long tail boats.

Get the new wing for nice room with aircond and cable TV. Wifi was ok.

Pricey indeed!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the location and spacious rooms. In my opinion it is not worth the price you pay for and here is why:
1) Service is really average - no proper management and staff cannot understand English so expect very minimal/basic service and facilities provided to you.
2) This resort lacks charm/character can seem "cold"
3) The breakfast is average and not at all satisfying
4) There is no proper deck/chilling spot on the beach for you to laze

But I must compliment their shuttle service. Very frequent and easy to go to walking street but god forbid if u ask them to go anywhere else on the island as they will say OK but not take u where u want to go…i think this is because of the language/service breakdown

Where I would recommend:
1) Serendipity - if you want high end. Super location and rooms. Service is good too
2) Wapi Resort - medium end. Great staff, service and food. Also best chilling spot on the island

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia, philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

It was my first trip to Koh Lipe and my wife organized the Mountain Resort where we stayed in a Beach Villa the first night and Mountain View villa the second & third nights. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. As this is a new property they are building new rooms and seem to be over looking some details that could make the experience better. This is a beach resort, so there will always be lots of clothes drying - having extra racks to dry clothes would be a huge help to snorkelers, divers, and beach goers.

The Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was always greeted with a smile.

I will definitely plan on going again and staying with them. I really liked the property and the land and sea around it was simply amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysondroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Unfortenately I can no longer recomend this place. Three years ago I would've but they completely ruined a place that was some what ok yet pricy. Today, unfortenately I must say it is only pricy. Bad service. Bad cleaning. No working wifi (go to harmony bakery or pooh or Castaway instead if wifi is important ro you) and thet managed to transform the place to a sterile concrete nightmare. Cars, stench, trash that noone takea care of (attracting bugs) etc. Worst of all is np sercvice, noone cares what you think - you already paid so they're good. Instead go to pitiusas or any of the other friendly resorts. Take care of koh lipes environment!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eco_emc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed there for 5d/4n. Booked through Booking.com and initially was having some challenges with the card charges for deposit which was later resolved. After reading some bad comments about the services, we were also concern but I wrote to them at mountainresort@hotmail.com. I must say that Mr. Tanakom did his level best and what I like most is that all my emails were promptly replied. As most people commented that their staff could not speak English and I have seen one other guest complaining that no one picked his calls, I suggest that you write an email to them and this person will reply.

We stayed in a Deluxe Garden and I must say that although there were other rooms in front of us(direct sea facing rooms), the room we had still had a magnificent view in a tropical jungle settings. The staff, considering their minimal English command tried very, very hard and even took us and saw other guest to choose their room before check in. Our room were cleaned everyday. You must hang out the clean my room signage as they practice strict policy of entering guest rooms. Bottled water and coffee/tea too up is left on the verandah table daily in which I believe, they only enter your room once to clean it. I must say that the housekeeping did an absolutely fantastic job cleaning as you can hardly see any molds on the bathroom walls. The room was just so clean. Trust me, I am a fussy person being an ex hotelier myself and a little OCD.

The only set back is on the verandah, there are lots of mosquitoes but this is acceptable as it's in a tropical jungle setting. So, take along mosquito repellent sprays for yourself and if you can get a cheap 2 pin plug electric mosquito repellant with mat for your room. It really helped with our good night rest. Sitting on the verandah is a must for nature and scenery lover. :)

The restaurant was opened but they still had renovation works carried out but it didn't bothered us much. Breakfast was not too bad as they had a buffet line of local dish and standard sausages, bacon and en egg counter. Lunch and dinner menu based on ala carte were really good. The food was tasty and if you ordered 3 kinds of dishes, it will cost you around 450 to 650 Baht. Depending on what you choose. A must try is the deep fried sea bass fish with cucumin which is actually turmeric, green curry, pad Thai( noodles) and Gai Pad Gapow( chicken with basil leaves ). Most of their dishes allows you to choose from either chicken, beef or pork. The restaurant staff are very nice and they try very hard to fulfill your demands even though they don't speak good English. One waitress actually took the trouble and went in to the kitchen just to get some turmeric to show me what the cucumin actually means. Lol...

Needless to say that the beach was absolutely gorgeous and snorkeling there was already sufficient for us. I'm a frequent snorkeller and have been to other islands in Thailand and I must say if you want to see more variety of fishes, go to the East Coast islands of Malaysia. Don't expect too much to see here but it's a good relaxing spot. And yes, now about the ever popular staircase. You must conquer the stairs to get to the beach and up back to your room. But if you choose the villas on the beach, you need to walk up to the restaurants and also to catch the pick up transfer to Walking Street which is available daily from 6pm to 9pm(from Walking Street to hotel). If you need to go to the Walking Street which is minutes away from Pattaya Beach any other time, you can walk or ask the resort staff to call you a motorbike 3 wheeled taxi. But beware, the road conditions are quite bad and our taxi actually almost toppled over in a big pot hole. I was injured a little with minor scratches. But the taxi guy was so sincere and even offered to take me to the hospital and refused to accept the taxi fare. But I still paid him as I know it was not his fault.

If you are looking to have a great view with cheap beers & good beach, this is the place to be. More suitable for fun and outgoing people. If you want a perfect developed beach for a holiday, go to Phuket instead but you'll miss the beautiful beaches of Koh Lipe. And oh, you must love dogs as they are everywhere :) we even had 2 dogs escorting us while we are basking under the sun. Their fees? Some sausages from the breakfast buffet. Hahaha....

Another personal view from me... Please give the staff there a chance to service you. They don't speak good English but you'll see they will try very hard. Most of them are really, really poor people just trying to earn a living. One staff that I've spoken to actually came from another place along Laos/ Thai border and he had to work here due to his family poverty.

Room Tip: They can let you choose your room, so try asking them to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleentff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked a family chalet, which very spacious, new and very clean. The chalet had actually two identical apartments, one on each floor. This was great for us as we are traveling with older children. The bathrooms are outside, so the rooms do not get damp. You should bring some coils to keep the mosquito's away, although they where only there during sunset. The chalets have nice big balconies and some have beautiful views. Although there was renovation work going on, it did not bother us as we spent time at the beach. We knew in advance that there would be renovation as it was mentioned on Agoda during booking. But a walk around the island showed that it will be very hard to find a place on Koh Lipe without construction work nearby.
The beach is lovely and probably one of the best on the island. Only early morning there are some longtail boats, but the rest of the day you have the beach for yourself. You can snorkel from the beach, both with low and high tide. The negative thing about Koh Lipe is, that there is quite some glass on the beach. You really have to be careful where you walk. We saw it not only at our beach but also on the other beaches. From Mountain resort it is only a short walk over the beach to the sunrise beach restaurant, which we used for lunch. Between 6 and 9pm there is a free shuttle to walking street. Although you could walk, it is very dark! The staff at the hotel was friendly but often not very service minded. It looked like they just started and were unaware of what tourists would like. Only a few spoke English.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are a lot of stairs/steps in this resort, so if you have problems with that take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvR2-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.9 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.3 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 56 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Resort Koh Lipe

Property: Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Address: 57 Moo 7, Sunrise Beach | Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Resort located on the end sunrise beach where is the best view point of sunset on this Island but, you can get the view of sunrise from here also. We are only one resort that has private beach, moreover in front of the resort still has the hard coral where you can snorkeling and enjoy with aquatic animal.Mountain Resort provide both of Fan and Air-condition bungalows. Our concept is "Clean and Private" but you can walking to walking street with in 10 Min, if you don't like to walk. We provide free buggy-car for transport. We are newbies in this hotel business and all of your comments and reviews always helpful to us. We will make the best holiday for every tourist. Thank you very much. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing