We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked in advance, wished we didn't.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanom Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Booked in advance, wished we didn't.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights which we booked online before travelling, we would have left sooner if we could! We got the most basic fan bungalow for 800-900b per night. First night whilst laying in bed a cockroach made its way through us, and there was lots of other bugs in the room for the duration. The rooms are really flimsy bamboo and get extremely hot, the bathroom was pretty awful with a hole made in the corner of the room used for drainage. We ate at the restaurant the first night as a large group (12) and there wasn't any rave reviews.

After the 4th night we moved next door to Castaway which was fantastic, although unfair to compare directly as it was double the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

resort is an euphanism for old shack

here is the deal, if i was charged 900 baht, it would have been 3 or 4 stars. but at 2000 b a night, it is simply not a good value.

for the positive, location is right on the beach, and the beach is beautiful.

for the negative:

the stand alone bungalows are cheap, old huts. paper thin bamboo walls, where you can here the conversations of your the local villagers. sunday morning was awoken by an electric rock band at the adjacent church. the bed was awful, rock hard. the bathroom sucked. tons of insects. no water pressure. no hot water on the last day. the AC did work though. 4 of the 5 light bulbs did not function in the bedroom.

the public bathroom next to the restaurant has an empty soap container for the two nights i was there. i guess the restaurant staff doesnt like to wash their hands.

and one last example. i ordered a late lunch. besides myself, there was only one other person in the restaurant. and 4 staff. my soda was brought 10 minutes after the food when i was nearly done. the coke was in eye's view, 15 feet away.

simply put, a rip off.

Room Tip: not near the church!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmgsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanomSunriseResort, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Zanom Sunrise Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your value comment which make us try to work hard for solve every problems of our resort and we also improve services by our best until now we've got The Hospitality Excellence Prize from Tripadvisor
(((Thank you)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a beach hut which was 2000 baht per night, which was probably out of our price range but we are happy we payed the extra - we had the beach just out the front with crystal blue waters and great snorkelling.

The restaurant was on the beach front and had a laid back feel - with good food and friendly service. The food was expensive but most of the restaurants on the island were about the same price (remote island).

If you want to relax by the beach and get in some good snorkelling without much effort this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

location is simply great and sunrise is the most expensive part of this paradise island. but given the basic bungalows and the very very basic 'bathroom' , zanom is definitely overpriced with its bungalows!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at zanom sunrise for 9 nights in January and had a brilliant time. The location couldn't be better, directly in front of beautiful crystal clear waters. We could see nemo fish whilst snorkelling around the coral just by the resort. Zanom is made up of a series of bungalows some actually on the beach. Ours was just behind the restaurant but still on sand and you still felt you were near the beach. We stayed in the family bungalow which had 2 double beds both with mosquito nets and 2 fans. The bungalow was all timber and rustic but was just right for us. There was a hammock and seating area too. The bathroom had a flushing wc and cold shower ( the bathroom was especially basic) but it was just fine for us and the children. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels too! The best thing by far about zanom was the staff. You could not fault the efforts and service of this friendly bunch. Mai, Bang and the gang were always on hand with a friendly smile to give you info or help with anything like booking a boat trip. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was great and many people staying on sunrise beach used zanom restaurant regardless if they were staying there. The Tom yam soup was to die for and my children couldn't get enough of the spring roll!! Try the thai green curry. The free sun loungers for guests and free wi fi was greatly used by us. We miss our lazy days at zanom just chilling and taking in the happy laid back atmosphere there. Having breakfast up stairs over looking the sea cant be beaten. The owner and his wife have done a great job with the place and my children loved playing with their baby son. All in all an amazing stay and a real Thai experience. Book in advance in high season to avoid disappointment.
We will definitely go back one day soon. Thank you zanom sunrise for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Zanom for 2 nights, staff were very nice and helpful. The place was reasonable priced. Foods were very nice and reasonable. We are coming back again.

Special thanks to Khun Mai that picked us up from the school and the other 2 staff that dropped us off at Pattaya beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

After two nights on the Pattaya beach this place was like a heaven. Sunrise beach is much better and Zanom resort is very good place to spend nights. Staff were helpfull and kind. We had family bungalow with 2 fans and cold shower. Bungalows were new and clean. Big terrace with hammock and view to sea. Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
0.5 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 55 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salisa Resort
Salisa Resort
#11 of 55 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanom Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanom Sunrise Resort

Property: Zanom Sunrise Resort
Address: Sunrise Bearch, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zanom Sunrise Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanom Sunrise is open all yearSanom Sunrise is a small family run place on a quiet part of Sunrise Beach. There is a pleasant restaurant, right on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Zanom Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing