We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service, food and location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, food and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Serendipity has the best spot on Koh Lipe. It's at the end of sunrise beach but tucked around the corner with its own little private area. Because of this, you don't have dozens of long boats cluttering your view of the water. The sand on their little patch of beach was also much softer than the on the rest of the beach I noticed.
Serendipity has their own long boat, so we were picked up from where the speed boat from Langkawi dropped us off....just needed to call them to let them know what time we were coming.
The rooms were up high on the hill so afforded fantastic views of the ocean. The sunrises were spectacular. You feel like you're on the set of Swiss family Robinson because they're surrounded by nature. Although the resort is small, because of the way the rooms are positioned, you get a lot of privacy. They provide all the usual necessities but I have to commend them on their hair conditioner. I know it sounds silly, but the thing I hate the most about staying at hotels is their conditioner...it never gets the tangles out. But serendipity had this luxurious conditioner that untangled my long saltwater knotted hair with no problem and without feeling greasy. Even my boyfriend noticed how nice it was, and he has short guy hair!
Anyhow, moving on...Carl, the manager, was very helpful and had no problems setting us up for a last minute tour to a nearby island with one of the locals. He was even kind enough to upgrade us to the big lebowski room on our last day...complimentary! You really feel taken care of by the entire staff. We came back with some fish we'd caught one day and the kitchen prepared them in several different ways for us to enjoy for dinner...again, at no charge!
The food was spectacular. I've had papaya salad before, but they had the best I've ever tasted. We ate at the restaurant several times during our stay and it has some of the best food on the island. Plus, the view from the dinning area can't be beat. Even breakfast was delicious (is included in the booking) and served on the patio of our room. The banana pancakes were just wonderful.
This is a place we would definitely recommend and repeat!

Room Tip: We had a non AC room. Was a little warm at night, so if you're very sensitive, may want to try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    91
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
81
256
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Serendipity Resort is located in a nice and private beach at sunrise beach and it has a certain exclusive feeling to it. Stayed at The Big lebowski for 4 nights and the room was great, huge and has a private swimming pool with a beautiful view. But when it's raining, there are many flies that flew in the room even though the sliding doors were closed. But apart from that the room is great, the service from the staff at the resort could have been better. They were quite helpful but I would expect just a little bit more from them, in terms of professionalism and sincererty. All in all, it's a good stay. Thanks serendity!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwinEricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed on Koh Lipe in 2008, we were a little unsure of what to expect as the island itself has had very mixed reviews over the past few years. It has definitely been developed a lot since we were last there but only as you would expect from a Thai island catering for the increasing volume of visitors wishing to find that island paradise, and paradise it still is.
Serendipity resort is an absolute gem on the island. It has so much charm and is tucked away with its own little beach that only guests really use. Each room is essentially a beautiful wooden treehouse, staggered at varying levels on the side of a hill. The hilltop rooms are a fair few steps (approx 140) with the sea view rooms around 90 to 100 steps up. This definitely kept us fit!
Breakfast is served on your balcony each morning which is a real treat!
All the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
We were moved to another room for 2 nights as the AC broke down, but a new part was ordered and promptly fitted within 48 hours, bearing in mind the electrician and parts have to come from the mainland.
Another nice touch to Serendipity is that all the extras I'm sure many resorts charge for (Snorkel gear, kayaks, beach mats, games) are all included.
Overall we had an amazing time staying here, and cannot wait to return when we can next afford it!
Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.
If anyone would like further information regarding Koh Lipe or Serendipity, please
feel free to ask.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Serendipity and would go back in an instant. We stayed in a hilltop ocean view with a/c. It felt as if we were staying in a tree house. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. The manager, Carl was always available to assist with any queries and give us information on the island. The meals we had were all very good, and excellent service. We enjoyed our breakfast on our private balcony, with our gorgeous view. Staying at Serendipity allowed us the privilige of peace and quiet but also very easy access to the main street of Koh Lipe and other beaches. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Hill top rooms are accessed by over 100 steps probably not ideal for families with small children or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was our second stay. We trmedoudly enjoyed teh first say in 2011. This time around our aircond broke down and was unattended to for over a day. It did not help that the male Caucasian who came to attend to the problems had such bad attitude and people skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the second we arrived, hot and tired after a very long journey from Bangkok, we felt at home. We were instantly provided with a cold towel and refreshing drink, by the ever smiling attentive staff. From that point onwards, our days comprised of a lovely fresh filling breakfast on our balcony, hours lying on the lovely beach below the hotel, or sheltering under a tree reading a book, snorkelling out to the island opposite the hotel, and eating at the fantastic restaurant - I particularly recommend the calamari, the brushetta, the snapper (3 flavour sauce) and the pork Serendipity Burger. Great smoothies too - ask for the lime and mint one.

The rooms and the whole layout of the place is rustic, rather than smart, which was what we were looking for. We felt completely comfortable walking around barefoot throughout our stay. The service however, is anything but casual - they are all incredibly attentive and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Carl, the manager, is always at had to answer questions and give advise on the island. Special mention to Khem, for trying to teach us Thai, and for giving us such a good insight into Thai culture.

The only negative - you will get some significant noise from longtail boats at certain times of day, but there is nothing that can be done about that, and you do get used to it. When the tide is too low for them to pass, the silence is wonderful. It may be that the bungalows further up the hill get less noise, but I can't vouch for that. It would be great if the island could come up with a solution.

The wonderful thing about this place is its solitude. It's hidden away beyond the end of Sunrise Beach, so most people wouldn't think to walk this way, unless they were looking for Serendipity. Each time we left the place, we felt a bit of culture shock. Koh Lipe isn't the busiest island in the world, but it was easy to forget that all that activity exists just a 10 minute walk from here. Despite this, we enjoyed eating at Castaway and we discovered the excellent fish BBQ at the Monkey Bar on Pattaya beach too late into the holiday. Would have liked to have gone back there.

If this resort was somewhere easier to get to, I expect it would have been out of our budget, so it was worth the long journey to get here.

All in all an amazing experience. Am sure we will be back. Thanks to Carl and ALL the staff. See you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a hill top ocean view a/c villa. The room was beautiful, very spacious and what made this hotel stand out was the attention to detail. For example, a small welcome pack was provided including a torch (the island doesn't have roads so is generally poorly lit!) and a phone for emergencies. The room was cleaned in the morning and turned down in the afternoon, with mosquito coils burning, which was a good touch, and in addition breakfast was delivered each morning (with a wide selection of choices) which meant we could make the most of the fantastic view.
The team responded to problems very promptly - our shower head was broken, but within a couple of hours of reporting this, a brand new shower head had been fitted.
The whole team seemed very 'switched on' and approachable. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Mali Sunrise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#6 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Property: Serendipity Beach Resort
Address: 140, Moo 9, Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serendipity Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity is set on a hillside rising up from a beautiful secluded beach. There are 11 spacious bungalows set amongst the trees and flora of the forest. Each bungalow has fantastic views of the ocean and surrounding islands. Our chef from New York has set the menu to provide a fusion of Thai and European dishes, which can be enjoyed in the restaurant which is placed on the rocks 10 meters above the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing