We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 days of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“8 days of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the second we arrived, hot and tired after a very long journey from Bangkok, we felt at home. We were instantly provided with a cold towel and refreshing drink, by the ever smiling attentive staff. From that point onwards, our days comprised of a lovely fresh filling breakfast on our balcony, hours lying on the lovely beach below the hotel, or sheltering under a tree reading a book, snorkelling out to the island opposite the hotel, and eating at the fantastic restaurant - I particularly recommend the calamari, the brushetta, the snapper (3 flavour sauce) and the pork Serendipity Burger. Great smoothies too - ask for the lime and mint one.

The rooms and the whole layout of the place is rustic, rather than smart, which was what we were looking for. We felt completely comfortable walking around barefoot throughout our stay. The service however, is anything but casual - they are all incredibly attentive and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Carl, the manager, is always at had to answer questions and give advise on the island. Special mention to Khem, for trying to teach us Thai, and for giving us such a good insight into Thai culture.

The only negative - you will get some significant noise from longtail boats at certain times of day, but there is nothing that can be done about that, and you do get used to it. When the tide is too low for them to pass, the silence is wonderful. It may be that the bungalows further up the hill get less noise, but I can't vouch for that. It would be great if the island could come up with a solution.

The wonderful thing about this place is its solitude. It's hidden away beyond the end of Sunrise Beach, so most people wouldn't think to walk this way, unless they were looking for Serendipity. Each time we left the place, we felt a bit of culture shock. Koh Lipe isn't the busiest island in the world, but it was easy to forget that all that activity exists just a 10 minute walk from here. Despite this, we enjoyed eating at Castaway and we discovered the excellent fish BBQ at the Monkey Bar on Pattaya beach too late into the holiday. Would have liked to have gone back there.

If this resort was somewhere easier to get to, I expect it would have been out of our budget, so it was worth the long journey to get here.

All in all an amazing experience. Am sure we will be back. Thanks to Carl and ALL the staff. See you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    91
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
255
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a hill top ocean view a/c villa. The room was beautiful, very spacious and what made this hotel stand out was the attention to detail. For example, a small welcome pack was provided including a torch (the island doesn't have roads so is generally poorly lit!) and a phone for emergencies. The room was cleaned in the morning and turned down in the afternoon, with mosquito coils burning, which was a good touch, and in addition breakfast was delivered each morning (with a wide selection of choices) which meant we could make the most of the fantastic view.
The team responded to problems very promptly - our shower head was broken, but within a couple of hours of reporting this, a brand new shower head had been fitted.
The whole team seemed very 'switched on' and approachable. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited the Serendipity in December 2012 for five nights.
This is the best hotel in Koh Lipe - very very clean bungalows (very comfy with lots of space), fantastic food. The staff is really very friendly and the Manager Carl is very helpful. Hotel is located on a rock and is having small but very nice beach.

We had the opportunity to stay in Big Lebovski for 2 nights and it was really amazing .
Thank you Carl for this lovely experience:)

The idea for breakfast on the terrace is great!!! you can really lazy start your day:)

We hope to be back!:) soon:)

Ewa and Sławek - Poland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked in here for 3 nights originally during a 3 week tour of some of the Islands of Thailand and ended up staying for 2 extra nights...and would happily have stayed longer if we could. That's how good it was!

After a 7 hour trip on the terrible Tigerlines ferry we were picked up by the Serendipity long tail for the short trip to the private beach outside the steps up to the restaurant/reception. We were greeted by Nu who gave us a drink and some much needed cool flannels to wipe off the dirt and sweat built up from the nightmare trip to the island...we soon forgot all about the days problems and were truly in relaxing Holiday mode! - Thanks Nu :-)

There are a lot of steps but given you will probably sitting on the beach most of the day it is a welcome bit of exercise. The rooms are rustic with big glass doors and walls with spectacular views. The rooms are not what you would expect from say a star or boutique hotel if that's what you are after. However we loved the quirkiness of the rooms and the feel. We stayed in one the AC rooms for the first 3 nights (can't remember the name but think it was room 11), really nice. We then stayed in the Big Lebowski...wow! It's really a family room/s but with a small pool and probably one of the best views on the Island we were very happy we booked it for the additional 2 nights on the island. A bit big for 2 but it was the only room available and it was heavily discounted. In all of the rooms you get a torch, mobile and even a waterproof bag supplied and for all you girls out there, there was even hair straighteners supplied in the room!

Breakfast every morning is brought to your balcony and just adds to how special the place is. That's after watching the sunrise from your bed through the giant glass windows in your room! You are at the end of the east coast beach so there is no passers by on the beach so why it is not technically a private beach it feels that way. The snorkling is pretty good here as well, but keep an eye out for long tails zipping through.

Each evening the mozzy nets are drawn down and the mozzy sticks lit in your room by the staff just before dusk. a great little touch.

The restaurant at Serendipity is excellent as well. We like to try as many places out to eat when we travel but kept coming back for more it was so good. Staff are all friendly and can't do enough to help. Carl was great at helping us arrange trips and transport back to Lanta (the speedboat, much quicker and not much more than Tigerlines!) - Thanks to you and the rest of the team!

Ko LIpe itself is far too over developed and it is very sad to see all the rubbish as we walked around the island, it sounds like they are trying to sort it out but there is a lot to do. However Serendipity is an oasis on the island. a short long tail to Ko Adang is cheap and gives you unspoilt surroundings and quiet beaches.

Walking street (where most of the shops, restaurants and bars are) is only a 10 minute walk and the whole island can be walked around in little more then an hour or so.

If you are looking for total relaxation and great service on Ko Lipe....look no further!

Cheers,

Carl and Jess

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the best hotel i have stayed in Thailand till now. Hotel is located on a rock & is having its own beach. view from our bungalow was just awsum. Food was fantastic. I wish we could have stayed there longer. Market is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. If you want to make your trip relaxed, you can surely go for this hote.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manisha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Encouraged by the positive reviews, we decided to stay at Serendipity during our stay on Koh Lipe and we were not disappointed in any way. Resort is very well maintained. It is situated in a secluded location on the rocks and has its own little the beach. Sunrise Beach is a 2 min walk, to Walking Street where the nightlife is concentrated maybe 10 minutes walk. Cool snorkling sites are generally 50 meters from the beach next to the resort. Restaurant serves delicious meals. The rooms are decorated with taste and are practically arranged. Breakfast on the terrace is a beautiful beginning of each day. For us it was a very, very nice time and we would be happy to return to Serendipity one day. The only small inconvenience is the need to climb from the beach to the bungalow (but it is also a free fitness each day) and some noise produced by longtail boat going back and forth throughout the day until the low tide in the afternoon when the water between Ko Lipe, a small island opposite the Serenipity drops. But it couldn't spoil our fantastic stay!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing then choose top bungalows for better view and less noise of longtail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal_C_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is an amazing place and the best choice on Koh Lipe.
The staff is really very friendly and the Manager Carl is very helpful.
The restaurant is the best choice as well on the island.
Once you arrived at the hotel, you do not want to go away.
Make sure you book for at least one week, so you do not regret not staying longer, like we did.
Thank you very much for the amazing time and great holiday.
We will come back for sure and we already have recommended the hotel to our friends.
Regards form Anthony & Mariana

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merian_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Mali Sunrise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#6 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Property: Serendipity Beach Resort
Address: 140, Moo 9, Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serendipity Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity is set on a hillside rising up from a beautiful secluded beach. There are 11 spacious bungalows set amongst the trees and flora of the forest. Each bungalow has fantastic views of the ocean and surrounding islands. Our chef from New York has set the menu to provide a fusion of Thai and European dishes, which can be enjoyed in the restaurant which is placed on the rocks 10 meters above the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing