We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise ”
Review of Aroy

Aroy
Ranked #15 of 94 Restaurants in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

I must say, I was not expecting to find Mexican food in Koh Lipe, much less good Mexican food! The tortillas tasted homemade, the guacamole was spicy, and the dishes contained a lot of well-prepared, flavorful meat. A spicy taco coupled with a cold mango shake really hit the spot. For context, although I currently live in Southeast Asia, I lived many years in California, and Californians are extremely picky about Mexican food and highly critical of the inauthentic.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Penangellen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Swedish couple so we eat tacos a lot. And this was very good, tasted almost like home and good spices. Not so hot but quite spicy. You have to be here early or late, or you have to wait for a table. Both enchiladas and the tacos is recommended. Maybe the plate is a bit small, just order some extra fajitas! The staff (she) is also so friendly and kind!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Read a number of strong reviews and decided to give this place a shot. If this sort of food makes you happy, that’s awesome. But if you have any experience w/reasonable quality Mexican, TexMex, CalMex, etc. you need to give this place a pass. You are only going to be disappointed by the poor quality ingredients and lackluster preparation.

And while the people working the joint were as nice as could be, they were incapable of turning out food in any sort of reasonable timeframe (like 60 minutes to get a plate of enchiladas). You’ve been here long enough that you don’t want Thai? This is not the answer. You haven’t had Mexican in a long time and have a craving? This is not the answer.

Even in a tourist-heavy environment, there are FAR better choices. AVOID.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

I’d put this on par with frozen Tex Mex. It’s a far cry from Mexican food. You can expect to wait over an hour to get your food. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly. We should have known better than to get Mexican in Thailand. I’m simply trying to prevent you from making the same mistake.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

During our short stay on Ko Lipe we absolutely enjoyed eating at Aroy's. The food was very good and priced well, the staff friendly and we liked the relaxed atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 440henrikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroy also viewed

 
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 

Been to Aroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing