We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Ranked #6 of 34 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

If your after a quiet, 'real' Thailand beach feel this is the place to go. The whole island is perfect but Sanom Beach especially is an oasis in the bustling tourist trap of Thailand.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed for 5 days and enjoyed it . Was so pleased not to be on Pattaya Beach which is too busy and so noisey at night. You get a bit of 'old Thailand' here. Well worth the effort if you don't mind the bugs. Go to Sunrise and Sunset beach for variety and avoid Pattaya. Also avoid the snorkelling tours as they are very disappointing if you after good coral.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Sanom Beach is one of the places i would recommend on Lipe which becomes more and more like a target for package tourists, families and the rest of the travel circus. Most of them settle on Pattaya Beach which is by now filled with drinking stalls, massage places and the longtal boats in front of the coast waiting for costumers are giving you the feeling you sleep next to a parking lot. Sanom instead is a bit secluded but still perfectly reachable by a ten minute walk. dont expect to much for the huts though, very simple huts with a bed, moskitonet, running cold water and electricity from 5pm to 9am. yes, there are animals (frogs, rats, sometimes snakes) but the staff takes care of it when you alarm them. some of the (bungalow 1-4) have great seaview and stand directly over the stones of the beach, perfect for a hammock on the veranda. the bar at the place is ok for what you need during the day, for a propper breakfast though a little walk to Lipe Cafe or so might be better. From Sanom (as from all places on Lipe) you can always catch a longtail to other parts of the island or snorkeling trips and so on. the staff runs a bbq twice a week which is much nicer than the other bbqs at the larger beaches.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinmaetzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed on Koh Lipe for 8 days in beginning of November. Initially booked other bungalows located on Pattaya Beach, but had to leave them after first 2 nights as we could not sleep because of rats. It was biggest surprise for us as rats are really serious problem for Koh Lipe and most of bungalow resorts have problems with them. So after 2 nights we had to change our place and went for a short walk around the island to review other bungalows. Sanom Beach was absolutely amazing. This place with its perfect location, small and peacefull beach and friendly and warm owners was our choice and we could not make better decision.

Bungalow was very simple, but clean and cosy. Terrace with its view definitely made our stay. We had Bungalow #3, it is the one located closest to main building just few meters from water and sandy beach. We enjoyed it very much and had great time during our stay at Sanom Beach Resort. Lack of hot water, electricity during day hours and wifi was not a problem for us as we were not looking for 5* resort on Koh Lipe, but experiences and Samon Beach with its location and surroundings is very unique and highly recommended travel experience on this island.

Room Tip: It is possible to order boat to pickup you directly from Sanom Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpoland78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Sanom beach is a short walk from Pataya beach, it's small, pretty with some nice trees for shade at the back of the beach. You reach it either by boat or there's a woden walkway around the rocks at the end of Pataya beach (you walk under Pataya Song Bungalows)
The setting for the bungalows is pretty idyllic and you are spared most of the noise of longtails that can blight some parts of Pataya... also the music from late night parties at the bars on Pataya beach seems to not quite reach here.
The bungalows are basic, but if you just need a bed, a deck and a bathroom then are fine for a stay on a tropical beach, they are expensive for what's on offer, but then most of Lipe is and the setting makes up for the huts. The owners are really nice, very helpful as are all the staff. Food here is fine, mostly traveller staples, although they do do fish BBQs if enough people are interested.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great quiet location just a couple minutes away from Pattaya Beach, but the bungalows are just too basic for the price we paid (just a bed and a mosquio net for 1000 Baht) although the bungalow was right on front of the beach. The restaurant wasn't open yet both nights we were there so no idea about the food. The staff is friendly and welcoming, we were advised beforehand that there was no hot water in the open bathroom and no electricity during the day. Laid back atmosphere which certainly would suit some. Dont bother staying there if you cant stand bugs.

Room Tip: Bungalow 4 is too close to the reception/restaurant area so it may get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryPandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

stayed at sanom beach for a week, wonderfully relaxed place. Our bungalow was almost at the waters edge, and the views from our deck where fantastic. the food was great, and very reasonably priced. the staff and owners where very welcoming, and the fish barbie they do is out of this world. All in all a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
1 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
1 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.8 mi away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
0.9 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanom Beach Lipe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanom Beach Lipe Resort

Address: 216 Moo 7, Sanom Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand (Formerly Sanom Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $32 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanom Beach Lipe Resort's location is probably one of the most privileged across all South Thailand. A isolated beach with turquoise water, thin white sand as talcum powder and a great colorful reef right on your balcony. A window with the perfect view. Located far away enough from the crowded main beach Pattaya but close enough too in case you're looking to have some fun. Sanom Beach Lipe Resort has 10 genuine Bungalows spread all around the beach and the small bay overlooking the main Pattaya Beach. NEW SANOM BEACH SOULDIVERS SCUBA DIVE CENTER. Sanom Beach Souldivers PADI Scuba Dive Center born as of a collaboration between Sanom Beach Lipe Resort on Koh Lipe ,Thailand and the renowned Souldivers 5 Star PADI Instructor Development Center of Rotterdam ,The Netherlands ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanom Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing