We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sita Beach Resort & Spa
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived at Sita Beach Resort late morning and was advised that check in time is only from 2pm and had to wait, as our room was not yet ready. We had lunch at the hotel's restaurant - which was great - and settled on the sun loungers on the beach. April is really hot, and after an hour, the heat was too much for us and we went to the shaded lobby area to ask if the rooms aren't perhaps ready yet (13H30 at this time). It was still not ready, so we pulled out the ipad to check our mail -since there was free wifi in the lobby area. Wifi was really really slow and could not download our mail. We sat and waited and at 14H45 eventually asked again if the room is still not ready - as it's now 45 minutes past check in time. Very surprised ... the reception advised, "yeah - it's been ready for a while now " ... but no-one thought to notify us.

Our room was way at the back of the property and we were driven there by golf buggy. From there many steps to our room on the top floor. The rooms at the back share their own pool, which we could view from the bedroom, but it's water was cloudy and green. No-one used it and rather walked all the way back to where the other pool was located.

I was a bit disappointed in the room finishes, as for a 4* hotel one would expect simple things like paint work and cementing, door frames and fitted glass to be of a certain standard. I just felt that furnishes were very "cheap" and not appropriate for the 4* rates we were paying.

Our bathroom (toilet) had a terrible sewerage smell, which disappeared by day 2. The room was dusty and not cleaned thoroughly - seemed like it was cleaned and then stood closed for a long period.

The bedding was crisp and clean and the air-conditioner worked well.

Everyone on the island lit up with us mentioning Sita Resort, and said it was the best on the island. It could be, but there should be a bit more fine-tuning to justify the room charges I would say.

The breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and I was impressed with the child-minding services that were offered.

Location was on the quieter end of Pattaya Beach.

We will be returning to Koh Lipe in March 2014 - as we loved the island, but will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property is far and difficult to walk to. A buggy service is offered from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was a wonderful trip :) the island itself is so beautiful , really enjoy our stay in such a nice hotel , good service espicially receptions , They're so helpful and very kind , We had so much fun during our stay at Sita Beach Resort & Spa , Me and my friends are plaing to go back there AGAIN on November and AGAIN on February , We'll see you soon !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBlackStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stay in May 2013 for 3 days 2 nights. Seriously, I don't want to leave this beautiful island.

Although it was a mess during check in due to some problem with the communication. What happen was we reached to Pak Bara Pier, the staff there welcomed us very well with a cold drink & cold towel. She said after we are in the speedboat, sometime we will stop on the platform then a long tail boat will pick us up then a golf cart will send us to the resort. Sometime the speedboat will go to the resort directly. What a joke! We did labelled with the Sita Beach sticker.

Once we reached to the platform, we were like blur. Completely have no idea where to go as nobody notice we are there. Then the "public" water taxi asked us to go into their boat and we did asked them, we are going to Sita beach and showed them our sticker. Still asked us to go with THB 100 for 2. Once we have reach to the beach, we disembark then we see nobody is there for us. From Tarutao Cabana we walk to Sita beach. It was a long walk. Anyway, at least we explored the walking street.

The front office girl is the best so far I have ever met because she keep on apologize and they are looking for us. Never mind, no big deal on this. Suddenly I found that our passport was lost. They gave us the best support to help us while I trace back where we were from. They took my wife to the immigration to register while I back to room, it was in my luggage bag. Pity all of them running around to help me look for it. She said nothing to worry about as whoever found a passport they will send it to the immigration. The island is not that huge.

Dinner was served with a 3 course meal. One of the item must be spicy. But taste good! To certain extent it was too hot to handle, we still go for it. Then one of the staff took our order of lunch for the snokerling trip on the next day.

The walking street was good with lots of hawkers food. There is a shop selling cheap bikinis, right after the lady pancake 2 at your right (if you are facing the walking street). The shop is a concrete shop with lots of souvenirs. Everything is negotiable.

Snokerling (in side zone) was nice. Sita beach resort gave us a very nice lunch in a steel box, also some mineral water. It was a 3 tiers lunch box with fruits, rice, chicken / seafood. The portion was so big until we can't finish both. The most memorable island was Koh Hin-Ngam. The sad thing is that it was raining so we have some difficulty to have our lunch at another island.

The swimming pool 2 is green in color, which I have no idea why it was not maintaned well. The main pool was great. It's pretty long to swim. One of the best thing of this resort is that if you are lazy to walk around, you may ask the golf cart to send you back to your room (located on the hill side).

There is a pc for you at the front office. The wifi is not working well, rather slow & weak. Breakfast is normal. I like the potatoes and the dim sum item.

Several things need to improve:
1. Maintenance on the swimming pool 2
2. Maintenance on the jacuzzi in the honeymoon suite, there was some cracks at the wood piece.
3. Mount the hair dryer at the washing basin instead of the small table near the bed. Or mount the hair dryer station on the table so that it won't be moving around when we are using it.
4. The door knob looks like going to break soon.

Room Tip: Some of rooms located at the hillside. It was very hot. Can't even wear a T-shirt walking aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful island and Beautiful hotel, but a 10% s/c on everything signed for and 3% for card payments is steep and takes the option to tip for good service away from u and the staff are aware of this so dont go that extra mile for the tip, Food was good not the best on the island just good, but over all a nice stay, get rid of the service charge, tips would motivate the staff a little and it would be perfect!! 4 star max

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyNek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights at the sita. We had originally planned for one but didn't realise it was low season and therefore our trip to phi phi had to be cancelled. We didn't mind though because the beach and sea here is idyllic!! I've never seen a beach do beautiful.
The second night we were upgraded to a room with private pool, which was very luxurious!
All the staff are friendly, and it's excellent that they pick you up and drop you off from the boat.
The pool is very nice. Breakfast is okay, would have liked more fruit selection.
Te one thing I didn't like, and it's not the hotel, it's the island in general, is the fact that there are a lot of stray dogs around.
Maybe next time we come it would be nice to see a gym! Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessiezee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at Sita on koh lipe in April. At first I was pleased. Then as I checked out they padded the bill with a 3 per cent added charge for using a credit card. This was after the expect 10 + 7 per cent service charge and VAT. The Additional CC charge was not quoted in the original booking. So I was not pleased, and the staff did nothing to fix it, they only said, it should have been in the email confirmation, which it was not and that there's was not way to get cash on the island. 3 % is not too much, but they did not honor there commitment...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The best aspect of our stay at this resort was its location (stunning scenery and snorkelling or diving opportunities) and the service from the staff servicing the restaurants and the rooms. Look for Sukin who is the most professional, helpful and welcoming member of staff at this resort. To Sukin nothing is too much trouble. Sukin is experienced and understands the importance supporting the customer. The least rewarding aspect of our stay was at reception where we did not feel very welcome. The standard of accommodation is good made better by the staff who service the rooms. This resort although expensive is one of the better to choose from if you are planning to stay at Koh Lipe and require a level of service and air conditioned comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bundhaya Villas
Bundhaya Villas
#4 of 60 in Ko Lipe
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.8 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sita Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sita Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Moo 7, Pattaya Beach | Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sita Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sita Beach Resort have 61 rooms with a stylish and classical Thai design style resort. All rooms are equipped with excellent facilities. Include tropical garden bathrooms. There are 7 types of villas and all rooms include self-controlled air condition, hot/cold water, LCD TV, cable news, movies channels, safety box, minibar, hair dryer and electric kettle with complimentary coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sita Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sita Beach Resort And Spa
Sita Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing