We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

At first, I was a bit disappointed because the area around the resort was poorly maintained. But that changed when I saw the rooms and the beach. Our bungalow was huge, the interior new and nicely decorated. You'll only get cold showers, but that's not uncommon on the island. The bathroom itself is excellent, too.
The best part is the pristine beach in front of the restaurant/reception with crystal clear water. You can rent a snorkelling gear and just enjoy the reef. Simply stunning. We extended twice. During low season the bungalows were only 800 Baht, which I think was great value. The staff was helpful and took good care of us. If they imrpoved the area around the bungalows I would give the resort 6 stars (for the price)! Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 776 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Castaway. I went with a friend and we stayed 5 nights and enjoyed it more everyday. The bungalows are charming but basic with an odd bathroom set up, but we made it work and would go back. We had an ocean view and sat on the balcony many times to enjoy this. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with several resort dogs hanging out. The food is very good but the portions are small. My friend went diving and said the price was reasonable and the instructor very good. I am considering doing my scuba certification there next year.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow with an ocean view without being in the first row of bungalows and I think this wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Long months of work in Chiang Mai I was longing for seawater swimming during sunset and sunrise as it can help on bringing balance and harmony to our body. We arrived the Island Lipeh in late morning with huge hunger. Checked in. Put all stuffs in the hut. Great hut! Really great quiet clean natural wood bungalow that roof covered with grass thatch it radiated warm cozy slow pace atmosphere. We lunched there at the Castaway restaurant and the food they all tasted great whether Som Tam, Red Curry, Thai omlette, Laab Isan, Pad Thai etc. Surprisingly, not expected I accidentally discover the great coral reef in front of the Sunrise beach. Full of endless forms and colors of marine lives! The best time to see them was around 4-5 pm. It gave you the most intense color. There is a local fisherman village of Mogen ethnic next to the resort. They are very nice and friendly folks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuDeeudom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our bungalow was right on the beach (paid a bit extra for that and it was worth it) and we could walk out the door onto the sand, into the water. The room was on the second floor (1st floor for you brits) with entry and shower on the ground floor. There was no air conditioning or hot water, but we didn't need it. The staff was excellent and the restaurant had very good food at reasonable prices. We ate there a lot, were able to just sign for it with our room number and were surprised at how low our final bill was. I found it very convenient not to have to carry cash or cards around, just walk in off the beach and get a cocktail, heaven!
We were there during the off season so much of the town was closed for renovations or vacation, but the places that were open had a friendly, carefree way about them, like most of the Thai people. The snorkeling was also fantastic, you can rent the equipment right there as well as take scuba lessons if you want. They were running a special, if you signed up for the scuba course your room was free, check into that if you are going to take the lessons.

Room Tip: The bungalows on the north/newer section are a bit larger than the ones right next to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

With friendly and forthcoming staff, a great location and wonderful room set up, the misery of getting to Koh Lipe was soon forgotten. Everything was nicely executed. Mr Bob, Mrs. Bob and Bob Junior enjoyed the two-story two-person fan room very much, and took for granted the cold showers (as advertised...). An extra bed and mosquito net was provided at no extra charge.

Wonderful to wake up with the sunrise onto the balcony, looking out over the Andaman Sea.

The staff arranged a longtail boat for a snorkeling trip and provided lunch packs for the Bobs, which made our day away from Castaway as enjoyable as on the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralphtakesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The service here is the best, the staff really make an effort to be friendly and genuine. This is something that is gradually disappearing from the hotel industry in Thailand. The staff here are well trained and make sure your stay is comfortable.

The rooms are well appointed. They don't have air con, but it's not needed. They're right on the beach and you can fall asleep to the sound of the sea. The shower pressure could be improved but this is a small luxury you can forego when staying in such beautiful surroundings.

It's pure chill and relaxation here, definitely a place for couples for a nice tropical romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Chose a Beach Front Breezy, they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjhigginsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice resort directly at the beach front. Really outstanding and good was only the diving centre under the lead of Tos..
The Service from Bee was outstanding and the rest just OK.. Location is super, but also suffering from the typical dirt on the beaches around the hotel (glass, plastic...) The hotel area beach is clean. The houses are OK but nothing special. Cleanliness and maintenance is just OK. The 4 Stars are a bit to high..
Travelling there is just for diving and relax.. Not much more to do.
The prices in the hotel Bar are to high and cocktails meet european level with above 5 Euro per Drink..
Finally the holiday was nice but some improvement needs to be taken care of...

Room Tip: Not in the back.. There is construction and private living with a lot of noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andaman Resort
Andaman Resort
#17 of 18 in Ko Lipe
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Address: 278 Moo 2 | Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range: $36 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Castaway Resort the spirit of ‘The Beach’ is brought to life. Amid the beautiful setting nature has given Koh Lipe, our spacious wooden bungalows and large chill out deck overlooking the beach definitely make Castaway the most atmospheric of Koh Lipe’s resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing