We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had an awesome 9 days at castaway, the outlook was bliss, the staff were absolutely amazing, we went fishing one night with some of the staff and caught tuna, and cooked it for us,what a great experience. The food was the best on the island and price comparative to everywhere else, the piña coladas at happy hour went down very well indeed.. Castaway is in the best spot with great snorkelling straight off the beach, we didn't dive, but talking to other guests who were doing courses,apparently that is a great experience at castaway too...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    243
    92
    40
    17
See reviews for
116
368
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

stayed at castway mid-season, April. Great place. One or two people mention there being no air-con. If u dont like the heat, maybe don't come to a place so near the equator!
Castaway is great. Lovely staff, clean, chilled atmosphere. Ethical concept. Very few mosquitoes. Food was good. would definitely go back.

Room Tip: for me, one or two rows back from the beach are best cause if you have a bungalow right on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KankaThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at Castaway twice now, both times during low season and I can't recommend it highly enough. The service was personal and attentive, the bungalows are unique and were kept spotless and as we were there during a quiet period we received a substantial discount which was great.

The food we had was excellent and the atmosphere could not be more relaxing, welcoming or enjoyable. Koh Lipe is my favourite of the Andaman islands and Castaway is my favourite place to stay when I'm there. Taking a day to relax on their ocean side terrace, reading a book, staring up at the perfect blue sky through the wooden slats in the roof of the terrace and drinking a cocktail or two is a wonderful way to pass the time, especially if your back's a little weary from travelling.

I'll add that if you're living in Thailand, particularly away from the tourist hotspots further North (Khao San rd, Koh Samui, Chiang Mai) then Castaway's library is a welcome find. It's also very eco-friendly, which is something I look for on my travels with limited success. Considering how ruined Thailand's becoming, it's a welcome change.

We never took advantage of the scuba diving facilities, but we did rent both a kayak and snorkels and found them decent value for money.

I absolutely can't wait to return and am sorry that it might be a little while before I get to do so. I love Castaway, unreservedly.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the beach as possible! Go during low season (April-September) and not only wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipflopbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Castaways for 3 nights as part of an (excellent) custom-designed tour of the region booked with Andaman Adventures. Overall we thought Castaways was very good, if a bit pricey. The bungalows are very attractive and natural-looking, they blend right in to the prime beachfront location and make this place feel like a Robinson Crusoe type experience, but without roughing it. The double storey bungalow we booked was very attractive, clean and comfortable. The bedroom (upstairs) had a great sea view, a comfortable terrace and a big comfy bed with mossie net. Beautifully designed and no bugs, we give this place top marks.
The wifi was free and we got a good signal in our bungalow. The food is good if pricey compared to neighbouring places.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank judithboerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a part of our Andaman Sky Holiday (which BTW was brill, more on them in one of my other reviews), we stayed at the Castaway on Koh Lipe, a very secluded island. Castaway is a resort located right on the beach. The beachfront bungalows here are absolutely charming and beautiful. Do not expect 5 star amenities here. All the bungalows at this resort are made of wood. So you can see where the charm factor comes in. This resort is clean and the staff are very eager to go out of their way to help you. Not much could be said about their food, as we went out to eat most of the time. There are places to drink nearby on Pattaya Beach, but if you feel like having a quiet drink on the porch of your bungalow while listening to the sea, Castaway is the place for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mil034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I immediately felt in love with the Castaway Resort.

Was in another hotel nearby and changed my plan to come here. Bungalows are just perfect with the bathroom on the first floor and the bed on the second floor. It's eco-friendly which is great, even if it means no hot water and air-con. :)

There's a hammock by every porch. The restaurant serves awesome food and drinks. There are some cosy kind of huts by the beach with comfy thai cushions. I booked a semi-private snorkeling trip with the resort and took a yoga class. All the staff was super nice.

I've been two months in Thailand and this place is definitely my favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriistine-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Koh-Lipe and we were happy to discover that Sunrise beach is the best one. Quiet at night in contrary to Pattayah beach. We had a beachfront house which offered the best view in the world right from our bed. All houses have a nice terrace at ground level with a large bathroom with shower. Bedrooms is at the first floor. All bungalows are at a certain distance of each other which gives the feeling of privacy. The only negative point is that there is no aircon which for the price paid should be there. During our stay is was very warm at night which made it difficult to sleep. The restaurant is mainly open air and offers good food but small portions. Local staff was very friendly and helpful. They remembered exactly what we wanted to have for breakfast so we did not have to explain that every time during the 9 nights we spent there. "Western"staff could give a bit more attention to the guests. The resort has its own PADI dive operation and some good divesites in the immediate vicinity. Houses and beach are clean. Every morning the beach is cleaned. Koh Lipe is a nice island but seems to have difficulty to cope with the increasing number of tourists. The so called walking street has many small restaurants and shops but looks messy. Garbage collection seems to be a problem. Although tourists are asked to keep the island clean, locals do not seem to realize that dumping garbage at the back and around shops and houses is not what tourists are looking for.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are the best. The view from your bed cannot be matched. Watching sunrise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.7 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.2 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Ko Lipe
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Z-Touch Lipe Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Property: Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Address: 278 Moo 2 | Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lipe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Castaway Resort the spirit of ‘The Beach’ is brought to life. Amid the beautiful setting nature has given Koh Lipe, our spacious wooden bungalows and large chill out deck overlooking the beach definitely make Castaway the most atmospheric of Koh Lipe’s resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing