We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting dated but staff great”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Sea View Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kuala Belait
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getting dated but staff great”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is getting a bit old. Great staff. Pool nice. Breakfast great as you get a voucher for coffee bean. Mind out for the sand flies on the beach. Room is comfortable and ac is good. Overall a good place to stay

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Checked into the hotel after a lengthy long haul flight from London, reception was big and airy and air conditioned, which was nice as it was 32 degrees outside and the humidity was through the roof!! The check in process was painless and the staff very friendly. Your bags were taken to your room by the bell boy.
Big disappointment with my first room, I'm a non-smoker and the policy for the hotel is no smoking inside the building, however smokers had opened the window to smoke and used the small balcony as a dumping ground for the ends, the pile was quite substantial and the air con in the room was dragging the smell in from outside. A quick visit to reception got me a different room and also one with a sea view. Very nice, basic but nice, comfortable bed, bathrooms are a bit dated but functional, there are the usual extras in the rooms including a fridge, a TV, internet (although this was very patchy and didnt work for 2 days), kettle and hair dryer.
Breakfast is included in the cost of the room, but as luck would have it the restaurant and kitchen were closed for total refurbishment, you can get a breakfast but it's very basic, the same went for evening meals, which due to the work being carried were limited on what was available but were cheap but very tasty.
We decided to try a few local eating houses whilst in Brunei and couldn’t get over how cheap it was to eat out, a meal at a Chinese Restaurant in nearby Seria cost a mere £4 and at another place we tried a plate of Seafood Singapore noodles, 2 cups of cappuccino and a slice of blueberry cheesecake, came in at a very hefty £6, unbelievably cheap!!
As a Muslim country you cannot obtain alcohol, so if you want to drink you have to bring it with you, although I heard a rumour that some hotels in the capital are selling wine with food although I cannot substantiate that claim. Also even though it is primarily a Muslim country there is no single faith, people are expected to respect individual faiths whatever they may be.
As the trip was work related I'm not permitted to divulge in what I do, but I can say that this was the first time ever in the country and it was quite an experience, one worth repeating.
The heat took a bit of getting used to but after a few days it felt comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoDTeamLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have checked in to a 2br apartment here for a month and really enjoying listening to the waves crash on the shore everyday, I sleep so well at night because of this.
The hotel itself lacks maintenance but I see they are upgrading rooms, so once that's done it will be great. There is a small swimming pool and a gym, but the gear is very old.
They are constructing two new restaurants ( coffee bean and a grill ) but there is a good Chinese style resto next door. There are two supermarkets in the complex and ATM's.
The staff are very nice and friendly and room is cleaned daily.
The internet connection is very good, what I need for business.
I suggest having a car if staying here, as the best restaurants are a 5 min drive away in town.

Room Tip: Beach front apartment is the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Seaview is as good as any hotel in Kuala Belait, Brunei. Hotels in KB are quite basic but are generally in good order. The Seaview has excellent internet connection. In the same building are AVIS Car Rental and a supermarket.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank geologist74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Belait
1.5 mi away
Garden Sentral Hotel
Garden Sentral Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kuala Belait
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Keoja Hotel
Keoja Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kuala Belait
11 reviews
8.0 mi away
Roomz Hotel
Roomz Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seria
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sentosa
Hotel Sentosa
#2 of 8 in Kuala Belait
30 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Sutera Biru
Plaza Sutera Biru
#3 of 8 in Kuala Belait
12 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Apartment
Swiss Hotel Apartment
#5 of 8 in Kuala Belait
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Property: Sea View Hotel
Address: Lot 3678, 2.6 Km, Jalan Maulana, Kuala Belait 1131, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Belait District > Kuala Belait
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kuala Belait
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing