We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifteenth Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fifteenth Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Dufferin Coaching Inn was the perfect place for our wedding anniversary. Hospitable and comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere and situated in the beautiful village of Killyleagh. The breakfast was outstanding. Thanks Leontine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryT846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Gerry.
I really do appreciate you taking the time to post such a lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching inn for your fifteenth wedding anniversary. Do come back and celebrate another anniversary with us. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
40
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Dufferin Coaching Inn was the ideal setting for the marriage of my friends Liam and Clare, from the moment we arrived and were met by Leontine we knew that this would be special. Leontine took great care of us and handled the sudden influx of guests with ease and led us to our room that perfect for our needs. The banquet hall was big enough to hold the 90 or so guests and yet small enough to be intimate and personal. It's this personal touch that is done so well, I spent a good amount of time chatting to both Leontine and her daughter and she really makes you feel welcome and part of the family. The wedding was amazing, and we had such a good time that we'll be looking for an excuse to come back in the very near future!

Room Tip: All the rooms were reported to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Many thanks for such a wonderful and comprehensive review. All the team and the Dufferin Coaching Inn thoroughly enjoyed hosting such a great wedding on Saturday 21st April.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the Dufferin Coaching Inn in the very near future
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I travel across the UK on business and normallyuse a large (sometines faceless) hotel chain, but in this rural area of Northern Ireland it was not a practical proposition. Having scanned the accommodation options, I booked Dufferin and crossed my fingers.

From the start, Leontine - very much the professional host, was helpful and empathic and due to the very morning flight times,arranged for an early check in. The bedroom was airy and fresh - complete with a four poster bed laid out with more pillows and bolsters than you could shake a shillelagh at. A whirlpool bath in the very tastefully decorated en suite soaked away the tiredness of travel

The decor of the communal areas is country chic, with the large sitting room sporting a log burning stove. Central heating fed radiators in each room and hot water was abundant. There was a backup electric rad system and even an effective electric blanket made sure that even if the temperature did head for the deck, comfort would be maintained.

Leontine's breakfast in the adjoining breakfast room was a joy and she ensured that everyone's tastes were catered for. She was friendly and welcoming with a generous portion of Irish humour and good cheer.

There are a plethora of pubs and restaurants in the vicinity, many with good music through the week. I opted for the Dufferin Arms next door for dinner and was not disappointed. It was voted best gastro pub in Ulster in 2010 and it's standards have if anything - improved since then. The seafood chowder was as tasty as it gets and I fear for the fish stocks after their seafood rissotto which appeared to be accompanied by an army of langoustines fed on the best garlic sauce....outstanding

I have read the other reviews and completely discount the personal and unprofessioanl attack left by Mr Nasty. If you want a huge slice of rural Irish life in a village where character and history abide in bucket loads, book in at the Dufferin Coaching Inn.

Business trips don't afford much time for leisure but I would return here for a break without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for the Premium suite with the four poster...you know you want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Mike V
Delighted that you took the time to reflect on your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn in April and gave us such a glowing review. I hope you will find the opportunity to stay at the Inn again.
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booked this as a surprise for my husband and we truly had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Homely rooms and very good food( I'm a chef by trade) defiantly booking for next Easter. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Dufferin Coaching Inn.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year and helping you celebrate another wedding anniversary.
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The rooms were really very nice. The owner was welcoming and gave us some good information about the local area. The breakfast was splendid, the choice was excellent, ranging from the traditional Ulster fry to a healthy option of local yoghurt and fruit or porridge. We only stayed for one night but would definitely stay again if we are ever in the area again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jls7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Really great place to stay. Beautiful room, very friendly, very nice stay all round.
Plus a great breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on Friday 2nd march. Everything about the Inn was great. Warm friendly welcome, interesting history, nice rooms. Would highly recommend to anyione staying in the area. The 'pub' next door was also fantastic with a warnm and friendly atmosphere... and great food. Breakfast at Dufferin Coaching Inn was fantastic and not to be missed.
Will be going back one day.

Room Tip: we have rooms with a nice four poster bed... ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing