We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful location ....”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
kitchen
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Patio with table and chairs for 4
Ensuite bathroom for twin bedroom
Ensuite shower room for master bedroom
Dining for 4
View from the kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hassocks, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S5Gue
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful location ....”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My family and I stayed here in June 2013 after searching for a holiday cottage near to Brighton. This cottage did not disappoint and far exceded our expectations.

We stayed with our two young children (both under two) as we just wanted a quiet relaxing holiday where the children could play in the garden (under close supervision). No. 1 Moatside certainly provided this for us with the added bonus of being able to go for long, lazy walks admiring the local scenery.

The cottage itself was immaculate, often when we stay in holiday cottages there's usually something that isn't as clean as you'd like. But with this property I would struggle to say that anything was not up to scratch. The property itself has been renovated to a high standard, the furniture was of a good quality (no Ikea in site) and the cleanlines was second to none.

All this with the added bonus that central Brighton is only 15 mins drive away. The best of both worlds, great night life, great shopping yet quiet and tranquil on your return to the cottage.

On top of the pure quality and location of the cottage I particulary liked the fact that upon arrival there was tea, coffee, sugar, condiments, washing up liquid and tablets for the dishwasher etc. The owners had also put a fresh pint of milk in the fridge alongside some bread and butter. And that's not mentioning the homebaked cake as I know this has been mentioned in other reviews (it was lovely thank you). To me, having these small extra on hand upon arrival makes all the difference when staying in a holiday rental and I really can't see why more owners don't do the same.

Overall I couldn't recommend this cottage enough, it was perfect for our visit and with family living close by I would definitely say that we'll be back again soon.

When initially searching for a cottage in the Brighton area, we did feel that the weekly rental was a little more expensive than some other properties. However, upon arriving at the cottage this little fact complety disappeared from our minds and we both agreed that it was well and truely worth the little extra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was absolutely tranquil
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: new, clean, well-equipped
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reflectiv...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfort in attractive setting”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is carefully designed and well-equipped, and made comfortable and welcoming: from good bathrooms to useful leaflets to home-made scones - and much more. Great walks and countryside all around, and also close to Brighton. We really enjoyed our relaxing home base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
violethil...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect retreat in a lovingly renovated barn in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were delighted with the cottage which had been renovated to a very high standard with great care and attention to detail and we felt at home immediately, A lovely touch was the homebaked cake on arrival. We enjoyed sunny breakfasts outside on the terrace overlooking the moat amidst the beautiful grounds with morehens for company. The cottage is situated in an area of outstanding beauty with wonderful walks on your doorstep. A little further afield are many historic houses and gardens. All was perfect and we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the high standard of refurbishment and the beautiful location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and the surrounding area.
Liked least: The travel time!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnTonce...
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was the best cottage we have stayed in. It is very well equipped and the owners have given a great deal of thought to the layout and quality. It has two very nice , en-suite bedrooms, a spacious living/kitchen area and lots of storage space. It was perfect for walking the South Downs. The location is very nice and there are plenty of good places to eat nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing