We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful birthday meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fig Tree

The Fig Tree
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Hassocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another wonderful birthday meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Yet again the Fig Tree has delivered on all counts. We had another beautiful dinner at the Fig Tree. Our party of 10 left very satisfied and full. The food AMAZING. Wine choice equally delicious. Front of house service impeccable as usual. Nothing too much trouble. So once again "Thank you Monika, David and Staff for another lovely night".

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food in a calm romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Top quality food, with top quality service. My most favourite place to eat. I cannot find any faults and throughly recommend it. The staff do everything they can to please you and the taste of the food is totally amazing with an exciting menu!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbleCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our group were a party of nine, including young children. The food, service, atmosphere, attention to detail and pre event organisation with the venue were all first class. I would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not much to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked saturday morning and managed to get the last table for two for the Saturday evening after spotting the pretty restaurant on a walk through hassocks. The whole evening was a pleasure, from the attentive, efficient and friendly staff to the tasty food and attractive setting. The scallops with pea and bacon starter was extra nice. My only criticism is over the consistency of the portion sizes. My gf and I both ordered the same fish main and her fillet was very nearly half the size if mine, and mine was notably smaller than the gentleman's nextto me. That said we were both full enough to pass up the delicious looking deserts. Overall would definitely visit again and recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Can't fault the food at all. Really delicious and well presented. But really expensive! Having visited The Gingerman in Brighton this week too, and had a better meal for less money, I can't see the prices at The Fig Tree being justifiable.

Service was OK, but small things were missed, like removing our wine glasses when we ordered soft drinks, so we had 6 glasses and 2 bottles on one small table between the two of us. It created quite the obstacle course!

The atmosphere was a bit disappointing. Quite formal and hushed, and possibly better suited to the older clientele that dominated the restaurant that night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzychad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fig Tree also viewed

 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
 

Been to The Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing