We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Dindigul B&B and Inns
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
“Very nice place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had a very pleasant, quiet and relaxing stay. That was what I was looking for.
I am a very picky person.
Clean food and accommodation in a very nice and beautiful location is the best I can describe about this place. This place is well maintained and had a very friendly atmosphere.
The view around this resort is something that need to be commented. Of course you can see from the pictures. Few years back I mistakenly went to a near by resort which is also run by westerners. Not the best experience. But this time I made it to the right place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you, Deepu, for your kind review. We certainly do our best to make our guests feel welcome and to provide clean, comfortable accommodation and fine foods.

We enjoyed your company here at Lakeside and hope that, if you return to the valley sometime in the future, we will have the pleasure of your company once again!
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
46
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was our second stay at Lakeside after staying there for two weeks previously. We enjoyed it so much being looked after and pampered so well by Dorinda and Pete and their staff we decided to stay for a month with executions arranged by Dorinda and Pete who are amazing people who can't do enough to make ones stay at Lakeside enjoyable. Being a fussy people we can assure anyone who is looking to book a holiday at Lakeside will not regret it as we are looking forward to staying there again in the not too distant future.

I do not give out compliments readily but this is an exception as Dorinda and Pete are amazing hosts who need congratulating.

N & B England.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in a cottage without AC but with fans cooling the air down made i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Nevbev,

Thank you for your kind review.

Knowing that you have a sense of humour (so please do not take this the wrong way!), may I please just point out to people reading your review that I usually provide excursions, not executions! (spellcheck?)

You may think that you are fussy people, but please let me assure you that you are not, and it has been a pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future - and to further executions! :-)

Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I should have followed my gut instinct and avoided this place after the initial phone call. It was attended by one Mrs Dorinda who later I came to know owned the resort. The response was to the point at best. Still, after reading so many good stories about this resort we decided to go. The location is very nice and there is a large lake right in front. The food was nice. What was not at all nice was the service and the attitude towards us. During the 2 nights we were literally treated as though we were very unwelcome. There was another family from UK staying there and there was a huge difference in the way the interactions happened. Please note that this resort is owned by an old couple from UK. There were no greetings, nothing was communicated to us and we were literally on our own during the entire stay. All this was fine. But on the day of check out we heard the phone conversation between the owners husband who has a travel agency in UK, with someone on the phone where he kept saying about how Indians were, how their standards of hygiene were so poor and how different from the westerners and that they usually didn't take Indian guests because Indians are more of a nuisance. All this when an Indian family was staying with them. I wanted to remind them that they were in India and that they should be a little bit more caring towards everyone. I didn't, what was the point.It was time to check out anyway, so we did. As expected, no one ever came out to even ask how our stay was. Well, in 2 days we had expected that at least.
Avoid if you want an Indian experience where guests are treated in a much better way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madri776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry to read the review of your stay at Lakeside Guesthouse in April 2014. May we please ask you to contact us directly so that we may further understand how we apparently got things so wrong on this occasion; we would also appreciate the details of when you stayed here. At this time we are not aware of any Indian family staying at Lakeside during April 2014, and for our part (Peter and Dorinda) we were not in the country for the majority of that month. We look forward to hearing from you.

If you are a potential guest reading this review and considering a stay at Lakeside, please do take time to read some of the other reviews posted here, by both Indians and people of other nationalities. Please be assured that we make everyone welcome, and you will see from the reviews that guests have a wonderful stay here, be they from Europe, the rest of the world or, of course, from India. We do try to run our guesthouse to European standards, and Lakeside is a wonderfully restful place where guests can be assured of a warm welcome, along with high standards of hospitality and service. We will try to make amends with our dissatisfied customer and will let you know the outcome on our blog, which we hope you read regularly!

On a lighter note, may Peter and Dorinda just add that, being several years away from retirement, perhaps the wording of the review could have referred to us as a ‘mature couple’ rather than ‘old’!

We look forward to welcoming you to Lakeside very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lakeside has the most beautiful view you can imagine. The owners, Dorinda and Pete, are very welcoming and friendly. They ensure that you immediately feel at home. The staf is also very kind and helpful. The meals were very good and it was nice to eat toghether with Dorinda and Pete, talking about all kind of things. It was great that there is a swimming pool, because it was very hot during our stay (40 degrees celsius in april) in Tamil Nadu. We also liked Perry, the "house" dog, who is very friendly and sweet. In short: we definitely recommend Lakeside Guest house to anyone who likes hospitality in a quiet place with scenic views. We hope to visit this place again someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Martien,
Thank you for the review. Our staff do work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and they appreciate your kind words.
We, too enjoyed the conversations over dinner and hope to renew them again sometime in the not too distant future!
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 11 days at Lakeside after working as volunteers in a school/ orphanage in Tamil Nadu for 10 weeks.

It was the best choice that we could ever have made for a totally relaxing and peaceful stay.

Pete and Dorinda made us very welcome, and they were the perfect hosts. We were absolutely knocked- out by the scenery, the setting, the lake, the mountains, the wildlife, the food, the accommodation........everything was just perfect.

In addition, the swimming pool was a wonderful bonus.

Many thanks also to the fantastic staff who did everything possible to make our stay such a memorable one.

We would recommend Lakeside to anyone who is travelling around Tamil Nadu. Once you arrive there, you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you Paul for your excellent review. We are so pleased that we were able to help you to relax after your volunteer work.
We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff, they work hard and are so happy when this is recognised by our guests.
We hope we may see you here again in the future!
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had stay for a night away from all the hustle and bustle of city life; you can only hear nature. Each of our meal was set up in different place and was very well presented. The rooms were very clean. Will stay here again and will recommend to all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are sorry that we were not at Lakeside to meet you and are pleased that our staff looked after you so well. Thank you for your great review.
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

South India may not be as well known as the north, but it has so much to offer the traveller. However, it is chaotic and noisy, and the towns and cities are crowded. Lakeside is the perfect antidote. It is a haven of tranquillity, the perfect place to return to after an exciting, busy day sightseeing. The term ‘guesthouse’ doesn’t do Lakeside justice. Staying there is like being in a house party, looked by generous, amenable hosts and their attentive but discreet staff. Adding to the atmosphere are Perry, the extremely well behaved dog, and Raja, the Kathiawari horse.

The accommodation is excellent; mine was in the main house and comprised a good size twin bedroom with a well equipped en-suite bathroom. The double doors opened onto the terrace with views over the beautiful gardens, with the lake and the Palani Hills beyond. The only noise to disturb the tranquillity was that of the many birds that inhabit Lakeside’s large grounds.

The food at Lakeside is excellent; menus are fixed, but the staff will respond with alacrity to any special requests. It is worth adding that this is the only place in India where I have been happy to eat anything offered and to drink water that isn’t bottled, such are the high standards of hygiene.

This was my second visit to Lakeside; I stayed for ten days this time, having visited two years ago. Like other reviewers, I don’t usually contribute to websites like TripAdvisor, but Lakeside is very special. Its owners, Dorinda and Pete, strike the perfect balance of friendliness and attention to detail. They are always there when you need anything and seemingly nothing is too much trouble. Pete takes great pride in ensuring that the accommodation is always in perfect order and that the beautiful swimming pool is sparkling clean, and Dorinda organises and escorts fascinating local tours from Lakeside as well as ensuring that the menus are superb, and always acceptable to individual guests’ needs.

Lakeside is simply perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind and encouraging comments. We were very happy to welcome you to Lakeside a second time, and hope that it won't be the last! As you know, we have worked hard to put together some interesting excursions from Lakeside, but if you have any ideas about what else people might like to see and experience please do email me. Your ideas would be much appreciated and would be used to help create more excursions.

Such a great review from a well-seasoned traveller to India is most humbling, and very much appreciated. Thank you.

Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dindigul
0.2 mi away
Cardamom House
Cardamom House
#1 of 9 in Dindigul
150 reviews
12.3 mi away
Vivera Grande
Vivera Grande
#2 of 9 in Dindigul
70 reviews
12.1 mi away
Senthil Residency
Senthil Residency
#4 of 9 in Dindigul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Parsons Court
Parsons Court
#5 of 9 in Dindigul
79 reviews
22.0 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,142 reviews
19.6 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Guest House

Property: Lakeside Guest House
Address: Kamarajar Dam | Athoor Post, Dindigul 624701, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Dindigul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dindigul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding the prime position on Kamarajar Dam, with excellent views of the lake and mountains, Lakeside will give you an unrivalled experience of rural India in accommodation run to Western standards by its resident British owners. Lakeside offers a high standard of food served by attentive, but unobtrusive, staff.The property offers rooms in the main building as well as more spacious individual cottages; all accommodation has lake views; air conditioning is available in some. The buildings are set in 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with a further 3 acres of undeveloped land, bordering the Reserve Forest, which is retained as a haven for wildlife; guests are free to walk here to enjoy the environment. The quiet seclusion of Lakeside makes it an ideal stop for western travellers on a tour of south India, as well as a quiet retreat for businessmen visiting Madurai or those seeking a weekend break from nearby Indian cities. The owners of Lakeside also offer a 10 day holiday package, ideal for foreign guests wishing to add a unique experience of rural India to the usual tourist visits.(Please note, Lakeside does not accommodate children under the age of 5) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing