We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Resort We Were Fortunate to Enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Dindigul B&B and Inns
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 910 helpful votes
“The Best Resort We Were Fortunate to Enjoy”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

In the evening of 10th Dec 2012 savouring the riots of various shades of Red and Orange in the western sky, my wife and myself entered the best resort ,owned and managed by Ms Dorinda Balchin and Pete , we were ever stayed in . The room was specious, neat and clean.
From the Verandah where caned furnitures were arranged neatly, one could savour the most beautiful Kamrajar Lake view enhanced by the twin peaks of hillocks in the background.

Dorinda and Pete were gracious enough to welcome us to share the late evening drinks with their Belgium guests who lived nearby. The dinner prepared and served by Mr Kennedy and Ms Aasha was the memorable one.

Next day morning Dorinda prepared the bed tea. While taking our breakfast of juice,cornflakes, oats, dryfruits and eggs, we were delighted to see the fattiest milk in our life. The breakfast was outstanding.

Being a person of various interests, I was rewrded with the conversations with Mr Kennedy who is the real asset of the Resort.

One can enjoy the tranquility and colour riots of eastern and western skies at the sunrise and sunset everyday. Birds and Butterflies are ample. In the morning fishermen row their circular boats and strike the calm lake water with bamboo to scare the fish and grab them in their nets.

Room Tip: All rooms are the best. There is a Common long Verandah , standing / sitting there one can appreciat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Kennedy is indeed an assett and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy time with him and with our Belgian friends. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Dorinda
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
46
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Close to Dindigul town (25 minutes drive away) and yet remote enough for you to be a llittle scared at night (hear the crickets and other assorted creatures). Right by the banks of the lakes formed by the waters of Kamarajar Dam, Lakeside offers you the perfect weekend gateway. The cottages are spacious, clean and surprisingly free of mosquitoes and other winged 'uns. But take care to shut the door behind you. The property has a small pool where the kids can folick and then there is the lake which is perfect for adults and kids alike. Take a stroll around the dam and watch the the fishermen at work. We were there in September when light showers had started and we were blessed with misty mountains and pleassant weather. Its a small and compact property a staff to match. The food is great- not oily or spicy or indifferent unlike big hotels. Chips. munchies, soft drinks and bottled water didn't cost the earth which is always the case.
It might seem that breakfast does not have much variety but this is so much better than mindless buffet and array of substandard dishes that resorts put up. We ate exactly what we wanted (omlettes, sandwich, pongal) and didn't stuff ourselves so that we were hungry by the lunch time. The staff actually serve you which is best. Pete and Dorinda and British couple run this place. They are warm and friendly, do enjoy a round of drinks with them in the evening. There is carrom, chess, WiE, books and nature that you can enjoy while having your tea or a drink in the lounge.
My suggestion would be to go out in a group so that kids have the ccompany of kids their age.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of rooms and all of them are the same. I think the rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the menu at Lakeside - we do try to make mealtimes an enjoyable experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed the pool and games and hope to see you again in the future.
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amazing location - perfect for winding down with family, friends and a good book. The loudest noise was that of a peacock! Unfortunately, the second loudest noise was that of the genset - but hardly the resort's fault given the crazy power cuts in the area.

Service was excellent. Food was good, though could have been a little more adventurous. But few complaints all in all...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaideepVivekanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future, maybe the government will have sorted out the power situation by then!
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading all the other positive reviews we can only reiterate what has already been said.
We have just returned after a fabulous stay at Lakeside - the welcome, the service, the food, the views, the facilities, all excellent. We recommend a stay here to anyone thinking of visiting the area. Dorinda, Pete, Kennedy and all the other staff went out of their way to be helpful and make our stay memorable. We felt we were treated as friends rather than just clients. The local visits Dorinda organized were an excellent way of seeing true southern Indian life, not just set up for tourists.
Again we would definitely recommend a stay here and hopefully we will one day be able to make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
May I assure you that the recipies will be with you soon!
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Sometimes you need a break to catch your breath, especially in India. This is just the place to do that if you happen to be near Dindigul (Athoor). As other people mentioned, the house is exceptionally beautifully situated at the shore of the Dindigul lake. Watching nightfall is a dream! I admire the courage of the British couple to repair and run a place like this at their age. And how well they succeed! You feel welcome from the moment you arrive here. The food is a mix between Indian and European tastes and it is nice to dine out on the roof with the oter guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you Rene for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us and were only sad that your visit was so short! Maybe you will have the chance to come back again sometime and we can show you more of this beautiful area.
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

There are many reasons to stay at the Lakeside Guesthouse: the very friendly and pleasant hosts, the stunning and relaxing location and last and not least the excellent food. I can only highly recommend the proposed visit to local craftmen, industries and village school. This was a unique way to discover rural India far from the usual tourist tours. To sum up, this is a place I blindly recommend to any traveller on his South Indian tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
We enjoyed your stay with us, and showing you a little about life here in rural India. The children at the Primary school were particularly happy to meet your family.
Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in Lakeside and really enjoyed it. The house is near the lake and has a stunning view. Dorinda and Pete make you feel at home right away. At night we took our dinner on the terrace and the conversation with other travelers was pleasant. The food and service were excellent. Above all, we enjoyed the tranquil beauty of unspoiled South India in a friendly surrounding. We stayed there on our way to Kodaikanal and Madurai. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you frr for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Kodaikanal and Madurai. By that time we hope to have found suitable people to help with your new project!

Dorinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dindigul
0.2 mi away
Cardamom House
Cardamom House
#1 of 9 in Dindigul
150 reviews
12.3 mi away
Vivera Grande
Vivera Grande
#2 of 9 in Dindigul
70 reviews
12.1 mi away
Senthil Residency
Senthil Residency
#4 of 9 in Dindigul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Parsons Court
Parsons Court
#5 of 9 in Dindigul
79 reviews
22.0 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,142 reviews
19.6 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Guest House

Property: Lakeside Guest House
Address: Kamarajar Dam | Athoor Post, Dindigul 624701, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Dindigul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dindigul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding the prime position on Kamarajar Dam, with excellent views of the lake and mountains, Lakeside will give you an unrivalled experience of rural India in accommodation run to Western standards by its resident British owners. Lakeside offers a high standard of food served by attentive, but unobtrusive, staff.The property offers rooms in the main building as well as more spacious individual cottages; all accommodation has lake views; air conditioning is available in some. The buildings are set in 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with a further 3 acres of undeveloped land, bordering the Reserve Forest, which is retained as a haven for wildlife; guests are free to walk here to enjoy the environment. The quiet seclusion of Lakeside makes it an ideal stop for western travellers on a tour of south India, as well as a quiet retreat for businessmen visiting Madurai or those seeking a weekend break from nearby Indian cities. The owners of Lakeside also offer a 10 day holiday package, ideal for foreign guests wishing to add a unique experience of rural India to the usual tourist visits.(Please note, Lakeside does not accommodate children under the age of 5) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing