We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Double Dutch Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dindigul
Certificate of Excellence
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a great stay at Double Dutch resort, the beautiful environment with great views over the lake and mountain, the unexpectect visit to the Flying Foxes and ride in a coracle, the visit to the villages nearby and ofcourse the warm welcome of Gemma and Ge and the other people over there. When we go back to India, we for sure will go back to Double Dutch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Found the place on the net and contacted the owner. The immediate response with all questions answered was encouraging. The owners of the place are Ge Mol and Gemma, a Dutch couple settled here.

We drove down from Chennai. The roads are good and with two stops – one for breakfast and another for lunch – we reached the place by 2 pm. There are two bungalows—Villa Flamboyant and Kannivadi House. We stayed at the former in Hank (one of the 3 rooms: Hank, Krommenie and Nordwykerhout—all places in Holland). The room had an extra bed, as requested, and was clean and well kept. Soap and towels are provided.

The view from the verandah of our bungalow was outstanding. It overlooked the garden and beyond that stretched the beautiful lake. Since it is almost summer and there was not too much water in the lake (enough to drown though!), we did venture into it. It was a beautiful experience. Another Dutch couple who were long-term guests offered to act as our life guards! There are a lot of birds around the place. We did quite a bit of bird watching. The Baya weaver nests occupied by the Asian silver bills and the Asian paradise flycatcher were the highlights.
There are several places close by that can serve as half day trips. We chose not to go to any of them since we were quite happy where we were. If you want to get away from civilisation and relax, this is the place for you.

The food was outstanding. Breakfast was standard fare with bread, eggs and various spreads and cheese, juice and coffee. What made it special was that the bread was freshly baked everyday and all the spreads and cheese were homemade! Any extras that you might want, such as muesli, are available at an additional cost. The lunches and dinners were lovely too. On most days, dinner is arranged on the roof top and the starry skies provide a lovely backdrop. Indian, continental and other cuisines are available on request.

We spent 4 nights and 5 days enjoyable days. We will definitely recommend the place to family and friends for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: The rooms in Villa Flamboyant will have the kitchen noises while the rooms in Kannivady house are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndiaMasala624701, Owner at Double Dutch Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. You visited us on the right time to experience your swim in natural water. The water level of the lake is decreasing now because of the hot season but birdlife is increasing dramatically. Today we welcomed a big group of the black and white storks who are exploring the shallow water at the border of the lake.

Best wishes from all your Dutch friends at Double Dutch Resort,
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capannori, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time, it's such a beautiful natural environment with a stunning view over the lake. But the best of all was the warm welcome of Gemma and Ge and their friendly staff. We had a beautiful dinner and we would loved to stay longer. Unfortenately we could stay only for 1 night. Also my little son of 3 years truly liked Double Dutch Resort. Higly recommended.

Sorry for not writing earlier, normally I never write reviews but Double Dutch is really a small "Eden" in Tamil Nadu!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tuktuktravel_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndiaMasala624701, Owner at Double Dutch Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear friends,

It was a nice experience to have you all as our guests. Because you are also involved in the hospitality industry we could exchange fruitful travel and business experiences.

Our children enjoyed to play with your son and show him all the animals where we care for on our mini farm.

Hope we can meet again in future.

All the best from,
Gemma, Gé and staff of Double Dutch Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a marvelous stay at the DD's. If you want a quite + adventurous stay in the midst of nature - DD's the place. The rooms are spic and span - which is one of ours' top priorities. The cherry on top is the excellent service & friendly atmosphere from the staff; and the lovely company of the owners. We loved the bike ride on the royal Enfield 500 (rented from DD) and the trek to the stream nearby.

DD's has definitely added to our list of vacation-repeats and thank you for the home bread; and the plants - we now have a piece of DD in our balcony :).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hitosanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Double Dutch Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear friends,

thank you for your kind review of Double Dutch Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we enjoyed the interesting discussions at the dinner table.

We keep in touch in touch with you.

Warm best wishes,
Gemma den Boer and Gé Mol
Double Dutch Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We traveled to the Double Dutch from the USA and had a wonderful time. It's a great place full of warm people, wonderful food, meandering walks in the coconut groves and amazing wildlife. This is a great place for people who love to relax, tour the off the beaten path or just enjoy the peace and quiet. Gemma and Ge are Dutch ex-pats that speak excellent English, Dutch and Hindi. Their staff will treat you like rock stars. We scheduled an exciting motorcycle tour with a guide from the Double Dutch and their equipment. Diesel Enfields. I cant wait to bring my whole family back to the Double Dutch. It's the perfect place to make your home base.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Double Dutch Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Kurt,

it was a big pleasure to have you as our guest. You and your friend Simon managed to tame our Enfield Bullet Diesel bikes during the 100 km roundtrip through the eastern slopes of the Palani Hills. And yes, the pot with 1 kg Vaseline is still not yet finished.

Best wishes from all of us at Double Dutch Resort.

Gé Mol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoensbroek, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

In Athoor nearby Dindigul Double Dutch Resort run by a dutch family. They have there own staff which are dedicated for you as a visitor. In total a very beautifull resort with an excellent view over the lake Kamarjar. You can choose by yourself what you want eat. The rooms are very clean and the shower is every morning and evening a pleasure in paradise. Because it is very warm (>35 degrees). The environment has a lot to do. A walk round the lake, going to the Jacuzzi in the nature (a small waterfall where you can swimm) and of course a visit to the temple.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and look like the same. The three rooms are situated next to each other. Another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BPATERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A pleasant stay. Fantastic location- basic rooms, average food.
I would go back just for the location especially in the monsoon .
The lady of the house welcomed us and had dinner with us which i thought was very nice. Adds a personal touch.
The food- could have been better. The pureed banana that they called mousse was a let down.
Pureed Banana cannot be passed of as mousse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kausi_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dindigul
0.1 mi away
Cardamom House
Cardamom House
#1 of 9 in Dindigul
146 reviews
12.3 mi away
Vivera Grande
Vivera Grande
#2 of 9 in Dindigul
69 reviews
12.1 mi away
Senthil Residency
Senthil Residency
#4 of 9 in Dindigul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Parsons Court
Parsons Court
#5 of 9 in Dindigul
78 reviews
19.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
12.1 mi away
Hotel PVK Grand
Hotel PVK Grand
#6 of 9 in Dindigul
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch Resort

Property: Double Dutch Resort
Address: Holland House - Kamarajar Lake - Northern Border | Athoor Dindigul Dt. Tamil Nadu, Dindigul 624701, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Dindigul
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dindigul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort - some 9 acres - is situated in a beautiful valley, with two sides surrounded by mountains. The garden is next to a lake, so swimming is one of the possibilities (monsoon dependent) We provide 4 AC rooms and 5 non-AC rooms. Single, double, triple and family rooms available. We can serve groups up to 20 members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Double Dutch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing