We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great hotel, spotlessly clean, spacious rooms with lovely linen and comfortable beds and it was only £44 a night and in a great position for visiting my son at uclan. Lovely helpful friendly staff. Husband wasn't enthused about the cooked elements of breakfast, although the pastries were nice and fresh.
One other thing, two telly's in the lounge area might allow for sport on one channel and news on the other?

Room Tip: Some rooms look at the wooded area, some the road, so maybe put in a request for the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat4091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    204
    70
    19
    10
See reviews for
153
210
23
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Well we booked this hotel based on the reports about it, we were not disappointed. We had a twin room (109). The beds were extremely comfortable, so much so my wife asked me to strip one and get the manufacturer of the mattress, duvet and pillows! The room was huge, based on the price, and everything was clean and nice. The TV didn't work, but that was fixed quickly and efficiently. Location is ideal for hitting the North of England and very easy to find. We stayed for 3 days and had breakfast each day. The breakfast was Continental plus a bit of English, surprisingly no bacon! All the staff were extremely friendly, even when we turned up late to breakfast, and asked for things that had run out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelnaudary, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just coming to the end of a 9 day stay in the HIE Preston South, allowing a lot of time to soak in how this hotel operates. The hotel itself is well located with good a motorway network on its doorstep but the excellent sound insulation negates any unnecessary noise. The car parking is free and right outside the building.

The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean but the designer meant them for those business travellers only staying for one night. People like us remaining for any longer periods have to live out of suitcases that have to remain on the floor and share the 12" hanging space. Not good when you have two weddings to attend! There are no wardrobes, no drawers and only a limited amount of shelf space. The hotel does not provide mobile units to help alleviate this problem. The bathrooms are modern and again spotless, the shower is large and water pressure good.

The staff are in the main excellent. They are really cheerful and helpful, particularly Monika on reception. I was querying another HIE hotel in West London for the next leg of our visit back to the UK as we needed a dog friendly establishment. Not only did she find one, but also took the trouble to book it for us and dealt with a person at the other end who was difficult to understand. Complete contrast to the chap in the suit who oversees the domestic staff, from whom I could only get one 'morning' from him over several days. Thank goodness his hard working cleaning staff more than make up for him - they are always smiling and are the unseen heroes of the hotel.

One bone of contention is that the hotel could realise that not everyone enjoys football for the whole evening every single night. Why not strike a balance as there are two back to back large screen televisions shared between the bar area and main lounge. One of them could perhaps have something else on? This may be why the female guests remain well away from the screens, spending unnecessary additional time in the dining area and go to their rooms as there's nothing catered towards their needs according to my partner (who doesn't like football!).

The food is simple and is of a good standard, including evening meals from a limited but good bar menu. One has to time breakfast though - if they have a conference on the go in the morning, residents should ensure they breakfast before the masses arrive as they cause queues at the coffee machines that allow your cooked breakfast to cool. Top tip - get your tea and coffee first!

In conclusion, a well priced hotel that caters for short stay or business travellers and generally has staff that encourages clientele to willingly provide repeat business - even if they do charge £10 per day extra for having our pet when the breed doesn't moult and I clean up its poo as soon as it's dropped (outside!). ;-)

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the car park is possible. Although sound insulation is good, those rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witney162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Top quality Holiday Inn Express , Large comfy bedroom, big bed with good pillows, Free WIFI , Large bar area with Sky Sport , usual buffet basic breakfast . Limited evening meal menu but tasty. Free Newspaper

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights on our way home to Scotland.Very clean hotel,staff friendly,ideal place for a stop for a night or two.Breakfast was good.The only small complaint was the room was not cleaned even although we left the sign on the door.The reception staff did resupply us when informed and offered to clean room.They did say we would be informed why it wasn't cleaned before leaving and this was never done even when we enquired on leaving.This would not put me off staying there again and can recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I believe it offers a clean and comfortable stay with staff that are most helpful. If it was any different I would say so.I would prefer fried eggs for breakfast but I would not make a fuss. If I'd asked they would have helped I'm sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildroverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter as we were visiting Blackpool and the quality Blackpool hotels were all full..used my priority club points for a twin room and wasn't diss appointed.
Clean spacious room, huge shower and the usual breakfast.
Will use again to break up my journey when travelling on business.
Highly recommended as just of the motorway heading north or south.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Address: Walton Summit Centre | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Preston South Bamber Bridge, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing