We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean but bed too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was in a fantastic location, close to the M6 and 20 minutes away from Blackpool, which is where we were going to visit family. It was spotless, and had a fantastic bathroom with a very large walk in shower. The breakfast was great for me but I did not have a cooked breakfast so cannot comment on that. There were plenty of croissants and pastries with a toaster for bread. the coffee was from a machine, fresh and good quality. On the down side, the bed was a standard 4'6 double and as I am used to sleeping in a king size bed, it felt too small. The room was huge so could have taken a much bigger bed and we felt that it was more suited to a single person as there was only one armchair

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 703 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent big bedroom, with big twin beds. Cooked Breakfast was somewhat limited (e.g. no bacon!) only sausage and beans and scrambles eggs, but was told by staff this is because it is a Express Inn and not a normal Holiday Inn(?). Otherwise a useful and comfortable overnight venue. Staff friendly and helpful. Good for travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWBIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews, so perhaps we were unlucky. On a plus side the hotel is clean and bright and the overall accommodation was extremely roomy with a large step in shower and modern bathroom fittings. However the downside was the bed, which looked completely out of place in such a spacious room; a very small double which sank in the middle and made for the most uncomfortable night's sleep. What is the point of such a small bed in a large and spacious room. It was a complete waste of space! Since the whole idea of stopping overnight was to rest up with a good night's sleep, after a long drive, it was a complete waste of money. We are average weight and height, so I fail to understand how The Holiday Inn Express can justify classing this room as accommodation for 2 adults. The breakfast was nondescript, the only redeeming feature being the coffee. I would suggest you look elsewhere for accommodation. I certainly will in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear HRHaggis,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room size.

However, We’re sorry w3e fell below your expectation regarding the bed condition and breakfast experience. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night (17th sept) Rachel and all the other staff we came into contact with we're lovely....exactly what you need in the hospitality industry....room was lovely and big and very clean although the mattress was a 'meet in the middle' one which was disappointing....we decided to eat here at night as we couldn't be bothered to move...the food was simple bar food which was all we wanted but we did have to wait 45 minutes for it to come out of the kitchen....being as there were only about 15/18 people eating we did think it was a little bit too long.....when the food came it was nice though....we'll definitely stay again we know what to expect and in my opinion the staff really do make your stay....so well done to all of you :0)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Clean, tidy and comfortable.
Excellent for a one night stay.
Got a good night's sleep. Breakfast included in the orice. Free wifi.
Much better value than the Holiday Inn, Preston and only about 5.5 miles away from it.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaLazarou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at hotel on 24th July 2013. Found it near a busy roundabout (get a room facing the carpark, much quieter). Traipsed through the innards of the hotel (narrow corridors) to encounter musty smells in the corridor, yet the rooms were okay (no smell). Nothing to write home about but quite usable and ok value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the carpark, NOT the ones facing the busy round-about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Karl v,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed the night before a busines meeting - I found that my stay was just what i needed, the room was ample size, very clean and the bed was comfy. I used the room in the morning of my stay to send all my work emails and the free WIFI was a welcome change. The staff were very good and attended to my needs. MANY THANKS

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
6.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#9 of 15 in Preston
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
2.5 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Address: Walton Summit Centre | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Preston South Bamber Bridge, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing