We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unlikely gem”
Review of Ye Olde Hob Inn

Ye Olde Hob Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Restaurant quality Lancashire themed menu with a twist! From traditional Lancashire hot pot to Lake District Lamb. We strive to ensure your whole experience with us is the very best. Rest assured with our highly acclaimed chef and kitchen staff, we will deliver the best local ingredients. Served to you, by our diligent and forward thinking front of house staff. -We promise, you will not be disappointed!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unlikely gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat on the outskirts of Preston and saw that this place had had good reviews. I knew the place and was uncertain as I didn't even know it was an eating place.

We thought we'd give it a try and when we walked in we were immediately greeted by a really friendly guy behind the bar.

The waitress took us through to a lovely dining room away from to bubbly atmosphere of the bar. On viewing the menu we discovered that there was a huge choice.

Our starters were excellent, and we followed them with 2 Burgers...which were excellent, with homemade chutney.

Will definitely be going back there to sample more.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GazTropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    71
    35
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Breakfast”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having had meals in the hob inn over 25 years found it a surprise they have started doing breakfast.so I decided to give it a go .arrived around 10.30am to be given a menu which gave you a few options .me and my wife both chose the full English.2 rashers of bacon 2 sausages ,black pudding ,scrambled egg ,beans,mushrooms and hand cut bread toasted.a nice touch was the coffee or tea that you could top up at will.overall good breakfast will call again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prestonpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Read good reviews. We were not disappointed.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to go elsewhere with a discount voucher, but after reading reviews decided to visit ye old hob inn instead and we were not disappointed. Hubby had gammon which was excellent and our friend had the steak and ale pie - he said it was the best he had ever tasted. My fish pie was lovely too. Only thing was I was too full for pud. Breakfast menu looks good. We think we'll try that too when out for a run out on the bike. Great value for money and quality food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baohx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value & quality pub food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great reception on arrival and friendly, helpful staff. Food was excellent for the price. Just get there early. Kitchen seems to close at 8 pm - we didn't get offered a dessert or coffee when are plates were taken away, so just paid the bill and left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandgrounder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice pub - worth a visit”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were staying nearby in the Premier Inn, but fancied finding a local pub with good beer and a reasonable menu.

The 10 minute walk from the Premier Inn was worth it. A thatched pub with nice new seating area outside in the shade of a big tree. Great for a summer's day.

The food was great - steak & ale pie obviously homemade with the shortest of short crust pastry. A good portion with chips, fresh veg & gravy. Mrs P had fish & chips which was also very good.

One slight(!) disappointment was the lack of any real ales - they had sold out!! It was during the hot spell that we visited, so I'll say it was still worth the visit, as I had a cool pint of Guinness instead.

Overall it's still a recommendation....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PicnMix_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK353, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Im glad you enjoyed your food and the new seating area.
Im sorry we ran out of real ales, we shall make sure we order more in the future.

Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Hob Inn also viewed

Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
 
Leyland, Lancashire
Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
 

Been to Ye Olde Hob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing