We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
brand new hot tub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate B
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place ”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely relaxing Easter break here with family. Southover is a beautiful, quirky interesting and comfortable place. It boasts fantastic views from the lounge, kitchen and even a few bedrooms! The boat was great fun, easy to use and enabled us to explore.
The housekeeper was wonderful she bought us bottled water checked we were ok and the place was so clean and tidy.
Would totally recommend a stay here in this beautiful house and in a wonderful location, there are many great pubs, farm shops, walks and just a nip to the coast we even got a seaside day!
Great for a family holiday or gathering, we all enjoyed Easter lunch seated around the beautiful large table watching the boats go by and some amazing wildlife

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thank you your welcome back any time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2018
Thanks for your really nice constructive review! My wife and I keep arguing about replacement pictures but will now get them sorted ! Meaning I’ll have no say! We are upgrading garden furniture and having a new hot tub delivered early April look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sixmillma...
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit, we stayed here a few years ago, and it was better than I remembered it. The house Is beautifully decorated and spacious, plenty of room for everyone.
There cannot be a better location in Wroxham, right on the river, and just minutes from the town centre by car or by boat. We spent hours on the deck just watching the boats go by.
Thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Thank you so glad you had a great stay be lovely to have you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, amazing views, beautiful House”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at southover last weekend, we left it as a surprise for my mums 50th birthday we arrived at 2:30 to meet the house keeper who was so helpful, showed us how to use hot tub and boat and answered all questions we had, straight away we felt at home, the house is beautiful, the views are incredible walking distance from wroxham
Town, we went out on the boat several times over the weekend and made great use of the hot tub and games rooms the children loved the hot tub and the kanoes! The boat only cost roughly £9.00 to refill with petrol which we thought was so reasonable, over all we had the best weekend my mum was blown away with the house and never expected anything like that fur her birthday, great value for money if you ask me!
Robert was also kind enough to let us stay till 12:30 on the Sunday rather than 10am which meant we could still have a lay in and enjoy the house before we left, all through out booking the house to arriving and leaving Robert has been a pleasure and answered all questions we’ve had! 5 star from us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thank you it was a pleasure to host you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay R
1 review
“Absolute gem place to stay !”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Great location - excellent facilities in Southover - love the Hot Tub! and a boat for fishing! Would highly recommend for families - Great views of the river and all the locals are friendly.
A great place for piece and quite and I have re - booked.
Ps the Dogs had a great time too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review it gives a real lift to us all I’ve sent it to housekeeper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samcrace
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! What a place!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Absolutely stunning place! Every single one of us had an amazing time, and are looking into our return trip! Highly recommend a stay at Southover, you will not be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2018
Thanks so much! Makes it all worth while , I was feeling a bit down after a troll type review a couple of weeks agof weeks ago ! Welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzee121
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 24, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A group of 10 friends came here for a 2 night break in January. Overall we were happy with southover, it was easy to get to and in a lovely area right on the water. The house was nicely set out for large groups to socialise with a big square table and had a lovely large front decking and pretty wildlife. Hot tub is a nice touch, unfortunately it wasn’t warm enough the first night so we couldn’t use it, the housekeeper came to check on it the second day when it had finally reached the correct temp and kindly left a bottle of wine to apologise but we would of rather had the hot tub as that is one of the reasons why we booked the place. The single beds were very uncomfortable to sleep on and could do with being replaced, but my friends said the double beds were very comfortable so if you book try and get the doubles! Main bathroom was quite dirty and could do with a bit of updating where the floor is a bit mouldy. The boat was great fun and pretty easy to use, although the engine wasn’t as low as it should of been according to a local boatsman so maybe needs looking at? Overall good value for money break for a family or group holiday at the Broads, what would make it perfect is much more comfier single beds as this stopped me sleeping and cleaner main bathroom. Also owner was polite and easy to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2018
Thanks for your comments which I will take on board I’m going up myself next week and my wife and I will try the single mattress’s we have a mix of firm and soft at the moment, the boat outboard is adjustable and I’ll drop it down a notch, the bathroom floor has been remasticed since your stay we have a programme of rolling improvements and you are welcome to return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing