We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treacle Mine”
Review of Treacle Mine

Treacle Mine
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Polegate
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Using seasonal ingredients, Whitbread Inns - Treacle Mine boasts a menu of traditional pub dishes. Varied sharing platters are served alongside tempting nibbles and British favourites. Hearty breakfasts are also available for early risers, while sensational desserts bring something sweet to the Treacle Mine menu. Enjoy a glass of flavoursome wine or refreshing beer from the bar, or indulge in our weekly Tuesday night quiz in the snug.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Treacle Mine”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Whether you want a quiet drink, a snack, or a ´three course meal ´ the Treacle Mine is the place to go. As well as seating near the bar,and a Dining area, there is also an area with upholstered arm chairs and sofa. Costa Coffee is on sale.
Lunch time menu deals on offer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    216
    131
    74
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
366 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Hacking your way through burnt offerings”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a very pleasant evening here with friends and relations which offset the poor even for Whitbread standard of heating up factory produced portions. Two real ales on which is v good, bar service strange at times if on my own I would have walked out at first. Chicked breasts ( maybe?) were burnt to cinder at least no harm may befall from this. Enjoyed ourselves and everybody seemed happy enough, it was convenience for the hotel and location rather than food which determined the booking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“not as good as before”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

on visiting some friends about 18 months ago we went here as a large group and had good pub grub, loaded up at a very reasonable price making it an excellent meal. On our return new years day the food was a little disappointing. The chunky chips were replaced with McDonalds fries, the buffalo wings were more like sparrow wings and the mash potato had lumps in it and wasn't even mashed through properly. In general we felt the quality of food only average for the price, before it was excellent. We think that the dining/catering side of the pub has changed hands? staff were friendly and polite enough but we wont return next time we are down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“service fantasic”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

stayed in the premiere next door while visiting elderly relatives nearby,decided to use this pub at the night time,we did eat and to be honest the food wasnt great but then i never expect too much from these places!!but there were all young staff on and i cannot praise them all highly enough, friendly,efficient and all of them were busy all night,we sat right by the bar and i didnt see 1 of them idol at any time,this is obviously down to very good managment,i have been in many pubs in the buckinghamshire area that think they are up market but because of lazy managment lack of training properly they are let down by young waitresses,i might just add too i have used "the caldecotte" in milton keynes over the last two years and the place is filthy a health hazard even,maybe the managment from mk needs to go to polegate to see how to run a lovely clean friendly establishment as they are all owned by whitbread maybe someone should do boss undercover as the building in mk is lovely and could be so much better!!!! but back to the treacle mine as i said to the girls lastnight on leaving keep up the good work it was a pleasure to have a lovely evening and proves that not all youngtsers are lazy.thankyou.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

On 18th December 2013 5 of us visited (we went down from Berkshire to treat family for Christmas) and although we have been to this restaurant before had a dreadful time. First the waiter managed to drop a bottle of coke onto a glass smashing them with the result that the drink went all over me - trousers and jumper very wet. We then ordered and although we arrived and placed the order at 15.57 it was 16 35 before we received any food. When we had eaten our food the waitress took away our plates and said she would come back for our dessert order. This took her over 10 mins to do. We then waited and waited until eventually she came back and said sorry we are out of Bramley apple crumble which two members of our party had ordered. They decided to have an alternative apple dish and off she went again. We then waited over 10 more minutes. When she brought the desserts we said please will you do our bill as we did not want to wait after eating. She didn't do this. We sat for some time and eventually put on our coats and then she decided to bring the bill. On trying to pay the machine wouldn't work and she had to get another one. The time now was 17.50 almost two hours to have a two course meal. I know that the dropped drink was an accident and they apologised but the service was disgraceful. They need to buck up their ideas as the restaurant was not busy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treacle Mine also viewed

 
Polegate, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing