We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“85 Years Birthday Lunch”
Review of Old Oak Inn

Old Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Polegate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“85 Years Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great venue near the beautiful Abbots Wood in East Sussex. The menu is extensive incorporating traditional pub food and gastro. The portions are very generous, great value for the price and the quality is very good indeed.We visited as a treat for our 85 year old cousins birthday treat and will certainly return. This was our first visit since the change of ownership about 18 months ago. Recommended for lunch in the bar or dinner in the newly refurbed restaurant. Another great feature is that the tables both in the bar and the restaurant are not crammed in leaving plenty of room for access and comfort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1turnedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    66
    35
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great New Year's Eve night!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had an absolutely brilliant New Year's Eve night with such fabulous food, dancing, people and atmosphere. The restaurant was full with everyone in high spirits ready to celebrate in style. My smoked salmon starter was so tasty and the lobster thermidor that followed was cooked to perfection. The staff were so well organised serving our meals, it went like clock work. The DJ played music for all and the dance area was full all eveing. Topped off with a very impressive firework display. Well done to all, it was fantastic. We have booked our places for next year. But will certainly be back many times before then.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CKC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst skate I've ever had”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had just moved into a new house and decided to travel a couple of miles to an old haunt. I ordered skate and on tasting it had a strong waft of ammonia. A sure sign that it was off. On complaining there was little apology and was I told that it was fresh that morning. I was offered another item off the menu but there was no attempt at giving any form of reduction on the bill or free dessert. I won't be going back there under current management. That's assuming they are still there as this event took place some four months ago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have eated at the Old Oak Inn, Arlington a few times now. We have had birthday celebration dinners, family lunches and evenings out with friends. Always wonderful food and excellent service. Its such a lovely cosy pub to visit especially after a country Sunday walk or even if you just want to treat yourselves. Would highly recommend the Thai Fishcakes or the traditional Sunday roast. Lovely!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub, well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If your looking for lovely log fies, reasonably priced good food and a warm welcome the The Old Oak at Arlington is a must. I first went there a couple of weeks ago and was so impressed I booked a table to go back with some friends to celebrate Burns Night. The service and the food are first class, the wonderful surroundings and attention to every detail makes this a pub I will go back to time and again. The main menu is varied with plenty of choice, in addition a specials board means there is something for everyone. Well worth a visit, trust me after your first trip to The Old Oak your be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moiraroberts190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oak Inn also viewed

Arlington, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 
Polegate, East Sussex
Berwick, East Sussex
 

Been to Old Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing