We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
123
16
3
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
16
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden few minutes walk the owner great atmosphere dogs dutch town noise beach ecuador chill weekends
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 149 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2014

Loved the space, owner, rooms and absolutely loved the dog! A big friendly great dane lives here, very weel cared for and playful (but don´t leave your shoes outside!). The streets of Canoa can get load and often you´ll have a shabby sleep elsewhere in town. This place is just far enough out of town for that to be avoided but still close enough to be in the main street within 5 minutes. Oh and the pool is a welcome sight!

Room tip: I think they are all good, but one room has an attached kitchen.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chasing_the_Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014

Me and my family realy had a great time here. The place was clean, the staff pleasant and the surrounding - beach :-) The kids could go around on their own, we felt safe and that is worth a lot when with children.
The noise of the town was a bit of a bother till maybe 11pm, but then it slowed down, and the hotel can not realy do anything about.
We can only recommend the place and would go again.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Adammwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were so happy to find Casa Shangri La. It was incredible to find an affordable hotel in Canoa with a nice garden, patio and pool.

One word of warning, when we were there, the dog had a tendency to bite, so hopefully he has been better trained, because there wasn't much we could do to stop. Even with that, this place gets five stars.

Room tip: We loved the pictured room with a second floor balcony. Having a hammock on our private balcony was really nice.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The rooms are quite big und very clean, the same is true for the bathroom - with lots of water, and it is hot.
The garden is very nice and tidy as well, with a shaded seating area, lots of hammocks and beautiful trees and flowers. There is a nice pool.
The owner is very very friendly and helpful.
A bit outside of town, but definitely worth the couple of extra steps !!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Casa Shangri La! What a great place. It's just outside the centre of the village and it's the perfect (!) place to relax in the garden/patio with palmtrees, read, swim in the beautiful swimming pool or if you prefer the beach you have to walk only 3 minutes. It has clean and nice rooms, with comfortable beds. The Dutch hostal owner was superfriendly and relaxed, he made us feel really welcome and helped us with everything we asked. You can see how he loves running the place!!

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Nanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews