We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canoa Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoa Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canoa
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Amazing quiet location, awesome food (one of the best Ceviches I've ever had, plus it is the only place where I've found Shrimp Corviches), great service!! Highly recommended hotel. Its amazingly high reviews are just accurate

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benawidinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    33
    13
    4
    12
See reviews for
84
87
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I just say that on first read of the trip advisor reviews for Canoa beach hotel i thought they were fake reviews... I've never seen so many perfect reviews before, but after staying we can certainly attest to the quality, beauty and tranquility.
On arrival, we were met by the owner, Greg, an American having drinks with a couple other guests. He showed us a couple rooms and couldn't have been more entertaining or accommodating.
The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Having travelled for a month in ecuador, we were extremely grateful and pleasantly surprised to find this little gem of a hotel with a clean, stunning pool surrounded by lush, tropical flowers and plants.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet. This was the only king sized bed we found outside Quito hotels and after a month of doubles it was a treat!
Our balcony (actually all balconies) overlook the pool and gardens out to the beach and ocean. This strip if beach is amazing! Very quiet, not many people and miles long! Lots of shells for beach-combing. The locals net fish, and my husband helped pull the nets in watch the community catch be distributed. It was pretty cool actually.
The owner is also into propery development and has done a few houses along this coast. He was extremely knowledgable in this regard and we appreciated his Ecuadorian real estate investment insight. A great perk!
Last but certainly not least is the food! Excellent. We had breakfasts, lunch and dinner and they were great! Not t-bones mind you (:) but the everything especially the seafood was perfect!
All in all this is definitely dont miss visit on the Ecuadorean coast. The ocean and beach are the best we found and the CANOA Beach Hotel is without even close competition - the best hotel! Thanks for a great few days Greg! Wish we'd discovered your spot sooner!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and myself took a stroll down the beach from the condo we had rented for a week, and lucked upon the Canoa Hotel on our stroll into Canoa. What a find! Greg made it such a cool and fun experience, we ended up eating most of our meals there for the entire week! He knows what customer service means, but also is just a really nice guy who went out of his way to make our visits to his restaurant an amazing experience...the food was fantastic, and he even went to his kitchen to make me special dishes, as I'm gluten intolerant...that's customer service... my only regret is that we didn't find this place sooner in order to take advantage of the fabulous rooms and grounds. We'll be back there in a flash if we hit the Canoa area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Rolled up at the Canoa Beach Hotel as part of my trip with Ecuador Freedom Bile Rental Tours. The hotel was spacious, modern and built around the local materials and a complete compliment to the area, staff and management. The stay was two nights and one day where we were looked after to the highest standards in food, rooms and entertainment. The food used locally caught fish, well our choice, which we had in three different ways all delicious and for one guy just too much (doggy bags provided). The bar staff were superb even when a Piña Collada was ordered and no coconut milk on fridge, no problems they just went out, cut a coconut down and sorted it out, a bit longer than normal but fresh as a daisy, now that's service. Various trips can be organised from the hotel and all tastes catered for. The rooms where spacious and the shower, after some hit and misses along the way was superb in temp and pressure. I'd certainly recommend this place to anyone for service surrounding GS and welcome.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kwakdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

after 2 weeks avelling through Ecuador me and my wife both really needed a decent bed, good food and just a place to chill out after travelling/backpacking. Well....this is THE best place we've been to during our vacation. We're kind of spoiled when it comes it comes to beds, food and drinks but this is exactly what we've needed. Thank you (owner) Greg and your great volunteers (Asia and Paul plus the 4 girls)...for the great time and great conversations we've had. the accomodation, the food and drinks as well as anything else was beautiful. cheers, Frans & Lian

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FandL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacac
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a new and lovely hotel -- very well built and comfortable. Great setting on the beach, although take a taxi at night. We had a great meal in the hotel restaurant. It's a bit high-priced for Ecuador but you get what you pay for. This may very well may be the nicest hotel right on the beach in Ecuador. And a very beautiful pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruffwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for a while, as we stayed in June 2013 for 5 nights (we ended up staying longer than planned as it was just so nice)!

The hotel is beautifully landscaped, with pretty gardens surrounding the magnificent pool, with a smaller paddling pool for the babies and the larger pool with a swim up bar-! If you do take advantage of the swim up bar order one of thier lovely cocktails, I couldn't resist a different one each day!

The breakfast was homemade bread and jams, with a fresh bowl of fruit, granola and yoghurt- and a different fresh jucie each day! The food in the resturant was top notch! Ther are about 9-10 dishes to choose from, from seafood, fish, pasta to hamburgers- such generous portions. The 'fish and chips' were amazing and coming from an English person that's something! They had this homemade spicy mayo which I just ended up using on everything as it was so nice!

The rooms were big, and clean and had a rustic spanish feel to them. The showers were full powered and they came to clean the rooms daily leaving water and new shampoos etc!
The beds were really comfortable, we had a King sized bed, it was massive!! Our bedrrom was slightly smaller than the others in our party but they had 2 queen beds instead. We shared an exta long balcony with our siblings- which was great for the kids to meet up on.

I can't describe all the beautiful nooks and crannys of this place but there is attention to detail on every corner!

Greg the mnager/architect was very welcoming- and really helped us with our babies food- storing it in teh fidges heating it at all hours! He makes this place even better because his relaxed laid back and welcomign attitude make you really just feel so at home!

My daughter turned 1 while we were there and Greg let us practically take over the bar area and set up for a mini party, allowing us to play our own music etc he even gave us a round of free drinks to celebrate!

Just a short walk along the beach you reach Canoa town where there are more bars, resturants and shops!

I would recommend this palce for couples who want a romatic get away, families and people travelling in groups- the price was very resonable for the quality!!

Thank you for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choochoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canoa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
11.7 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
107 reviews
12.0 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 14 in Canoa
159 reviews
19.9 mi away
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Clemente
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoa Beach Hotel

Property: Canoa Beach Hotel
Address: Km16 via Jama, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accommodations on the shores of Canoa, Ecuador. Your place to stay in Canoa. Enjoy the poolside bar, lounge on the beach, surf the waves of the Pacific Ocean, or paragliding above the area. Enjoy air conditioning with an oceanfront view. Full restaurant and bar at the pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing