We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, friendly”
Review of Macondo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macondo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Canoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a few days in January. Felix was very helpful. He let us in at 6 am when our bus arrived from Quito and showed us to our comfortable, spacious room with balcony and view of the park. Very happy we could get some more rest. Our shower was fine and had hot water. Wifi only worked in the hallway. 4 storey hotel style place with a rooftop patio with view of the town and ocean. Laundry charge was expensive at $7 but done the same day. Located on a square, 7 minute walk up "main st" from the beach. recommended.

Room Tip: we had room 308, matrimonial bed, balcony, view of park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in canoa, rooms are clean nice and big, ours came with shower hot water and T.V. Felix is a top guy, really helpful. I would rate this as one of the best places I have stayed in Ecuador. Great value for money. And make sure you try the food, it's really good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Steveomicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This lodge was just 2 blocks from where the bus from Pedernales dropped us in town. Directly across from the park on the road into town. The best part of this place is the owner/manager Felix. He could not do more to make us comfortable, and gave us much first hand information about buses and our future destinations. He hunted all the vacant rooms for the 2 best working fans, since our room was small and very hot,no air able to circulate througH the one window which opened onto the exterior hallway. No hot water, and the bed and pillows were kind of hard. Only place to put our bags was on the bunk beds. Since we were right off the second floor landing area where the router is, we were able to get wifi in our room. Lighting is poor in the rooms, and only cold water. The 13? Inch tv had 2 or 3 English channels. There is a nice observation deck on the roof with chairs and hammocks. Breakfast is not included, but for $3 Felix makes a super breakfast in his attached restaurant. We had delicious banana pancakes, which were garnished with more banana, and sprinkled with some powdered sugar and cinnamon, nice! Very good passion fruit juice and coffee came as well. He also does eggs and bacon.He even gave me a free coffee and juice, as I was only picking off my wife's plate. The room was very dark and quiet at night, but again,hot. Buses leave from the park across the street , at least for buses heading south. We felt real bad about moving after just one night, because Felix was just so darn nice, but we found a beautiful oasis just 200 meters up the main road, with pool and great grounds for the same price. I don't know if I should mention the name on this review, but I will on my next one when we leave here. All in all, I was glad to just have met Felix, cheers to you man!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with private balconies and hammocks at the front of the building, not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We planned on staying two days in canoa but because of this hotel and its owner Felix we stayed over two weeks.
The hotel is central but far enough away to avoid the loude nightly music. Its clean and comfortable with concrete structure which keeps the bugs away!
We agree with previous comments that our only mistake was not trying Felix 's fantastic food sooner. My boyfriend is Italian and he is still raving about the shrimp spaghetti Felix cooked us.
The modest Felix is the perfect hosts with excellent English he could not do more for us. We will definitely recommend to friends100%
My boyfriend and I have been travelling for three months and this is the first time we have felt the need to recommend a place and its owner on trip advisor. If you go to canoa and don't stay here you will be missing out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemariebawden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We decided to stay here after all the positive reviews here and elsewhere on the web, and wow, were we glad we did so. The hotel itself is nice, located back from the beach (2 minutes walk, Canoa is not big!) so it's relatively quiet (by Ecuadorian standards!), the rooms are spacious and have hammocks on the balcony, hot water, and there is also free wifi. There's also a lovely rooftop terrace with great views across the town.

But the real reason to stay here is the owner, Felix. He is the nicest person in the world, and really made our stay special. He is an excellent chef, and every day asked us what we wanted for dinner. We ended up eating here every day for breakfast and dinner because his food was so good. His Pancakes were seriously unbelievable, and in the evening, you have to ask him to put together a swordfish or Mahi Mahi steak and mango salsa. One night we even had lobster and steak!

I cannot recommend this place enough. Felix was one of the best hosts we've ever met from our travels around the world.

Room Tip: Take one of the front rooms, there are four with hot water and balconies. The rooms on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Felix made our stay so welcome from the moment we arrived (at 5am) to the moment we left.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and we were given a lovely room with a balcony complete with hammock. Every morning we were greeted with a big smile and Felix did everything he could to ensure our stay was perfect. Without us asking, he realised the shower was running luke warm (not a problem with the heat in Canoa) and fixed it for us.

The rooms were cleaned daily and the entire hotel is spotless.On our last day, we decided to have pancakes for breakfast. The only mistake we made here was not trying more of Felixes delicious food sooner! He offers seafood, pastas, breakfasts and more.

The best bit about the hostel that we found was the roof terrace with two huge hammocks on. Theres a very much welcomed cool breeze and panoramic views of Canoa. Its particularly lovely at sundown.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in Canoa, we will definately be recommending Macondo to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I can´t say enough good things about this place. It´s spotless clean, bug free and so quiet. Felix the owner is a genuinely nice guy who will bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. He is a chef so all the food is gourmet. Ask for pancakes for breakfast, best in the world.

Thank you Felix, hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canoa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 16 in Canoa
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
0.5 mi away
Canoa Suites
Canoa Suites
#10 of 16 in Canoa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canoa
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 16 in Canoa
58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#3 of 18 in Canoa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macondo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macondo Lodge

Address: Antonio Aveiga | Frente Parque Central, Canoa 131451, Ecuador (Formerly Macondo Hotel)
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canoa
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macondo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macondo Hotel is located in the heart of Canoa-Ecuador, across from the main Park, just 3 minutes walk to the busy beach.We offer comfortable rooms with hot water, private bathrooms and a terrace with one of the best views in town.We also have a restaurant service mostly for breakfast which includes fresh fish just caught from the sea.We speak English and can provide good information for travelers about the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing