We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Spot - Top Staff - We'll be back for sure...”
Review of Coconut Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Canoa B&B and Inns
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top Spot - Top Staff - We'll be back for sure...”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My fiance and I were stoked to come across this little gem outside of the hustle and bustle of Canoa. We stayed there for one night and was the best night we had in a long time.

Pete was an amazing host (and a SUPER cook - our meals were delicious).

The hotel itself was huge and right on the beach. No matter where you are - you can hear the beautiful beach which is practically at the doorstep of you room and you can see the ocean over the palm trees from every room in the place. Something you can't get everyday that's for sure.

There is an amazing rooftop bar and the service is second to none. We have stayed in some lovely places around the world - but when we are back this way we will be dropping back to the Coconut as it is in our top 5 (even if its just for a coffee and the most amazing breakfast burrito I have ever eaten).

Thanks Pete for a fantastic night of drinks with your pals and a beautiful dinner.

Room Tip: Don't miss this one - there is a little work being done on the roads surrounding the hotel at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ButtoandMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

After a long drive from Quito over some roads that don't deserve that title, it was great to see Pete's face through the gate. Even though he didn't get our email and wasn't expecting us, he said "right on" and "come on in". The cervezas and Sambucca came out and even though it was after 8 PM, Pete offered us some leftover seafood chowder. It was fantastic. This isn't the Ritz, but there's a lot more to a great stay and good memories than fancy linens. Our short stay at the Coconut gave us more memories and stories than most of the other places we stayed, combined.
--we love you Pete.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnailBoyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The location is excellent, being a nice walk down the beach from Canoa. We wanted to enjoy the beach without the crowds and music of town and Coconut was perfect. We stayed in town 2 nights then moved to Coconut and extended our stay in Canoa an extra week. Really good food and a laid back environment created by Peter.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Awolcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

In October 2011, my girlfriend and I travelled around Ecuador. When we made it to the coast our goal was to find a relaxed place to stay for two weeks. Luckily for us we stumbled upon the Coconut Hotel while walking down the beach, and stumble is definitely the correct word, because it is about one hundred feet from the ocean. That said, our experience there was perfect. Very good price for clean rooms with nice beds, and having a small bar with unique, savory on-call food made for a great place to hang-out when not in Canoa. Also, the staff is phenomenal in terms of amiability, professionalism and service. So, thank you Josh and Camille for an exceptional time on the beach by running a great, laid back place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Josh and Camille are awesome hosts. Professional and fun, they create a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steffcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Hotel Coconut is definitely worth your stay. It is in a beautiful location on a gorgeous beach, a little outside the town of Canoa. The best part about the hotel is the staff. They are always ready to help or give you a cold beer. And it's always cold. The couple that is currently working there, Josh and Camille, are super-friendly, fun to hang out with, and very efficient workers. If I come back to Canoa I will definitely stay at Hotel Coconut again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

A sweet little hotel with a quiet beach where you sit and relax away from everything, or you can wander down the beach and explore Canoa. The hotel is very clean and nice, it only has cold water but it isn´t really all that cold. The food was brilliant and the atmosphere there was very chilled. Thomas and Anke are great and incredibly friendly hosts and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The place to be in Canoa!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 14 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 14 in Canoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 14 in Canoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Hotel

Property: Coconut Hotel
Address: 1142 San Vincente Highway, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Canoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel, good surf. All the fun of Canoa but positioned 1 km out of town for some tranquility and a good night's sleep. Great restaurant and bar with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. you know the rest... We look forward to servicing all of your needs in paradise... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing