We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get enough!”

AMALUR HOSTAL RESTAURANTE
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Canoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The best spanish, mediterranean and vegetarian food, little money for good quality and mediterranean food. You can choose between seafood, fish, meat or vegetarian meals, even you can enjoy with the traditional tapas or the sandwiches with homemade bread!!You will feel like at home. La mejor comida española a precios económicos. Puedes elegir platos de marisco, pescado, carne, vegetarianos o si quieres disfrutar de las famosas tapas españolas con un vinito o disfrutar de un bocadillo con pan casero.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

In our search for Calamar we heard about a restaurant that wasn't on the main beach front, Amalur. It was clean, welcoming and truly an instant favorite. The menu had a great selection of main meals, sandwiches made on homemade bread, specials and amazing desserts. Because of the holiday they were out of calamar but it didn't matter - everything we had was terrific. The flan with coconut on the bottom had me back for lunch and dinner again the next day! Staff were wonderful and could help with my limited Spanish vocab. Wish them all the best - you don't want to miss out on this gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmEdHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real spaniards cooking pretty well in remote location”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My Spanish partner was impressed. Young spaniards have rented out this restaurant for a year, and the food quality has stayed the same, which is to say, good Spanish/Mediterranean fare. The place has a new age feel to it, in its airy, high ceiling dining room.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabiGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Canoa”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I read about this place before I went and it was as good as I read. They don't open til 5pm, so I waited around sipping a beer til the chef arrived. I ordered a huge salad and spaghetti with shrimp, if I had to do it again, I would skip the spaghetti and shrimp for something else, but it was good non the less, the salad was excellent, they had great coffee too! (hard to find good coffee in Ecuador believe it or not)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank capinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but not brilliant room”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had booked this place for 7 or 8 nights but left after night 2. Shower a pain, a trickle more than a shower, hot water not controllable, so too hot. Room too small. On the + side, nice and friendly staff and good food (we had breakfast, dinner and afternoon snacks and drinks there - lovely chocolate tart) . Also close to beach (3min walk).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KikineGB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent and authentic Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Food was delicious, adequate, and fresh. A nice change from the Ecuadorian and gringo options crowding Canoa. Prompt and very friendly service. Good value for the price.

Highly recommend the Spanish tortilla.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kissthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AMALUR HOSTAL RESTAURANTE also viewed

 
Canoa, Manabi Province
Canoa, Manabi Province
 

Been to AMALUR HOSTAL RESTAURANTE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing