We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny times at a sweet spot.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Coco Loco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Coco Loco
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Canoa
quito
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funny times at a sweet spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hostal is a great spot to relax and enjoy Canoa. The beachfront location is great but the owner, and her staff make it special. As a long term resident, Elizabeth has strong ties with the community and is happy to share her expertise over a few drinks both at the hostal and around town.. Definitely a must if your looking for information about activities and travels onward from the beach..

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a great view and are a bit away from the hip restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringoinquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    30
    17
    15
    17
See reviews for
3
39
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend saw Canoa only as a stop for one night, so we did not really check on anything before and happened to come across Coco Loco. We stayed 4 nights. Says everything!?!

We stayed in "Brazil", which has a double bet and private bathroom, (basic, clean) I don't recall how much we paid in the end, but i was around 20 dollars and worth every cent!

Coco Loco is hotel and meeting point for backpackers, no matter if they actually stay there, every evening is some kind of program and you get in contact with people really easy!!! I also want to mention the pool table which was supposed to get a new cloth the week after we left... to bad, but it was fun anyway!!! And not to forget: Elisabeth, she is a nice host, great to drink a beer with in the evening!

Well, if you are out for fun stay in Coco Loco! Regards Richard

PS: "Le Gourmet" has buffet every day in the morning, but the real place to eat is the restaurant below – “(green?) Lion”! It belongs to the Mauricio, the ex-chef from Coco Loco and he makes GREAT mexican food (and other stuff if you ask him to) – everything fresh!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night. It was just too expensive for what you are getting. Stayed in a double room with private bath, $25. The room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were told to wait ten minutes. That was ok since we hadn't booked it. After ten minutes we got the room. No towels or toilet paper and sand in the shower. When we asked for towels we were told to wait ten more minutes. A while later we asked for the towels and were given one. Apparently they didn't have any more.
We asked if there would be wifi in the room and were told yes. But no. At first there was no wifi at all. We were told to log onto a neighboring hostels internet. Later a bad wifi connection appeared. Why say there's wifi in the room when there is clearly not.
The stairs to the first floor were really dangerous. One of the steps was broken and only attached on one side. Don't step on it with big bagpacks! It should be fixed so no one has an accident. It clearly had been like this for a while. Lots of little annoying things. The place should be cleaned up and a handyman should be hired to fix things.
Location was great but it's not the safest place as lots of people (non-guests) hang around the bar at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you, I try to take theses reviews seriously and have since hired a full time handyman. The hostal is completely updated and better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canoa hotels

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is regarded as the best hostel for backpackers in Canoa and its obvious why. Great location right by the beach, extremely friendly staff and in general a beautiful beach style building. Plus at $6 its very cheap.
The hot showers were amongst the best I've used in recent travels.
Only thing to improve is the cleanliness of the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in a dorm for $6 a night, which was great. Although there are only 2 showers and 2 toilets for the hostel and of the better part these toilets were blocked. We wanted a kitchen to save some money eating out, but unfortunately it was ill-equipped and dirty. The hostel was good to meet people as it had things on each night although the value for money for their in- house meals aren't worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We try to maintain the communal kitchen as a place that people can enjoy cooking together, unfortunately sometimes we get guests that do not clean up after themselves and leave dishes on the outside tables, store their leftovers in pots and pans in the fridge, ect... We clean the kitchen every morning and it is up to our guests to maintain it during the day. Im sorry you didn't like my cooking, its lucky that there are several fine restaurants to choose from in Canoa so everyone can find something that suits their taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a really nice stay in that uncomplicate Hostel. The Burgers a great you will enjoy your stay there - for sure!
And the Surfteacher is very good. He has a good knowledge and makes good lessons.
The hostel all in all is very familary so you will get really soon a good contact to the landlords there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Frank13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hostal Coco Loco in Canoa. We arrived late in Canoa on our first night and stayed at Hostal Bambu which was also great. We wanted a private room so the next day we searched along the beach and found Coco Loco. The owner Elizabeth gave us a great deal on an upstairs room with a great view of the beach! We had our own bathroom with great hot water for only $20! We did have one very small problem with the room and when brought to Elizabeth´s attention, she was very accomodating! She changed our room and even gave us a discount. She was also extremely helpful with getting us information to take the bus from Canoa to Banos. She told us which way would be the easiest and even looked up specific times and everything for us! The atmosphere here is great and it is not too loud at night either! We recomend anyone staying in Canoa to stay here! Thanks again Elizabeth!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canoa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
12.7 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 14 in Canoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 14 in Canoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Coco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Coco Loco

Property: Hostal Coco Loco
Address: Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Canoa
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chill out vibe with palm trees and hammocks. A restaurant serving BBQ and tacos, a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing